We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Co.Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our room was large and overlooked the lake lovely views,bathroom too small in need of deco and very poor lighting in the room.
Although the spa was adequate,it lacked ambience needs staffing ,drinks machine, coffee bar ,also background music.Terrible back entrance to spa up lots of steps.
The food was ecellent! also the staff .
I would love to return when this hotel has been updated needs lots of T.L.C

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    257
    190
    112
    124
See reviews for
114
451
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Hydro Hotel at Bowness at Windermere was arranged for us by our travel agent as the first place we would be staying in England. It was a wonderful place to stay and not terribly expensive. The breakfasts were impeccable, full English breakfast. the room was very quiet and it was in the center of Bowness, so we walked all over the village. We had a tour to Beatrix Potter's Hilltop Farm and a boat trip across Coniston Lake. The boat trip was just lovely. Interesting sites and history of the lake. We walked back to the van by Ruskin's home and the rhododendrum were 25 feet high- just exquisite.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeSpirit33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

On arrival after a couple of days camping with my daughter, we booked this last minute in need of some luxury. The receptionist was sympathetic and gave us a room with a big corner bath and a what must be one of the best views of the lake! We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was lovely, but like other reviewers said the hotel decor is tired and the dining room lacks atmosphere but the excellent service and good food made up for this. Breakfast was tasty too. And we enjoyed a swim and sauna in the nice little pool. Bowness and the Lake District are fantastic and the Hydro does have a certain old world charm and I wouldn't really want to stay anywhere else now. p.s also have to say special thanks to the receptionist who looked after my little girls teddy which we left! potential disaster!!! However, the couldn't have been more lovely when I phoned and we received it this morning along with a wonderful letter telling us about all the adventures that teddy had had while he'd stayed on in Bowness for a couple of days! A wonderful touch, and very, very much appreicated by us.

Room Tip: ask for room with Lake View, that's all we did and we got a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed for one night at a cost of £90 B & B. Arrived on a hot sunny day, the room was stuffy and only one window opened. The curtains did not fit the windows and so woke at sunrise due to light flooding the room.
Bed was tiny and old, very creaking and the head board was not fitted properly. TV was tiny and room in general was old fashioned. The windows were crumpling and the view out onto a flat roof with used t bags on.
The hotel is in a great location, near the lake up a steep hill. Good view from the room of the lake.
Breakfast was ok, but the dining room was old fashioned and the atmosphere dull.
Hotel could be lovely with a revamp, would not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyjoshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A of things said by other people are correct however I feel the good outweighs the bad . . . Yes it is a little dated in places but then other parts have old world charm . The staff and food are both very good . They do have a lot of coach parties and there can be late arrivals and early departures hence luggage being dragged around , leading to noise . It was chaotic on our last morning as two coaches were leaving at once so breakfast was very busy . The hotel is NOT suitable for disabled guests without a car as the hill to the hotel is very steep , it took two of us to push a wheelchair up the hill and it was still a stuggle . However the position is a perfect place to explore the Lakes as bus , boat and train as close by .

Room Tip: Request a balcony room for a great place to sit and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quidakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our Motoring Association had arranged a four-day walking holiday at the Hotel. We wondered whether to join, so investigated the Hotel. They were able to offer us an excellent deal that meant that we could travel independently and do our own thing for three days.
Our arrival was preceded by a stay in an exceptionally comfortable B&B nearby, so we wondered whether the Hydro would be a let down. Of course, it is different. It's a large hotel, and amalgam of several buildings of varying ages, but typical of Winderemere building styles.
Whilst there is an air of genteel decay, this proved to be superficial. Our large, comfortable room gave us a lake view. It was generally quiet, apart from the odd delivery vehicle outside. The hotel was exceptionally busy, catering for various groups and a daily turnover of coach parties doing the UK in a fortnight. This was handled by the hotel with remarkable aplomb and great efficiency, without any real intrusion on the independent travellers like us.
We had half-board. Meals were enormous. We could really only manage two of the five dinner courses, but blagged the after-dinner mints anyway! Choice was excellent, much locally-sourced, and well-presented. The hotel owners and manager were often present, talking to visitors, giving a good opportunity for feedback.
We would commend the excellent staff - reception, catering/restaurant and house-keeping. Polite and hard working - and very well organised.
There was a slight mix-up over which package we had booked, but this was quickly resolved in our favour when correspondence confirmed a booking error. We ensured that the difference went to the staff anyway.
Any downsides? One only. We do not like the modern trend of overhead showers discharging into baths and trays but without any shower curtain to contain the inevitable splashing. Not peculiar to this hotel, but it must be a real pain for housekeeping staff.
All-in-all, it was a very pleasant stay, in the heart of Bowness, close to the waterfront and shops. we were glad that we came and pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

On first outside impressions the hotel looked nice and commands an imposing location at the top of a hill with direct views over the lake. No problem in parking our vehicle and is in an ideal location for a easy walk into the main Bowness centre.

Once inside the hotel it was a different story and became clear that the hotel's glory days are well behind it and it is in need of a severe makeover to drag it out of the 1980s.

On the surface althought dated the hotel was cleanbut there was a bizzare smell especially in the corridors which we could only put down to musty, unaired carpets and / or furnishings.

Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful and the size of our room was very good with two excellent views over the lake. Plenty of hot water etc although bathroom and bedroom furnishings are straight from the 1980s again with a strange smell attached.

The leisure facilities for which we originally were attracted to the hotel were to say the least disappointing. The pool stairs had been taped off as they were broken, the sauna worked on a time facility and was cold with no working instructions attached. The jacuzzi was hot and bubbly - the best bit. The gym area was laughable in that it had an exercise bike, treadmill and a homemade rowing machine.

After a dreadful nights sleep wherein we had to telephone reception at 2:30 am to take action against the herd of elephants staying in the room above us we were woken again at 6am by the same herd.

Breakfast was lovely and plentiful - a good selection of both hot and cold and it was on a help yourself basis.

Upon checkout we brought to the attention of the duty managess of our concerns with the inconsiderate guests staying above us and she refunded half of the cost of our room with absolutely no hassle and she was profusley apologetic.

So in a nutsell - if you can see past the outdatedness and get over the smell then the staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast excellent. Please note not suitable for persons with walking difficulties due to steepness of the hill.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debpupleholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing