We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS OLD FOLKS CARE HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS OLD FOLKS CARE HOME”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Our first impressions of the "oldest hotel in the Lakes " was hope its better inside than out .As we got out of our car one of the resident inmates was wanderind about dressed in "trackies,slippers ,vest clutching a black bin bag " he said to my partner "eee log fire" then pointed and dissapeared into the lift .We loved how gaffer tape was used to keep the carpet in the lobby together.We were handed the keys to room 19. The lift arrived we got in it was filthy and smelt of body oudour .We made our way down the corridor it was grubby and smelly.Our so called room was situated underneath what can only be described as a turret type bell tower it was tiny .there was a Hideous plastic chanderlier and wall lights that were hanging on for dear life .A nice patch of mould was growing in the corner of the room .Our double bed was midget size with a 1960 bedspread .We opend the bathroom door to be greeted by the racid smell of dried urine.My partner complained we were handed the keys to another rancid cell .Our stay lasted all of 10 minutes .PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF THE REVIEWS I WISH I HAD

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    279
    202
    126
    140
See reviews for
125
492
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at the Hydro for a Murder Mystery weekend which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is rather dated and in need of upgrading in certain areas [ maybe even a lick of paint and a little tlc here and there] but it was spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful,nothing seemed to be too much trouble; I wanted porridge for breakfast, not a problem, this was done within five minutes. I asked if it was possible to get decaff coffee, this was also made very quickly. The radio on the TV in our room did'nt work and I asked if it was possible to get a radio,within 10 minutes one was brought to our room.
Hotel is at the top of quite a steep hill,but right in the centre of Bowness and has wonderful views over Lake Windermere.
Lovely spacious dining room, excellent waiters/waitresses and a good and varied menu.,self service desserts with a lot of choice.
Very enjoyable weekend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19BMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed on the three nights for £100 a night bed breakfast and dinner and £12 for an extra night. We had to move from room 8 as the shower was scolding hot. The room had been newly decorated and was nice. We then moved to room 15 which has a great view of the lake (it rained so we only saw it on the last day) only downside is that you are over the bar so it can be noisy and people seemed to be arriving or departing at 4am. Both our rooms were very clean. The staff were very friendly and dinner was fine for the money but veg was always cold and the beef was either under or over cooked but again there were five courses and the soup and starters were good and the main courses generally fine. Breakfast was standard but fine, what you would expect from three star. We would stay again because its good value and so close to everything else. Swimming pool was also warm and clean and a real bonus when its raining a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkwhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was our third Twixmas break at the Hydro and we all, from two to seventy-two, had a wonderful time. Our bedrooms were good, the food was fantastic, the staff couldn't have been friendlier, the service was great, and the swimming pool and sauna were wonderful - a great way to fill in the early evenings before dinner. Yes, the hotel is Victorian and quirky but that's its attraction. It is so family friendly that it is a terrific place to go for all ages. Bowness and Windermere Lake are just down the hill so it couldn't be more convenient and we, as a family, would thoroughly recommend it for a great stay.
Thank you Ken, Rose and all your attentive staff. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at the hydryo thankfully for a night in november so why thankfully?, well the room was in in the 90w which sems to be stuck at the side of the hotel and the approach to the room along a very scruffy, cold corridor and up some stairs which then led us into our room.The room was old fashioned with the smallest tv you could imagine which would be more at home in a static caravan than a hotel room havent the hydro owners heard of 32 inch screens?,the windows were not double glazed so this meant if you wanted to watch the tv you had to sit under a duvet the room was that cold and the bathroom you would not want to stay in as it was freezing. the ceiling was cracked with what looked like footprints in the plaster,The only good thing i can say about the hydro is the breakfast which is good and also the staff, i will def Not stay here again unless i want to go back in time maybe 30 years to a very old hotel which needs urgent updating..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebloggs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Don't believe all the negative comments. This hotel was really good. Friendly staff, excellent location and great food. Met a couple in the bar who stay there twice a year, every year. That sums it up.

Would definitely return when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alhambraman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Traditional victorian looking hotel, very large passageways and dining, reception rooms, family run, with the owner and family running the day to day tasks. Very friendly staff, and helpful, and couldn`t do enough. we were on a 2 day DBB rate, and the dinner in the evening was superb on both nights, the breakfast was self service in the main, and up to a good standard. The rooms we had were at the rear of the hotel, with no view, however, very clean,but a bit old fashioned, decor wise. The swimming pool and spa were outwith the hotel, and as it was very cold outside, we did not venture. The owner was extreamly friendly, and promised that if we were to return, he would give us a room at the front of the hotel.Top man!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing