We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant food”
Review of The Albert Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albert Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant food”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The albert was recommended by the owner of the guest house we were staying and it was defiantly a brilliant recommendation as the food was lovely, the 2 night we stayed in Windermere we ate here both night. the first night we ordered a starter and main course, but due to the generous portions we received this was far to much so the second night we just had the main courses which were delicious. Even the kids couldn’t shared a meal on the second night. Staff were nice and friendly. Would defiantly eat here again if we visit Windermere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    46
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This pub has got the Best pub grub in the Lakes, and the service is 5 star, i called in to this hotel for some food and i was surprised by the food and how friendly the staff was will be coming back for more if the food is as good as the rooms ,it will be good

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

stayed here for 3 nights over xmas, had a great time. The room was clean with plenty of space and lovely and warm. We had the christmas meal here, 5 courses and cooked to perfection. Would have to say it made our christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterfieldRenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We always eat at the Albert in Bowness when we are there for the weekend, I really like the surroundings and atmosphere and it’s lovely if you can get a seat by the fire. We usually go in on a Friday evening for a nice relaxed meal following our journey. There is a special menu available on weekday evenings which is served from 6 p.m. and is a notch above your usual pub grub and we usually eat from that. However, we do sometimes order from their main menu and that is also very good. The service is always efficient and the waiters friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. I can also recommend the Sunday lunch but you should get there early as it is really busy. All in all it’s great food at very reasonable prices, good service and nice, friendly staff. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We went to this pub every day of our visit to the area and were impressed with the service and food. The waiting/bar staff were friendly and welcoming, and the atmosphere was good. We had shared a sandwich with onion rings one day for lunch. The onion rings were the best I've ever tasted and the chips were excellent too! When we went back, I tried the mussels (a starter portion). Lots of tasty mussels for the money. The only thing I would say is I would prefer the sauce a little less creamy as the taste of the cream was a bit overpowering and made the dish a bit sickly. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhrainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We often visit this pub on our short breaks to Bowness-on-Windermere. Sunday lunch was lovely and the chef did a special gluten free chicken lunch for me. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and we almost always return to this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we received an email to ask us what time we were arriving and giving links to websites for things to do. Felt immediately at home and helpful advice on where to go, places to eat etc. Bedroom lovely warm and cosy, despite it being freezing outside! Excellent breakfast including vegetarian.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank JHughesLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#26 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#22 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albert Hotel

Property: The Albert Hotel
Address: Queens Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Also Known As:
The Albert Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing