We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faded glory of the hydro hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“faded glory of the hydro hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2007

i looked up the hydro hotel on the intenet,its near to the centre of bowness,and looked clean ,with a restaurant and bar.
booking in was quick although communication was difficult because most of the staff were east european and did not speak english.after a look around bowness village we went back to the hotel for the evening meal to be told only people on a party booking can eat at the hotel that evening which was very inconveient .we then phoned a taxi and had to wait in the foyer for 30 mins for the taxi due to heavy rain.
The room was very clean but the radiators are on timers so was cold at times.
The breakfast was a good standard with lots of choice in a pleasent dinning area,but again not many english speaking staff.
overall the hotel is ok but please leave the heating on during the winter,and not having the retaurant open for hotel guests was very poor with a downpour of rain and having my 79 year old father with us.

  • Liked — brakfast/Room cleanliness
  • Disliked — none english speaking staff/no resturant for hotel guests/
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tomoleedsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    285
    208
    133
    148
See reviews for
129
512
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

On the outside, this hotel looks good - superb location and a grand outside appearance. We have often admired it from a distance on previous visits to Bowness.

My Husband and I had suffered with the flooding in Glos and had been without water for a week. We were desparate for a nice romantic night away where we could have a shower and some comfort.
Alas this was not to be found with this hotel! Perhaps the issue was we got one of the last rooms available, the ones they keep for only the desparate....

Our room was at the end of the hotel - the further you walk from reception, the shabbier it all becomes. Peeling wallpaper, threadbare carpet, in the hall on the way to the room.
The room itself was a good size and light, but I can honestly say it was one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in:
- 2 small, hard little beds.
- One sheet and one 'blanket' to keep you warm. We were freezing at night. The blanket was scratchy and of the type you get when you are a child on a trip with school.
- The furniture was extremely poor quality - mdf, tatty, cheap
- Mould on the ceiling
- The curtains were dusty, musty and faded. When we closed one at night several moths flew out, and circled around the (cracked) lightshade. I am not kidding.

The bathroom was ok - newly tiled, and the shower was good (but then, we hadn't had one for a week). The 'free' shampoo was limited and poor quality - 2 small sachets to do 2 adults for a night and a morning.

For this we paid £115 for the room. Even £50 would have felt like a rip off with this hotel.

It's such a shame, as we hear it is family owned - and it;s nice to support small businesses vs chains. I just hope this was not a reflection of their other rooms and we were just unlucky.

  • Liked — they did have a small gym and pool looked ok
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora_Jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at The Hydro Hotel. Initially we were unimpressed as our rooms weren't ready even though we were there at checking in time plus we weren't given full details about using the leisure facilities. For example we went to use the swimming pool and jacuzzi and we weren't told we needed a code to get into the building theywere in, so one of us had to go back to reception to get the code, after that we weren't told we needed a £1 for the lockers.

The pool and jacuzzi were gorgeous. We were very impressed with them.

The bedrooms were pleasant - though the lighting could have been brighter.

The breakfasts were lovely and filling and an excellent amount of items to choose from. Also good service from foreign waiters/waiteress who are clearly trying to do their best with a limited amount of english.

We didn't have evening meal as it was £24.95 for a 5 course meal - and we didn't want 5 courses!!

All in all we had a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Liked — The Swimmingpool and jacuzzi
  • Disliked — The evening meals - had it been cheaper and less courses we would have eaten there on an evening
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfluffyclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

I got marred in the windermere hydro in september, and I honestly couldn't recommend it highly enough.

The location is superb, the views over lake windermere are breathtaking to say the least. It's well worth paying a bit more for a 'room with a view'

I found the standard of service to be beyond reproach, the staff always friendly, polite and helpful - it seems a little detail but it really made our stay complete. The manager & staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible

Over the course of the weekend we had not one bad meal, and in terms of value for money, food and drink was excellent. Our room was amazing ( 4 poster bed, seperate sitting room, and a little sun room - it was the honeymmon suite though).

We had a superb time at the Hydro, and have very fond memories of the place - we will most definetly be back!

Gordon and Sarah Turner

  • Liked — views and service
  • Disliked — the size of the hill
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thebiggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

fantastic weekend, perfect hotel in excellent location in bowness, stunning views, canot falter anything at all. we stayed for 2 nights in the murder mystery weekend package and had so much fun. all the guests and staff were friendly and polite and always willing to help. the food was extremely nice and plenty of wondeful choices. we payed a tiny bit extra to stay in a lake view room, which was very spacious, clean and well presented, with a lovely corner bath and shower with plenty of hot water. .Will definitely be returning to this hotel, hopefully for another murder mystery or another event that the hotell will hold in the future. thanks to everyone for making it a weekend to remember. debbie and andrew

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — that the murder weekend didnt last longer!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank debs274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2007

Avoid this hotel unless you have a penchant for hideous decor. coffin-like rooms and plastic flowers. It has delusions of grandeur that are almost laughable. The price of the rooms (£110 for a twin, £165 for a triple) is totally outrageous. Both rooms in our party were dark , tiny and full of unpleasant and out-dated furnishings. The beds were hard and, to complete our experience, we had to put up with the noise of a disco thumping until late.
If you are staying in Bowness, check out the DeneHouse guest house. I stayed there last October and it was much nicer and a fraction of the price.

Helpful?
Thank SpinningJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

An extremely poor hotel. The website of the hotel is extremely misleading, in reality it was very poor inside. The rooms were tiny and grubby. The hot water was luke warm, and the heating barely worked. They did however bring us a heater. Small hard bed and generally a very tired and cheap feel to the whole place. It may have had grandeur once, but frankly a travelodge would provide a consdierably better room. The 5 course meal, whilst eficiently served, was the standard of an airline economy meal. The only pluses were the majority of staff were enthusiastic and friendly, bar the management who I found extremely discourteous when I complained about the standard of room. Had a 1950's mentality that I should be grateful that there was running water! Bowness is a lovely place and there are many better places to stay for the same money. We moved to a B&B at the bottom of the same road which was far better.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing