We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Birthday treat.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay with friends at the hotel. I really can't fault it, the position is great just down the hill from Bowness, although after a long day the hill seemed much more steep, but we are over 60 so it's allowed. No check in until 3pm left our cases in reception and did some shopping, then returned for check in with the very friendly young man on reception, we had room 18, a very large lake view bay windowed room, the bed was wonderful very large, comfy and crisp White bedding. our friends had room 6, again very big. Excellent breakfasts both days, then ate out in Bowness. Returned to the hotel and went into the bar where the fire was put on for us! spent 2 pleasant nights in there. Pleasant attentive staff everywhere in the Hotel. The hotel only
had a few guests which we enjoyed. So the tv's are old fashioned, as another reviewer mentioned, they work fine.. Have already recommended it to others and will defiantly return. Thanks for a great birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    270
    197
    124
    136
See reviews for
120
481
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We got back from the Hydro yesterday and had an amazing weekend! We were there on a KGB deal and could not believe the room we got for the price we paid! yes the hotel its self is 'dated' but it’s not a bad thing its well looked after and cozy.

Room *****
Good- Our room had a huge bathroom that was very modern, there was a corner bath that they had enough hot water to fill! A large powerful shower, 2 sinks and of course a toilet. it was actually the size of a Travelodge/premier in ROOM! Down what can only be described as a corridor to the room and we found amazing views of the lake, a big beg with a nice heavy duvet on and plenty of storage.

Food***
We were the only ones for dinner on our first night and the service we received was brilliant! The food was delicious and I loved the menu and its options. BUT the breakfast didn’t look very nice and in the food room there was a garlic smell that was just too much for me first thing. We ended up having breakfast each morning over the main road at a cafe called Monties- really nice and gorgeous poached eggs.

Location *****
Views of the lake and just 2 mins away from the ferry port.

I would definitely stay here again and would have loved to give it 5 *'s but the breakfast was a real let down.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleby Barwick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a KGB deal for a two night BnB stay at the Hydro and we couldn't fault it. The staff looked after us really well.They were all attentive but not intrusive. Our room was warm, very clean and comfortable, with french door access to a big balcony overlooking the front of the building and out over the water,albeit a way off. Breakfast was varied,well cooked and plentiful. We dined in on one night and it was a lovely meal. Yes, the hotel is quite dated but still quite charming,spacious staircases and wide landings, snug bars with overstuffed comfy sofas and quiet side rooms. We didn't use the pool as we had lots to do, so I couldn't comment on it, but we took swimming togs and towels in case the weather forced us to stay in. The hydro is really well situated, but it's either up hill or down hill if you want to go any where on foot. That could be a plus as well as a minus depending on how you look at it. There are lots of places to eat, even out of season, the local pub 50 metres away and a cinema a hundred yards away. Easy walking distance down to the marina or up to the railway station on the main street through Windermere village. The Hydro is well worth a visit but if you want characterless, new or trendy, go else where.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenStevens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Came to stay here due to a family crisis, the staff were friendly, accommodating and most of all, very friendly. Yes it maybe could do with a bit of updating, and a map or two to help the older customer around but a nice family feel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetwoalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I treated my girlfriend to a couple of nights here for her birthday. We'd passed through Bowness several times before, stopping for coffee, walks or the occasional meal and we always had a good time so a surprise couple of nights staying over was an easy choice.
As always I reviewed the hotels on tripadvisor and looked at the prices. The Windermere Hydro looked good value for money at £100 for 2 nights b&b, and the description of the spa suggested a bonus.
We arrived early so agreed with reception to park in the lower car park and wander round the town for a few hours until our room was ready. The top car park was full with cars checking out but is best for parking as it avoids the steps.

Once checked in we were very pleased with the front view down onto lake Windermere, albeit across the top of other buildings. The room was pleasant, and clean although the coffee brown tiles in the bathroom gave a dated look, and the sash windows were painted shut.

The small tv was adequate, and a small selection of coffee & tea with a kettle, although no biscuits. We decided to use the spa and were surprised to read in the hotel literature that you cannot use your room towels so you need to pay a small amount to collect one from reception. We'd brought our own just in case, so if you fancy using the spa make sure you pack your own towels.
Then we found out to get to the spa you need to walk back outside and across the car park and down some steps. Not ideal if its raining. Another point to note is that the changing rooms are unisex so be warned. The changing rooms were cold, and not very clean. Once through to the pool we found it was not heated, and the sauna was not even switched on, so that was cold too. Luckily we worked out how to start the Jacuzzi and that soon warmed up until the timer kicked in. The pool area is monitored by two cctv's in reception but if anything did happen it would take them several minutes to get to you, if they noticed you. The gym is in a small room next door to the pool and has a couple of step and rowing machines.
Drying out in the cold changing room whilst panicing in case someone else walks in was not ideal and the cold walk back across the rain soaked car park was refreshing to say the least.

Decided to eat out that evening - some excellent restaurants in town.
We walked round the corridors of the hotel and it felt like the Shining, very empty and dated, we fully expected to meet the twins with redrum round the next corner.
There is always someone at reception but had to ask there for someone to serve us in the lounge bar; maybe it was just a quiet week.

Prices at the hotel bar are reasonable, and there are plenty of side rooms to sit in the quiet.

Breakfast was buffet style and was good quality with plenty of cereals, toast, jams and fruit on the side. The chain driven toasting machine gave the usual not toasted or burnt options but its always an interesting challenge to people used to a pop up toaster. The serving staff were very attentive and helpful.

The rooms were cleaned well while we were out at lunch. Later that day a coach full of people from the Far East arrived but the hotel seemed to absorb them somewhere. Other than some noisy disturbances in the corridor that night we did not see or hear them until they checked out early the next morning as we arrived at breakfast.

The breakfast was good quality again, although the halogen lamps had dried up the surface of the baked beans and fried eggs. Again plenty of serving staff on hand.

Checking out the next day was a breeze with no-one else other than the receiptionist and us anywhere to be seen; oh except for the little dog that sits inside the doorway. He seemed quiet and never bothered us.

The hotel is up a steep road, about 3 minutes from the town centre, so may not be suitable for everyone.

So in summary, a pleasant stay, good value, nice breakfast, lovely view, friendly staff; but areas of the hotel and spa felt dated; pity because it has lots of potential.

Would we stay here again - yes. We really enjoyed our stay, and Bowness is a lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powfoot, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We Had a lovely stay over Christmas, the food was delicious and the staff could not have been
more helpful, the room had a great view over lake Windermere I would certainly recommend this
hotel a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Mine was a room View just above the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times over the years and it is affordable, in a good location and has a nice cosy bar area. We haven't eaten here at night but the breakfast is nice. Yes it could do with updating and a lick of paint here and there but it adds to the charm of the hotel! The only gripe I have is you can only pick up wifi by reception and it would be much better if you could get it in your room so you can check emails etc. i am sure we will be back again in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beautygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing