We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
281
396
280
184
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
396
280
184
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and jacuzzi bit dated breakfast was buffet style lick of paint view of the lake weekend break leisure facilities lovely view couldn't do enough full english lakes
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter break. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. Our room had a lovely view of the lake and was large enough with a small but immaculate bathroom. The bed was really comfy. We used the pool and sauna which were both clean. The breakfast was a buffet style with a massive selection and one night we ate in the large restaurant and had a really good meal. I always find that the test with hotels is would I stay here again and the answer is yes. For the purists there are a few points you won't like - mainly to do with worn carpet/ wallpaper in the corridors but I understand it is gradually being refurbished. All the things that matter - location, cleanliness, standard of food, facilities etc were perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake view but without the shared balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Not pre-booked so was very lucky to be offered 2 rooms close to each other for the rate of a family room. Decoded to take them as it was getting late and we were tired having walked around and travelled most of the day. Large hotel but very dated. Bathrooms seem to have been updated but rooms very dated and small. For the price we paid, although including breakfast, i would say that it was overpriced but I guess over Easter in the Lakes, charges can be high especially as the weather was very good. Oh and also there was a dog loose in reception area which does not bother me but wife and kids don't like pets coming up to them. Overall - I am still recovering from the charges but should not complain as we got 2 rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank ad1tej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just spent two nights at the Hydro over the bank holiday weekend. This is the third time my wife and I have stopped here and this time we took our two dogs with us. As we arrived at reception we were met with the usual warm welcome, being remembered from our last stay was a nice start to our break. Being asked about our previous dog who had died just before our last stay was nice and makes you feel more than just another guest. We were given the same room as our two previous visits and once again it didn't disappoint. Nice and clean lovely bathroom with a fantastic large bath (enjoyed a nice bath with the wife) and amazing views of the lake. Great central location within 5 mins walk of the town and the lake, climbing the hill back up to the hotel after a long day walking can be a bit of a swine though. Fantastic buffet breakfast for a good start to the day ended with a lovely 3 course evening meal in the restaurant. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful taking time to speak to you and asking how you are. Another great relaxing break at the Hydro. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms with a view of the lake are a must
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just stayed at the Hydro for 2 nights. Hotel needs some loving care to its exterior and parts of the interior are a little tired and dated but we had a great stay. Our room was large and airy and overlooked the lake. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Food choice was good and very good value. Can also recommend the pool and spa. Both times that we used these facilities we were the only ones there. Would definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in March and was amazed by the spacious and elegant interior.

A very warm and welcoming establishment, with the staff offering the same warmth and hospitality.

The bedroom (No 17) was large and airy, with fabulous views out over Lake Winderemere and was extremely comfortable.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night the food was excellent, certainly no more expensive than many of the restaurants in Bowness - which was a very nice surprise.

Breakfast is a self service buffet - after being seated and offered the choice of beverages. Again the food was excellent, and of a good quality with plenty of choice.

The swimming pool is a great bonus and quite often not too busy I am told, I was lucky enough to have the pool to myself for 90 mins - such a treat. The sauna and Jacuzzi are also nice extra's............especially when you get to have sole use of them.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel - it has ample parking (parking spaces can be like gold dust in Bowness) although it is up quite a steep hill so anyone with mobility issues could find the one minute walk into the heart of Bowness a little difficult.

Everything you need is on your doorstep so the convenience of the hotel is exceptional.

We stayed on a KGB deal so did not have huge expectations.....I am pleased to say.... How wrong we were.

Can't wait to return :-)

Room Tip: Room 17 has a connecting door to the next room so you may get a little more noise from the neighbouring room than one without
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews