We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great last minute booking”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The bedroom was tired as was much of the decor however the view of Lake Windermere from the room more than made up for this. The pool., sauna and steam was fantastic although you had to exit the hotel to gain access and pay a pound for a towel. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. There was a real sense of a family run hotel with all the staff extremely helpful. The one exception to this was the receptionist on our arrival who made you feel you were an inconvenience but I must stress everyone else was wonderful. The location of the hotel was perfect being right in the centre of Windermere. Overall, the experience was really enjoyable and we would definitely stay again, a beautiful but tired victorian hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    270
    197
    124
    136
See reviews for
120
481
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We took the whole of the hotel, as we were a group of 124. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic, beautifully presented, always hot with a good choice and good sized portions.
The owner is updating the hotel, but this is a large Victorian hotel and so it will take some time as the hotel is always busy. Although the hotel is up a steep hill, it is very close to the town of Bowness with its lovely shops and lake Windermere, where you can take a trip in one of the boats, or take a self drive motor boat.
All in all a very enjoyable break and we will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have wonderful views of Lake Windermere and the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam_brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel seems popular with groups due, I expect, to it's size and position. We were a group of around 30 walkers and there were also two other large groups of (non walkers) at the same time. The hotel coped incredibly well with all. Although the dining area was almost full, orders for food were taken and delivered without delays or complaint. There was a good choice of evening meals and breakfast was buffet style.
Outside of meal times the hotel did not seem overcrowded due to the large bar and a number of other rooms for people to socialise in. We discovered a games room in a basement which had snooker and table tennis tables and a dart board. We had difficulty locating the lights in here and it smelt rather musty.
There is plenty of parking space. The hotel is situated a short distant up a steepish hill from the main Bowness centre and may prove difficult for those with limited mobility. Otherwise it is in an excellent position for reaching the Windermere ferries or taking a walk directly from the hotel into the hills.

Room Tip: Room 49 had excellent views of the lake, once the rain and cloud cleared! It was a large room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mypointofviewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed at the Hydro on the13th of September for three nights, The hotel was great for an old hotel we knew what we were booking. Our room was a first floor balcony suit that had a separate living area and a large king size sled type bed. The tellies were ancient with a picture you could just make out but we survived, The toilet was pretty well maintained and reasonably modern the suit was one of the refurbished rooms in the hotel but the décor is already getting grubby and the carpets are a bit rough The meals were first class and good choice on the menu with some specials every night I used the gym and the small pool a couple of times but not the most inspiring experience the pool is freezing and the gym equipment ancient the Jacuzzi smelt like a bleach bath. All in all a reasonable experience but will not rush back. Down side my wife left a charger in the socket and when we got home I phoned and asked if it had been handed in by the cleaners the reception said they would check and call me back, Still waiting other than that and the reception trying to lump a bottle of expensive wine on to my bill and no apology for trying to take 20 quid off me for something I did not have Sorry but it's your fault not mine. I felt I was being scolded for not paying up. I also heard a few others saying to check your bills as some of the staff don't do very good English. There are a lot of coach tours coming to this hotel but no problems with service

Room Tip: ask for a lake view and also a balcony suite otherwise the Burnside hotel has good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Every two years I meet up with friends for a reunion at the Windermere Hydro Hotel. It is old and full of character. Over the years there have been continuing improvements and refurbishment of the building. This place will always need a huge amount of money spending on it, but it is comfortable, very well run and has excellent food in a stunning period dining room. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful and seem to genuinely want their guests to enjoy their stay in this wonderful part of the Lake District. The bedrooms seem to be in various stages of refurbishment and I had one with a small, but newly done out bathroom, as well as a lake view which was lovely. If you like character then you will love the hotel, but if you are used to modern soul-less places which are perfectly decorated then you may find areas which are not to your liking. Another plus is the large car park which is free! This hotel suits me fine and I hope to go back again in 2 years time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. You may have to pay a small supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyb459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for a 2 night weekend break. We stayed in a basic room with no view which was ok as we don't spend much time in room. The room was ok nice comfy bed, very quiet slept well. The hotel is dated which we like,old and Victorian they don't build em like this anymore. The hotel is in a great location not far from town centre but not good if you cant walk up a steep hill, it has fantastic views over lake.
The breakfast was very good with serve yourself full English breakfast and selection of cereals and juices. We stayed on bed and breakfast so don't know what food was like in restaurant as there is lots of restaurants to eat out in Bowness.
Especially liked the leisure centre with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and sauna which is situated next to hotel. Nice to relax in after a long days walking, we would stay here again enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W7052RBdianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have visited the Hydro several times. This time we took the family, including 2 young children. The rooms with Lake views were wonderful, the staff were very friendly and always helpful and the food was good. The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Bowness with easy access to many facilities for the children. We will definitely return on our next visit to the Lakes. Thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with Lake views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing