We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality pub food for a good price and decent ales on tap”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albert Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albert Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High quality pub food for a good price and decent ales on tap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were impressed with the food here after ordering a "two courses for £14.95" deal on the specials menu. Lovely, lovely food! My starter was potted rabbit with toasted bread and salad, beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Mains was rack of lamb with the creamiest mash in the world (heaven!), cauliflower puree, red wine jus and some excellent al dente beans. Staff were pleasantly friendly and helpful.

To be honest, I would have been happy paying the overall deal price for the main course alone so were delighted with this place. So much so we returned for a second night. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonerLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    45
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
80
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here in April 2013, and decided to book this accommodation due to its central location. We stayed Friday to Sunday, and although it was a weekend and the pub was busy, the staff were really friendly and helpful . We had a room facing the front of the pub with a good view, even saw a peak of the lake in the distance. The room was a little tired and in need of a spruce up (hence 4 stars instead of 5). But everything was clean and well presented, the bed was huge and very comfortable. We weren't bothered by any noise at all, this could be due to the location of the room. The breakfast was excellent and staff very attentive. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Had to book for a minimum of 3 nights, paid cash upfront, and not a relaxing time at all, windows don't shut properly and you can hear everything outside, tv on adjoining thin walls, band one one night then a dj the next with it being so loud that the radiators were vibrating til after 12 far too loud for a b&b, friendly staff and food at around £10-£15 a main course, rooms cleaned every day, but our room has extreme subsidence and is on a slope, with major cracks in the bathroom, we paid £240 for 3 nights, not worth anywhere near that.....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ptethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was our first time staying here however we had visited before to sample the food and beers (which are great) the location of the hotel is great being right in the centre of town with everything in walkiby distance. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are very friendly. However the room are in.serious need of modernisation there was paper peeling off the walls, the carpet didn't quite go up to the edges in the room and the matress was well overdue replacement as you could feel the springs through it. I really do like every aspect of this place I just wish someone would spend some money on the rooms so it could go from being ok to great

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacake_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Very welcoming for our little dog whilst dining, water , biscuits absolutely fantastic food and all round , we ordered food and drinks which were very prompt and certainly value for money, handy location in centre of windermere, close proximity to a cash machine, beer garden was a lovely setting in the afternoon sun, not to mention the roaring fire, all staff a credit to the business

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hewi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here during our stay in Bowness , we went upstairs as it was busy and found it to be very comfortable the staff were friendly and we had two courses from the evening special menu which we found delicious and above the normal pub grub standard, when we finished we went downstairs and enjoyed the rest of the evening in the comfy chairs.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Popped in for a quick sandwich & drink which is always good value and the chips are out of this world, then spotted someone having the smorgasbord. This is and amazing plate of either just cheeses with the usual salad, pickles, crackers etc or you can have the same but with beef, turkey & ham. We came back the next day & ordered the Albert (the one with the meat). This was amazing value and was a great afternoon or luchtime sharing platter. The only downside was that it could have either had a bit more bread or some crackers for the cheese. We will definitely be having this when we go back. A big well done

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#23 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albert Hotel

Property: The Albert Hotel
Address: Queens Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Also Known As:
The Albert Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing