We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day stay review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2 day stay review”
Reviewed 1 October 2006

I stayed in the Hydro for 2 nights.
I choose it after a browse of google maps to find a hotel nicely located near the lake, with car parking.

I thought it was a fine hotel, what you'd expect from the external photos of it on the web. I paid a little extra for a lake room view.
The hotel is on a hill, about a 5 min walk from the lake.

The staff were friendly... the room was fine.
Not modern as such, it had a few items of wooden furniture like desks and drawers which were okay and functional.
Don't get me wrong, the room was spotlessly clean and in keeping with your impressions of it from the outside. The room had a small portable TV too. The ensuite bathroom was windowless, and a bit dark, but again clean and functional.

The food was fine, and the guests could help themselves to the full english breakfast in a sort of buffet area.
The 3 course dinner was fine too.

So, no real complaints.... the car park is quite hidden from view below the front of the hotel, but Windermere doesn't look like the place to worry about car crime.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank OMcGovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    262
    195
    120
    130
See reviews for
117
469
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

quite a nice hotel , breakfast was lovely , we looked at a few b and b's and hotels in the area and this was one of the better ones, bathroom a bit small but lovely views. lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby , we had a lovely meal at the village inn.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — very small bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

we stayed in this hotel for 1 night on 13th May 2006 and found it to be disappointing for the price we paid. Undoubtedly the hotel is in a wonderful location near the lake and also near plenty of good restaurants and shops. However the rooms were filthy and there was a huge amount of noise surrounding us.We were celebrating our anniversaryso I requested some anniversary ballons to be left in our room as a surprise for my girlfriend. I paid £10 for this and we got 1 half blown up anniversary balloon left in the room. I have to say for £10 I expected a lot more. The timing for breakfast is very narrow, only served between 8AM and 9.30AM and checkout is 10.30AM whichI have to say is the earliest I have ever had to check out of any hotel. Some of us like to lie in for a bit on a Sunday Morning!
Overall an expensive disappointment in a hotel that desperately needs to get its act together. Needless to say we will not be returningto this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

The Hydro has an antique patina with it's high-ceilinged hallways and crystal chandeliers. It must have been quite genteel and posh many moons ago. It still is perfectly adequate but don't expect a really first rate hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the beds provided good rest. The bath was nice though one had to wrestle the shower door to get it to open. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was enjoyable and served in the "nouvelle" style that all British hotels seem to have adopted, and the breakfast was generous and good tasting. The access on the computer in the common area was free to guests if you can wait for other guests to finish writing lengthy epistles to their grandchildren. All in all a nice place to sleep,but don't expect a first-class venue here.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank gardeneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing