We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value In The Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Manchester,England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Value In The Lakes”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just has a weekend at the Hydro Hotel. This hotel offers great value and is in a great location.
The staff were excellent and really friendly, the breakfast was great with a good choice and a buffet style so you could eat as much as you liked.
As mentioned by most people it is dated but very clean and offered great value for the Lakes which makes it a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    285
    208
    133
    149
See reviews for
129
514
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was at Bowness-on-Windermere for a week it was a nice wee place easy to get around. The hotel was very nice inside. But outside of the hotel needs some paint. My was very good indeed the food was first class and very good indeed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location near to the centre of Bowness with fantastic views of the lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Although in need of re decoration our twin room was large and spotless and the bed comfortable.
Breakfast superb and the pool, and Jacuzzi an added extra.
My friend and I had a lovely two night stay at this hotel and would go again

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuddington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter break. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. Our room had a lovely view of the lake and was large enough with a small but immaculate bathroom. The bed was really comfy. We used the pool and sauna which were both clean. The breakfast was a buffet style with a massive selection and one night we ate in the large restaurant and had a really good meal. I always find that the test with hotels is would I stay here again and the answer is yes. For the purists there are a few points you won't like - mainly to do with worn carpet/ wallpaper in the corridors but I understand it is gradually being refurbished. All the things that matter - location, cleanliness, standard of food, facilities etc were perfect for us.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake view but without the shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Not pre-booked so was very lucky to be offered 2 rooms close to each other for the rate of a family room. Decoded to take them as it was getting late and we were tired having walked around and travelled most of the day. Large hotel but very dated. Bathrooms seem to have been updated but rooms very dated and small. For the price we paid, although including breakfast, i would say that it was overpriced but I guess over Easter in the Lakes, charges can be high especially as the weather was very good. Oh and also there was a dog loose in reception area which does not bother me but wife and kids don't like pets coming up to them. Overall - I am still recovering from the charges but should not complain as we got 2 rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ad1tej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just spent two nights at the Hydro over the bank holiday weekend. This is the third time my wife and I have stopped here and this time we took our two dogs with us. As we arrived at reception we were met with the usual warm welcome, being remembered from our last stay was a nice start to our break. Being asked about our previous dog who had died just before our last stay was nice and makes you feel more than just another guest. We were given the same room as our two previous visits and once again it didn't disappoint. Nice and clean lovely bathroom with a fantastic large bath (enjoyed a nice bath with the wife) and amazing views of the lake. Great central location within 5 mins walk of the town and the lake, climbing the hill back up to the hotel after a long day walking can be a bit of a swine though. Fantastic buffet breakfast for a good start to the day ended with a lovely 3 course evening meal in the restaurant. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful taking time to speak to you and asking how you are. Another great relaxing break at the Hydro. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms with a view of the lake are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just stayed at the Hydro for 2 nights. Hotel needs some loving care to its exterior and parts of the interior are a little tired and dated but we had a great stay. Our room was large and airy and overlooked the lake. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Food choice was good and very good value. Can also recommend the pool and spa. Both times that we used these facilities we were the only ones there. Would definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing