We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg made B&B's they'd probably be Ferry View Cottage!”

Ferry View Cottage B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferry View Cottage B&B
Richmond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg made B&B's they'd probably be Ferry View Cottage!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed here for one night only, but couldn't fault anything about Ferry View Cottage. From the confirmation email when we booked to the farewell of 'Santa Maria' on the banjo. The room was clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Harry and his wife couldn't do enough to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Just a shame it was for the one night only. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My Partner and i stayed here on Saturday 5th May 2012, and what a little gem it turned out to be!!
Harry & Marie could not do enough for us, giving us directions and telling us the best place to eat that we could take the dog in (The Ship)
Warm and friendly, bright clean room with on shower..
and talk about a full English Breakfast!!! Bill was Full as a gun.
We liked it so much we stayed an extra night!!
Will make it our number 1 place to stay on our next vist..
Thanks again for a fab weekend.
Corinne & Bill

Room Tip: Front Room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

what a lovely ,friendly place, rooms clean and warm, breakfast excellent. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

All the years I've known Harry and Marie (and it's been many!) they have always been warm and friendly. Visiting them again with my husband recently we were made to feel very at home. The breakfast - mentioned by another reviewer - was 'second-to-none'. The bedroom was cosy - but had a lovely view towards the snow-covered fells. An excellent location for discovering very many National Trust sites and cruising on the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I and our dog Ruby enjoyed a 3 night stay with Harry and Marie in their cottage.
We always enjoy our trips to the Lakes, but the hospitality given by Harry and Marie made this the best stay anywhere in the Lakes. The accommodation, fabulous breakfasts, and their friendliness could not be faulted and we felt we had stayed with long lost relatives. Nothing was too much trouble and there will only be one place we will go to on our return to the Lakes.
Thank you both.
Robert and Colette Ralston and Ruby.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms but we overlooked the front and the lake in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertRRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this B and B with Harry and Marie for 3 nights in November. We were greeted by the warmth of this couple and promptly shown to a spotless room with an on suite shower room on the 1st floor. It is not the biggest room in the world but had all you need for a clean homely base in the lakes.

A wonderful cottage with a roaring open fire !

The entire stay was divine, we walked down into Windermere in the evenings, about a 15 minute walk, there are loads of lovely places to eat and drink, including the hole in the wall pub with an amazing ceiling, looks Jacobean !!!

Stunning scenery with the perfect hosts, I have to mention the breakfast, the best sausages I have ever had and the biggest breakfast served by them both and cooked fresh to order. They are both relaxed, inviting and flexible and met our needs with grace and warmth, all for 55 pounds a night.

Cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sheffield66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooklands Guest House
Brooklands Guest House
#43 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fair Rigg Guest House
Fair Rigg Guest House
#11 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry View Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry View Cottage B&B

Property: Ferry View Cottage B&B
Address: 1 Ferry View, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ferry View Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing