We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bowness Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
North West England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Bowness Hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is up a little hill, so if you're not good on your legs dont book it.
Good size hotel, clean and very friendly. Great car parking, which is good for the lakes. We have just spent 2 nights there - room was lovely, modern, clean and excellent bathroom.
Addition of a swimming pool is a real advantage. It will take you 1 minute to walk to the other building, so dont listen to any moaners about it. Sauna and jacuzzi too.

Resident bar and various rooms that you can sit in for privacy. We had a 5 year old with us and he was looked after.

Breakfast was buffet style, could have been a bit hotter, but otherwise absolutely no complaints with this hotel. Would recommend.

Interestingly ours was a groupon deal, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 24, overlooking Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    280
    202
    128
    141
See reviews for
125
496
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co. durham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

just spent two nights at hotel through kgb deal. excellent value for money. staff helpful, room clean and tidy but curtains a little black with damp from window. fantastic view of lake from the window. pool, sauna and jacuzzi worth a visit. only eat breakfast in hotel and that was excellent. very close to centre. a good all round hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Have recently returned from a four day break at the Hydro. We had a nice cosy room, everything very clean but a little dated. Bathroom very small but adequate. This is a very welcoming hotel and both management and staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent with a good selection and always nice and hot. We were with a large party which took over the hotel and yet the staff coped remarkably with the numbers and always the food was hot,
Unfortunately, the snow was still on the ground whilst we were there which limited us a bit getting around. Would recommend as good family run hotel.

Room Tip: For a nice quiet double room Room 14 on the second floor was fine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie in the Toon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is the eleventh year we have visited the Hydro and another year it was fab. i have been reading reviews on here about the Hydro being run down looking etc, but i don't agree, the rooms are great we have a large family room with two bathrooms and are everything we need. The food at the Hydro is plentiful to say the least and new years eve "gala" dinner is spectacular.
The breakfast is gorgeous and all the staff are really nice. They have swimming facilities as well and plpenty of parking. This old building could probably do with a lick of paint but please don't lose its character and quaintness. Bowness has lots to see and do and the walking around the area is grand. We will be back next year and i can rely on it to be just as good or even better.

Room Tip: I think they have refurbished some rooms at the front so if your the fussy/ complaining type ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboopaloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire uk
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were on a New Year Coach Trip, so this might affect the comments.

The building was interesting and certainly not a modern international clone. The food was really excellent and the staff were friendly. We had an excellent time. We were in what I think may be called the anex, on past the ballroom. This meant it took a long time for hot water to reach us, which is a waste of water, heat energy, and time. The other possible "moan" was the distance outside in the rain we had to walk to the swimming pool and small gym. It was a suprise to many that there is only one, mixed changing room, but of course you change in private cubicals.

We enjoyed a boat cruise, a walk after crossing on the car ferry to the Cuckoo Brow Inn, and eating in Bowness at the Royal Oak.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPR-amble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

the hotel was brilliant.It had lovely food the everyday meals where rearly nice.I went with my nan and grandad for my birthday.Plus it was such fun because we went on a murder mystery weekend .Polly ,Rose where lovely Polly came over to me and asked if i was ok ,Which i thought was very nice .Plus lady madam put her fox stole over my shoulders while we took a photo,she even gave me here diamond ring to keep(i wear it all the time). I even got the murderer right ,i hope to see them again in the future .And me,nan,grandadand my brother are going again this Febuary because it was a lovely place see you soon hydro hotel from mrs g white form crosby but my name is samantha xxx

Room Tip: choose a family room because it is big and you feel wecomed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenys w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Been to the lakes for a weekend and stayed at the hydro hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, lovely bar and communal areas on the ground floor. The view from our room (49) was stunning we couldn't stop looking out over the lake and the mountains! Very close to shops and lake. Breakfast was delicious!
The games room was dark and eery and could definitely do with a makeover!
Could get tiring walking up the steep hill to the hotel also.
Overall very pleased with our stay will definitely be returning in the new year!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing