We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windermere hydro July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just back from a Glentons Tour to the Lakes stayed at the Windermere Hydro . The hotel paintwork is in need of some TLC but the staff and the meals by and far make up for this . The rooms were spacious and very clean the staff though young were very efficient , friendly and extremely helpful. The food was excellent and there was always a very good choice on the menu.
Would I recommend this hotel a resounding yes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spend 5 days at the Windermere Hotel. We were on a coach tour and found the hotel well appointed but in need of some TLC. Staff at reception were very helpful as were the domestic staff. Breakfast had a large selection of food with a do it your self toast experience. Dinner was served piping hot and with a large selection of vegetables served separately. Entertainment was not very good with the magician coming round at dinner time. Wonderful views over Windermere from the front rooms. Road very steep to climb and we were thankful of the coach. Will return to the Windermere in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from 5 day coach tour. Hotel and room very clean and all staff polite and helpful. Hotel needs a bit of TLC re decor etc but would use it again. Breakfast and evening meals were well cooked and presented with plenty of choice and again all waiting staff very polite and helpful. Was lucky enough to get a room with a beautiful view of the lake. Evening entertainment was very poor but we were lucky to have met good company so we had pleasant evenings chatting in the relaxing lounge area. We will return to this hotel as it is well placed to take advantage of the lovely lakes and surrounding areas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed with a coach party for 4 nights - room was very clean and had a wonderful view. I had a disabled room and was surprised to find it was quite a long way from Reception - had to use scooter to get there but there was plenty of space to park the scooter.

Good selection on the menu and food was well prepared and vegetables served separately so that we could take as much or a little as we wanted. Breakfast was very good and a wide selection - however we had to make our own toast and the toaster was quite a hit or miss affair - first pass no colouring - second pass could be beautifully golden but was often burnt to a crisp.

Entertainment was not a real priority with me - just as well because one night it was a Magician doing tricks at our tables (whilst we were being served the main course and trying to get our vegetables - not a good idea). Another night we had a man playing the Piano Accordian - was good fun but since most of us had no idea he was on the turn-out was very poor - even our Group Leader was not advised until just before the performance began.

Overall had a good time and would recommend it but the whole hotel needs a little TLC - window paint peeling etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phylis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great hotel, me and my partner stay regular, great price, breakfast and views.
The hotel is not modern and quite tired but still very comfortable and all adds to the Victorian Character.
Always a relaxing stay with great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vics_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had booked two rooms.
Rooms were clean and tidy.
Breakfast was very good .
Swimming pool and the jacuzzi was awesome except that we were asked to pay for the towels (1£each) which I feel was very stupid thing to charge from the guests.
Staff were not very friendly during the checking and checkout formalities.
The whole place had a touch of Old English Charm!!!!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the lake on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaushik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January and we would recommend it. The breakfast was fantastic and the hot food was done to order on the days when there were less guests. This was great as it ensured we had fresh food. The rooms were a little dated but comfortable and clean- we also had a fantastic view of the lake. We didn't dine in the hotel and I would recommend finding a restaurant in the town as there were loads of fantastic places for decent prices. The pool was great, we used it a lot- the only down side is that you have to walk outside to get to it, not ideal when it is pouring down with rain! Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £65 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing