We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Due to so many cafes and restaurants in Bowness did not eat in. The room itself was nice and big and the bed comfy. It should have been slightly smaller so the walkin wardrobe of a bathroom could have been usable. Seriously small bathroom. My husband who is big , not fat but large struggled to get anywhere near the sink. But other than that the room was lovely. We had breakfast in the room and it was great. Especially at only £3 per head. Now to the hill. If u have any walking difficulties or are just not that fit, the walk in and out of Bowness to the hotel will kill you. If really is that bad. It gives you a lovely view from your room but its that high up from the rest if the village I'm surprised its not classed as a hill.
Overall though staff great room great bathroom not so. Food we had great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deekay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a one night stay 20th july here, we paid for a standard double with no view and thats exactly what we got, we were in room 61, the room was of a good size if somewhat dated, think 70,s chintz and you get the idea but it was clean and comfortable and we were only in it for one night so it didnt really bother us, some people have commented about small bathrooms, well room 61 has the biggest bathroom i have ever seen, large corner bath , good sized shower cubicle plus toilet and sink with large vanity unit, again dated but spotlessly clean. We stayed on a bed breakfast and evening dinner basis, the main dining room was being used for a private function so we were put in a smaller room which i have to say was a bit grotty and did smell damp but the tables were laid out lovely and the food and service were excellent, breakfast was served in the main dining room which was a lot nicer and again the food and service were excellent. Its true the hotel is in serious need of some investment, the outside paintwork and windows are very shabby and the sofas in the bar desperately need replacing and it does smell damp and musty in certain places. I didnt want to give it 2 stars for poor as the food and service were great and some parts of the hotel are ok, but i didnt want to give it 4 stars for very good either as it does need improving in the areas i have mentioned so i compromised and gave it 3 stars for average. Would i stay here again, yes i would but dont think i could manage more than 2 nights max.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maltaman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This place is something else. Peeling external paintwork, damp smelling, grim 30 year old décor, winding corridors, narrow staircases, confused staff, busloads of odd tourists, a gym 'without weights', collapsing bathrooms, shower cubicles for midgets, tired rooms, old tvs, and £80 a night for a single room!!! Please somebody buy this hotel and do it up and inject a bit of zing (and a bit of sense)... Its in a great location but really is poor. Don't come here.

Room Tip: A room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As a venue for a get together, with fabulous views over the lake this venue ticked all the boxes. 53 of us stayed over for the midsummer weekend, great weather on Friiday, mist on Saturday but Sunday fair. Breakfast was good with attentive staff and our dinner dance on saturday night was just brilliant. The food was beatifully presented and the main course of beef was just melt in the mouth. We had one of the suites at the front with a shared balcony and great view over the lake and had no complaints at all. Our afternoon tea on Saturday and soup and sandwiches on Sunday were varied and tasty and beautifully garnished. Shops and restaurants close by and worth the exercise to get back up the hill.

Room Tip: The suites at the front are lovely and a lake view a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a special event. Although the food was ok, apart from the moth on my egg at breakfast, the place is very tired and in desperate need of investment. It attracts coach trips with lots of foriegn visitors which is no problem but I think these trips only normally stay at a cheap deal hotel who can only fill their hotels with this kind of trade. Great location though with great views but that is about it, oh sorry its cheap!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The room is more like a cupboard, the bathroom is a joke its in another tiny cupboard in the room. Wind blows in through the Window frame's, bed frame is about to collapse, its just terrible. As a coach driver I'm often asked to recommend hotel's to clients, this is one I will tell people to avoid. But then coach drivers are always treated like crap by hotel's. What hotels forget is that treat a coach driver badly and it soon gets around and that hotel will never get recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have spent two New Years Eve's here. Comfortable room, great food. Not too far from the town, but on hill so walking back is a slow job. They also have evening entertainment. I would imagine it would be nice to stay there in the summer months.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red46_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing