We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere Hydro Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Lancashire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Just returned from a night away at the Hydro Hotel in Bowness. After reading some reviews I can only say they didn't stay here!
The hotel is a little dated but made up by friendly / helpfulll staff.
Pool and tub superb and the breakfast was more than anyone can want.Even though the hotel was busy with a Murder Mystery Weekend on the staff still had time to chat and help out.
The room was upgraded for us and was the best room I've every stayed in. It had 2 seperate lounges over looking the lake!
What people have got to remember that this is the lake district and things are older and not the normal modernbland places that might offer more facilities but give me character anytime!

  • Liked — The character
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Atkinsons2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    257
    190
    112
    124
See reviews for
114
451
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geordie in the Toon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

The Windermere Hydro has been our home for at least the last five years at new year. I found it by chance one year on the internet and have never missed it since.The Hotel is high on the Hill in Bowness on Windermere , it is an old hotel with loads of charm and owners and staff to match. The family who own this hotel are genuine and really look after you.You get lovely food for breakfast ,afternoon tea,and a seven course gala dinner on new years eve and much of the same on new years night. You get dancing to "Jimmy Fingers band" and a piper at midnight thrown in too!
Windermere beckons and a lovely ride on one of the ferries just makes the new year break complete. The rooms at the hotel are adequete ,some are getting re-furbished but this hotel has loads of nooks and crannies to just purely relax into , check it for yourself!! I have been other times and it is just as good as new year!!

  • Liked — The food is out of this world!! Great family owners!!
  • Disliked — The hill up!!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboopaloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

After reading the earlier poor reviews, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room was nice; only snag was noisy waterpipes but not the end of the world. We stayed at this hotel for a murder-mystery weekend & it was great fun so I'd recommend it. Good food in the resataurant.

  • Liked — Murder-mystery weekend
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde Coast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We wanted a Salsa Weekend in the lakes and this hotel was recommended for the dance floor. the management were fantastic, the rooms lovely and clean, the food excellent and the arrangements very easy. We went on the worst weekend in the history of Lake Windermere and were blocked in with floods and torrential rain and the police closed all roads out of the area but the hotel were magnificent organising all our guests who had just come for the evening. Would definately go again.

  • Liked — Views across Lake Windermere
  • Disliked — The very very steep hill to get to the hotel, must be fit if walking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Demented_Tour_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

This hotel does have an old world charm about it and I expected to see Miss Marple walking down the corridor! The service was excellent, the food good and the view from our room stunning. The hotel is a bit scruffy in places but that was surpassed by the super service and welcoming staff something that can be missing in a lot of other hotels

  • Liked — Views and location
  • Disliked — Faded grandure
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunholstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

We decided to take off to the Lakes after a very trying week at home and decided to book into a Hotel when we got there. We went for a walk and liked the look of the Hydro so asked if they had any rooms vacant for the Fri and Sat nights. We were given a fairly big room with a Lakefront view for £85 per night B&B. The price was obviously a bargain as we had just walked in off the street rather than having made an advance booking but I don t know if I would have liked to pay any more for it, given that the decor could have done with a freshen up and the bathroom was tiny. However, I know that the Lakes are very expensive at this time of the year and we would probably have had difficulty in actually getting anything else. The dining room was lovely and the breakfast buffet was freshly cooked and plenty of it. The staff were very nice and helpful, given that English was probably not their first language. All in all we were pleased with our weekend, although the hotel, which is very imposing and set in a prime spot, would benefit from some cash being spent on it.

  • Liked — Great views and a cracking breakfast
  • Disliked — Could do with some money being spent on it
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozySuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Visited the hydro in June 2008, was a bit worried after reading previous reviews but come to conclusion that perhaps if things do not go well people go on trip advisor more readily. We found all was excellent, from booking in to leaving, food great and hot and lots of it, staff very friendly, swimming pool, clean and hot tub wonderful and was sauna. It is an old hotel so if you want modern go elsewhere. Its quaint, and we loved it, stayed 4 nights would go back views wonderful.

  • Liked — food, views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garf1eld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing