We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary after reading other reviews. Whilst the hotel was very good and we had a lake view that was outstanding the customer service left a lot to be desired. The staff appeared to have no interest in the guests. In fact my husband called ahead to arrange form some campaign in our room on our arrival this never materialised. At breakfast we had to ask for some tea. If the hotel concentrated on customer service this would be the place to stay in Bowness without a shadow of a douibt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had a KGB voucher for 2 nights at the Windermere Hydro. Booked for a Thursday & Friday night and was looking forward to a nice weekend in the lakes.
From the outside the hotel looks good in a great location and elevated vith views of the lake. We where first put in room 159, which was at the top of the landing and next to the linen room. The room was small and very dated with a musty smell. The door to the room had a 3" gap to the floor. Dissatisfied we asked for a room change and moved to room 150. This room was slightly bigger and a litte more acceptable. That said, the fixtures and fittings where again dated and old fashioned. On our second night after returning late from the pub, my partner was electrocuted when plugging the kettle in and this created a blackout. The hotel staff came to the rescue but when checking all the electrical appliances in the room, we found none to be legally compliant, with all testing well overdue.
When checking out, we complained and asked to see the hotel electrical test / inspection certificate and this could not be found. Reception staff promised they would email us a copy. I am still waiting. My partner asked to fill in the accident book, reception staff must of thought she was joking as they scrambled to find something suitable for her to complete.
Not the most memorable stay. I'm sure you could spend your money more wisely and stay soewhere else.
I will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Fantastically clean & Comfortable large room .. Amazing views recommend lake view so wonderfully relaxing : )

Service really is 5 Star here
Spotless Swimming pool sauna & Spa
Small neat gym .

Dated building oozing with Character though : )

Such a lovely place to unwind turn back the clock & relax . 5 mind walk from centre no parking issues to worry of .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie100269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Booked this on a KGB deal and paid an extra supplement for a room with a view.Well worth it. Our room was 24, spacious and clean. Yes the decor is tired but it is all in keeping with this lovely family run hotel. To whip it into the 21st century would be an injustice.I loved the furniture, a fantastic HUGE wardrobe, we had a seperate lounge area with a step down into the sleeping area and our own balcony. A perfect little sun trap late afternoon before dinner.A generous sized corner bath & shower. Fab thick curtains that kept out the light. The only moan I would make is the pipes make a noise when the loos flush, but it didnt last for long. Again its an old building so you have to expect it has creaks & groans. Didnt stay in for dinner as we wanted to eat a bit later than the sitting off 7 till 8.30, but it smelt fab & the restaurant was very busy.Breakfast was buffet style & was plentiful. The staff were friendly & helpful too. All in all a very comfy stay & I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 24 was on the 1st floor at the front of the hotel with its own little balcony with a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We've stayed here loads of times and never fail to have a wonderful time. The Hydro is a classic, traditional place and was originally a grand spa hotel. Hosts, Ken and Rose run a great place with staff who are friendly, attentive but never intrusive! Fantastic value for money dinner - I've never been able to manage all the courses! Very good selection at breakfast too. If you want sleek, modern, soulless accommodation, then go elsewhere. If you want a traditional, comfortable and welcoming stay, then book the Hydro.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel is in a great position.....easy walk to shops and restaurants and the lake. We had a lovely view of the lake from our room. Staff were pleasant enough on the whole. Room was nice and spacious and bathroom clean. I think they will need to start looking at some major renovations soon however.....it's a lovely old hotel but starting to show its age and look a bit dated.....

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel looks grand from the outside with a great view of Lake Windermere, but the positives end as soon as you step inside this place! The rooms are smelly, the beds are uncomfortable, the decoration is shabby and the staff are frosty! Altogether a very unpleasant experience! Please look elsewhere for somewhere to stay in this beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yogi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £57 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing