We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor value for money . . . needs a lot or modernisation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor value for money . . . needs a lot or modernisation”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We phoned enquiring about a family room & staff recommended one with an alcove with bunk beds. Admittedly she pointed out it did not have a lake view but failed to mention that the 'view' from both windows was into what can only be described as a vennel which was so overgrown you could not see daylight. The layout of the room was good and it was clean, but very dark and very old fashioned. I agree with previous comment about poor quality toiletries etc, especially when there are some fantastic local shops which sell local products. Bar could have been good if you could ever have found the bar staff ! Breakfast was sufficient but when paying £150 per night I expected a lot more- i.e. fresh bread/rolls, pastries and tea which actually tasted like tea! Spa was a bonus but also in need of a good steam clean around the tiles etc. High point was the location but think next time I'll try the Angel Inn which was nearby and looked stunning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    262
    195
    120
    130
See reviews for
117
469
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Only stayed for one night with my husband, 13 yr old son and our little dog Ruby. I booked online, so it was really easy. Pleasant reception staff, did not quibble about the dog, stayed in a room at the top of the hotel over looking the lake which was nice. Lots of American and Japanese tourists stayed there. So be aware of the amount of coaches running outside! Although this was the high season so it was very busy. We used the leisure facilities which were very nice, breakfast was good, ideal for a short stay!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Room old fashioned with blankets on beds and dated look. Windows single glazed and so rotten they were about to fall off - you could hear all the people walking back up the road from town after hours. Bathroom had been refurbished well and had a good shower but cheap and nasty shampoo/bath foam packets. Noisy pipes and radiator and you could hear all other guests in rooms surrounding ours including the domestic argument upstairs at 2.20am which resulted in the police being called. Other guests complained of cold showers and noisy pipes which kept them awake. On the plus side the rooms were very clean and tidy, the staff friendly and the breakfast good. It's 2 minutes walk to the centre of Bowness which is also nice. Hotel mainly used by foreign bus tours from what we could gather and the odd stag/hen party. The place needs a big injection of cash to modernise the 'faded grandeur' look. Maybe the luxury rooms with balconies facing the lake are better? Would I return? No, I like to have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Macclesfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Loved every minute of our week stay. Room spotless and excellently refurbished. Despite being inundated by a coach party arriving the receptionist was very proficient and helpful. As previous loved the sauna and pool gym etc. etc. which were spotless. Food very good I recommend the vegetarian Mushroom main course which is fantastic. Dining Room staff very proficient and helpful.

Only niggles bar more often than not unstaffed so we chose to drink out rather than have to keep chasing around for someone to serve us also I would have liked complimentary information on the views from the hotel and especially The fantastic Mountain Goat Mini Bus day tours around the area. Anyone who wants a mind blowing Lakes Tour ask for Peter Hudson (Mountain Goat Guide Extra Very Special) and book on his tour. Collect & Return to the hotel the best money you will ever spend.

I understand the hotel is under continuing renovation by its new owners me I love the place it has a genuine charm some of the room furniture may be old fashioned but it lends a warmth and style I love.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My partner and I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the Hydro Hotel, I have never met such lovely and helpful people. They made our room up early for us, gave us a bigger room with balcony and lake view as we had two large dogs with us. On the Thursday of our stay (the hottest day of the year so far) they made every effort to find us a fan for our dogs as they were over heating even though there was only 2 available in the entire hotel. The only negative this hotel has it could do with a little modernisation but other than that it was wonderful. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This hotel is beautiful. It is warm, cosy and incredibly welcoming. My girlfriend and I were fortunate to be given a room with a beautiful view, overlooking Bowness village and Lake Windermere.
After reading reviews on here I was initially sceptical, well to be honest I was terrified that we would have booked a place which would ruin a romantic weekend.
The exact opposite was the case. The hotel made the weekend romantic. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a special weekend away in the most beautiful part of the country.
The location is ideal; literally 2 minutes walk into Bowness. There is a HUGE hill but what do you expect you are in the lakes...
The rooms were immaculately kept. They were not grand in stature but instead were warm and convivial, ideal for a couple to enjoy the surroundings. Large windows opened up to delightful views outside.
The service was brilliant; the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I particularly like the question "would you like a paper delivered to your room in the morning?" this is a feature of the best international hotels and it is nice to see such good traits in the lakes.
The hotel exterior is charming and pleasant on the eyes as can be seen in some pictures.
On the way back from a walk in Bowness, my girlfriend and i were greeted by the manager/owner of the building (we didn’t know at the time) who was exceptionally friendly and came across as having genuine passion for the hotel and the history of the Hydro, this is easy to understand when he tells you the story behind it!
He recommended a place to eat; we took his advice and had a fantastic lunch at Lakeland.
We had breakfast at the hotel and it was pleasant, the service was excellent and the buffet style was welcomed as I could pick and choose as I wanted. There was plenty of good food on offer.
Overall this hotel presents excellent value for money, just today I have recommended it to a friend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrloelisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Well... what can I say? From the outside of the hotel we were actually pleasantly surprised by the views and quiet luxurious location. On the inside however, I was disappointed by the disgusting appearance of the reception (bearing in mind it is the first part of the hotel you see upon entering). We were also unimpressed by the spiky haired English Barman who served us and noticeably pocketed the money we handed over to him. I shall be writing to the hotel manager about this in due course. The bedroom was to an unsatisfactory standard, although this was made up for by the inviting leisure facilities. The food was diabolical and i could envisage the type of food we feed our dogs whilst eating it. We will not be returning to the Hydro, purely as the alcohol prices and prices for the quality of the hotel bedrooms were extortionate in the first place, particularly as nothing was even put through the till when we purchased our drinks. We stayed in the bar for a reasonable time in order to ensure that the money was placed in the till-however, it was not. If you are after a nice quiet getaway, or a romantic getaway the hydro is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplythebest09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing