We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of The Albert Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Albert Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were recommended this pub and I can see why. The food is just ordinary food but the quality is fantastic with huge portions.

We visited on New Years Eve, and we did not need to book, and there was none of those "New Years Eve entry fee" stuff.

Food came quickly, freshly cooked and obviously cooked not just heated up in a turbo oven (makes a change from so could gastro pubs)
If you are in Bowness and not visited this pub before. The staff are really friendly, and even when "run off their feet" on New Years Eve they are always smiling and joking

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rabblesthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

never being in the albert before , but this year whilst in bowness-on-windermere for new year , we popped in .... our party of four plus a four legged friend were greeted by friendly staff , having informed us that monty was welcome in their pub ..... found the pub , warm , friendly , and cosy ... decided to eat lunch there , was not disappointed .... baguettes a must for the hungry walker ....... definitely go again .......

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldinewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me & my husband has a lovely meal in the Albert, what lovely food it was & our waiter MICHAEL, was really helpful & polite (thank you Michael), i would definitely go again, it was lovely & friendly too. See you in the summer.

Teresa & Paul, Liverpool

Room Tip: Its definitely worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

2nd year running for us having Christmas dinner here and this year was even better if that is possible!
Seriously folks there are many Pubs and Restaurants in our village - all lovely - but this place really does take some beating!
15 of us booked in and we had a hard time walking home we were so stuffed:)
The Pub was decorated as always beautifully, music not too loud, attentive staff everywhere - smiling to the end, perfectly cooked food, piping hot, serving times bang-on and the ambiance fantastic.
Such a great bunch of people, runs like clockwork every time, very very pleased...thanks guys, you were great:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiamalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Last week we had our yearly School Meal at The Albert Hotel, We were not impressed. On my table alone the gap between the first main course and the last main course was around 20 minutes, I did not think that created the best impression, I have been told by my friends that the previous years were much better so something must have changed, I ordered a rare steak and got a well done steak which was cold. The staff were not friendly at all and made the experience uncomfortable. On the other hand the chips were good. I do not rate this establishment and hope that next year the school goes elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I have been there having lunch. The place is very nice, good ambience, the dishes looked very appealing. I think i made a mistake ordering the burger. The bread and the chips were excellent but the meat was poor, so salty, probably from frozen and not made on that place

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank reixstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My daughter and I had Sunday lunch at this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent with a choice of roast meats. Generous portions and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Stags Head
Stags Head
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albert Hotel

Address: Queens Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Also Known As:
The Albert Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing