We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was fantastic and will return.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was fantastic and will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The room was beautiful and very clean. The breakfast was presented well and lovely. The hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful and made our weekend. The View overlooking the lake was fantastic with close proximity to the local town. we will return no problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    257
    190
    112
    124
See reviews for
114
451
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed for one night and that was too long. A tired, shabby hotel in desperate need of improvement. Its situated in a great location and the staff on the whole are friendly and efficient but so let down by their surroundings. Our room had dated worn furniture, a shabby blue bathroom with a leaking toilet. Noise seems to penetrate the walls and ceilings and this makes for an interrupted nights sleep.
Would not stay again and would recommend the same to others. Regret not reading trip advisor reviews which put this hotel in its rightful place towards the bottom of the pile.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Co.Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our room was large and overlooked the lake lovely views,bathroom too small in need of deco and very poor lighting in the room.
Although the spa was adequate,it lacked ambience needs staffing ,drinks machine, coffee bar ,also background music.Terrible back entrance to spa up lots of steps.
The food was ecellent! also the staff .
I would love to return when this hotel has been updated needs lots of T.L.C

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Hydro Hotel at Bowness at Windermere was arranged for us by our travel agent as the first place we would be staying in England. It was a wonderful place to stay and not terribly expensive. The breakfasts were impeccable, full English breakfast. the room was very quiet and it was in the center of Bowness, so we walked all over the village. We had a tour to Beatrix Potter's Hilltop Farm and a boat trip across Coniston Lake. The boat trip was just lovely. Interesting sites and history of the lake. We walked back to the van by Ruskin's home and the rhododendrum were 25 feet high- just exquisite.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeSpirit33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

On arrival after a couple of days camping with my daughter, we booked this last minute in need of some luxury. The receptionist was sympathetic and gave us a room with a big corner bath and a what must be one of the best views of the lake! We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was lovely, but like other reviewers said the hotel decor is tired and the dining room lacks atmosphere but the excellent service and good food made up for this. Breakfast was tasty too. And we enjoyed a swim and sauna in the nice little pool. Bowness and the Lake District are fantastic and the Hydro does have a certain old world charm and I wouldn't really want to stay anywhere else now. p.s also have to say special thanks to the receptionist who looked after my little girls teddy which we left! potential disaster!!! However, the couldn't have been more lovely when I phoned and we received it this morning along with a wonderful letter telling us about all the adventures that teddy had had while he'd stayed on in Bowness for a couple of days! A wonderful touch, and very, very much appreicated by us.

Room Tip: ask for room with Lake View, that's all we did and we got a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed for one night at a cost of £90 B & B. Arrived on a hot sunny day, the room was stuffy and only one window opened. The curtains did not fit the windows and so woke at sunrise due to light flooding the room.
Bed was tiny and old, very creaking and the head board was not fitted properly. TV was tiny and room in general was old fashioned. The windows were crumpling and the view out onto a flat roof with used t bags on.
The hotel is in a great location, near the lake up a steep hill. Good view from the room of the lake.
Breakfast was ok, but the dining room was old fashioned and the atmosphere dull.
Hotel could be lovely with a revamp, would not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyjoshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A of things said by other people are correct however I feel the good outweighs the bad . . . Yes it is a little dated in places but then other parts have old world charm . The staff and food are both very good . They do have a lot of coach parties and there can be late arrivals and early departures hence luggage being dragged around , leading to noise . It was chaotic on our last morning as two coaches were leaving at once so breakfast was very busy . The hotel is NOT suitable for disabled guests without a car as the hill to the hotel is very steep , it took two of us to push a wheelchair up the hill and it was still a stuggle . However the position is a perfect place to explore the Lakes as bus , boat and train as close by .

Room Tip: Request a balcony room for a great place to sit and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quidakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing