We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LauraF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LauraF”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from 5 day coach tour. Hotel and room very clean and all staff polite and helpful. Hotel needs a bit of TLC re decor etc but would use it again. Breakfast and evening meals were well cooked and presented with plenty of choice and again all waiting staff very polite and helpful. Was lucky enough to get a room with a beautiful view of the lake. Evening entertainment was very poor but we were lucky to have met good company so we had pleasant evenings chatting in the relaxing lounge area. We will return to this hotel as it is well placed to take advantage of the lovely lakes and surrounding areas.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    257
    191
    113
    125
See reviews for
114
455
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed with a coach party for 4 nights - room was very clean and had a wonderful view. I had a disabled room and was surprised to find it was quite a long way from Reception - had to use scooter to get there but there was plenty of space to park the scooter.

Good selection on the menu and food was well prepared and vegetables served separately so that we could take as much or a little as we wanted. Breakfast was very good and a wide selection - however we had to make our own toast and the toaster was quite a hit or miss affair - first pass no colouring - second pass could be beautifully golden but was often burnt to a crisp.

Entertainment was not a real priority with me - just as well because one night it was a Magician doing tricks at our tables (whilst we were being served the main course and trying to get our vegetables - not a good idea). Another night we had a man playing the Piano Accordian - was good fun but since most of us had no idea he was on the turn-out was very poor - even our Group Leader was not advised until just before the performance began.

Overall had a good time and would recommend it but the whole hotel needs a little TLC - window paint peeling etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great hotel, me and my partner stay regular, great price, breakfast and views.
The hotel is not modern and quite tired but still very comfortable and all adds to the Victorian Character.
Always a relaxing stay with great staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vics_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bokaro Steel City, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had booked two rooms.
Rooms were clean and tidy.
Breakfast was very good .
Swimming pool and the jacuzzi was awesome except that we were asked to pay for the towels (1£each) which I feel was very stupid thing to charge from the guests.
Staff were not very friendly during the checking and checkout formalities.
The whole place had a touch of Old English Charm!!!!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the lake on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January and we would recommend it. The breakfast was fantastic and the hot food was done to order on the days when there were less guests. This was great as it ensured we had fresh food. The rooms were a little dated but comfortable and clean- we also had a fantastic view of the lake. We didn't dine in the hotel and I would recommend finding a restaurant in the town as there were loads of fantastic places for decent prices. The pool was great, we used it a lot- the only down side is that you have to walk outside to get to it, not ideal when it is pouring down with rain! Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are used to not exactly getting the best rooms with the KGB deals but at the Hydro we had a room with a lovely view over the lake. Staff were friendly and helpful, Self service breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just three days in January rooms are clean needs some tlc lovely view from room . Staff friendly and helpfull Food excellent buffet style breakfast, three course menu for dinner. I do recommend taking a walk down to the beautiful town and the lake

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polyann1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
549 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing