We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay at Hydro” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 night stay at Hydro”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

A 2 nights stay with kgbdeals, 2 adults 1 child - £120 with breakfast.... bargain! Tho wouldn't stay again. Lovely building probably in the 1980's but well overdue an interior face lift & paint job outside!! Told they'd given us a nice family room... it stunk of urine, so a polite & discreet word with the manager got us a different room.... phew!!!! Still very dated but clean & that is the main thing. Defo ask for a room over looking the front with shared balcony, these are the best (what er got changed to). Bedroom, bathroom & living area. Breakfast was good, staff very helpful & polite (think most polish). Dogs can come, didn't like this fact as lift stunk of dog on occasions. Hotel needs ALOT of money spending on it, it could be stunning. Sofa's in bar area looked sun bleached, dull, old, worn... wouldn't have sat on them. Fish tank in area opposite bar had a big dead half rotted fish in it being eaten by other fish (spew!!) All in all enjoyed windermere... & here was just a resting place that we ouuldn't stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    257
    190
    112
    124
See reviews for
114
451
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed for a 2 night stay. Hotel is up a steep hill, not good if you can't walk far. We were given room 155 which doesn't have lift a access and is quite difficult to get to, up a steep flight of stairs then down another steep flight of stairs. The hotel itself is in need of updating as it looks very "tired". I got a deal for £99 for 2 nights b&b for 2 people, usual price £300!!!! Would have been most upset at paying that.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackthecatpopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Booked for one night B&B, lake view they offered, a joke, stayed on second floor, it had a new window installed that had only been emulsioned, it had been left open, the damp had swelled it so much its permantly open. the place is like a typical haunted hotel you would see on a B Movie film. its in bad need of repairs inside and out. its dull, dreary and depressing. the staff were non welcoming too, even on leaving they never said 'thankyou' 'how was the stay' or 'good bye'. breakfast was typical.I'm a vegetarian so just had serial, but my wifes bacon was still wringling it was so under cooked. I got the room for £20 under standard cost, but I wouldnt even have payed £20 in total had i known.
The best part of this hotel was the road back down into Bowness.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Read reviews on trip advisor before we went so thought I would wright one my self on return. I stayed here with husband for a two night stay the actually hotel is very impressive on the outside, inside is equally impressive it's huge enormous infact. Reception were very friendly check in was smooth we were given our key for room 167 which was quite a trek up stairs lift and so on. The room was small if ime being honest the bathroom was also very small the decor is dated and could do with a lick of paint but I can't stress more it was very very clean. The carpet was spotless the bedding was white cotton also spotless just ruined by the very old fashioned throw on it the mattress was too hard for my liking but may suit others. Just remember though you don't go to the lakes to sit in your room so it served its purpose and as for some one saying they put cheap complimentary products out yes it was but I never use then anyway as I take my own! We had a view of the lake which was a bonus too. Now the food we paid £25 each for a four course meal and it was worth every penny absolutely beautiful didn't dislike any of it .it was served piping hot by friendly polite staff oh and a free bottle of wine. We're not wine drinkers so we were asked to choose any drink of our liking nice touch I thought. Breakfast was Buffett style and so much to choose from and was also piping hot cant fault the food and would recommend anyone to try it. The bar was cosy and relaxing. The only down fall was there wasn't enough people there were obviously people staying here who preferred to go out a shame really. My husband made use of the gym which was only a short walk away from the rear of the hotel it had a running machine rower bike and some thing to do sit ups with. The swimming pool was clean cold though till you got it the jacussi wasn't in use well it didn't have any water in. Sauna aswell husband was more than pleased changing rooms were clean. We thouroughy enjoyed our little weekend away even though it rained if your looking at the reviews your obviously thinking of going so give it a go. Apart from the place needing a lick of paint it's so worth it and it is an older hotel after all we stayed on a KGB deal £99 for two nights well worth the money and because we now
Know what the lace has to offer wouldn't hesitate paying a lot more. Just so you know the hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill may not suit people with limited mobility.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My partner and i have just returned from a stay at the Hydro hotel and spa. We dont normally treat ourselves to hotel stays when we visit the lakes, usually staying in little local B&B's because we are big walkers. We stayed there because my partner was taking part in a local event and having seen the pictures and prices on the internet expected a "tourist" treat. We were sadly disappointed unfortunately. In all of the basic B&B's that we have stayed in, including working farm B&B's we have never come across somewhere so sadly unexpected as the Hydro, which is surprising considering it is a large, not so cheap, hotel in the heart of one of the lakes biggest tourist areas. The hotel was minimal and lacking friendly, happy staff. It felt dreary and dark and in need of some fresh paint. If you are just need of a bed for the night, its perfect, although the price is little steap for that kind of thing. Our room was at the top of the hotel, after having found our way there through what can only be described as a maze of tiny stair cases, which wasnt a problem but we chose to use the lift on a couple of occasions for quickness and noticed that if you had a disabled person with you and someone in a large wheelchair, you may struggle to also get someone else into the lift with them. Regardless, the main reason for our disapointment was the room. The door looked like something belonging to a 1980's council house but behind this there was to be a simple, homely, beautiful bright and roomy place to stay, like in the pictures on the hotels website.....right? Wrong. The bedroom was bland and the bathroom was tiny, as it was like walking into a wardobe that has been kitted out with a lavatory, shower and sink. The disappointent of this increased when the hot water for the shower prooved to be tempramental and the hot water in the sink seemed none existent. Also, if you are over 5 1/2 foot tall you will not be able to stand under the shower! Going back to the room, it lacked that little bit of comfort. The furniture looked as though it had been obtained from a nursing home clearout sale and although its a tiny moan - the kettle was situated in an area where there was no plug so we had to move it to make a brew which we found a bit odd. Also, during the middle of watching a film, the Sky channel advised that we needed to press "backup" else the channel would turn off. We didnt have a sky remote so, it turned off. Finally, whilst we didnt use the spa area, because we didnt expect the best out of that, we noticed that the pool was tiny and was covered by CCTV which was watched by reception, but also by waiting guests so if you like your provacy in swim wear - your out of luck. These all seem like trivial moans and we are not the moaning type but for a last minute "cheap price" of £110.00 for the room, disappointed was an understatement. Were just glad we didn't go for a holiday. Go there for a bed for the night, but not for a luxury comforting treat.

Room Tip: ask for one of the first floor lake facing rooms - they looked much nicer and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lakesl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We visited the Hydro Hotel in Bowness during the half term week, for 2 nights (2 adults, 1child), an experience best forgotten. The room was dark and smelt musty and the view was of a rock face which was 1 yard away from the window. The problems in the bathroom included a shower shield which leaked onto the bathroom floor when using the shower. Also the expelair did not work. After having a shower the condensation on the mirror read ''clean me'' obviously written by some previous occupants. The decor and furnishings in our room and in the hotel were tired and dated.
The Games Room smelt musty and the table tennis bats had been stripped of their rubber down to the wood and the net was in need of repair(a new table tennis set cost £2.49 in the nearby shop)
Our room was next to a fire door in the corridor which continuously creaked when opened which did not help our sleep. I mentioned this to the receptionist and suggested some oil on the hinges to solve the problem. Needless to say nothing was done.
The breakfast was of a good standard and the swimming pool and Spa facilities were satisfactory although the shower gel dispenser was empty in both showers and we had to pay an additional £1 per person for the use of a Spa towel.
For £305.86 this was not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Bought heavily discounted KGB Voucher and used it for a two night last minute "where shall we go?" trip.
Hotel was very good with "character squeeky floorboards" that meant you weren't creeping anywhere! Food was excellent and the staff were very welcoming. Loads of parking and a location in the town meant we could forget the car and walk into town for a meal in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing