We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed 26 January 2007

An extremely poor hotel. The website of the hotel is extremely misleading, in reality it was very poor inside. The rooms were tiny and grubby. The hot water was luke warm, and the heating barely worked. They did however bring us a heater. Small hard bed and generally a very tired and cheap feel to the whole place. It may have had grandeur once, but frankly a travelodge would provide a consdierably better room. The 5 course meal, whilst eficiently served, was the standard of an airline economy meal. The only pluses were the majority of staff were enthusiastic and friendly, bar the management who I found extremely discourteous when I complained about the standard of room. Had a 1950's mentality that I should be grateful that there was running water! Bowness is a lovely place and there are many better places to stay for the same money. We moved to a B&B at the bottom of the same road which was far better.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2006

Staff were very efficient and polite on arrival.

Our room was cold and a bit dated. The bed sheets were a little on the thin side for this time of year (NOV). Our bed was very hard and we both woke up with either aching backs or shoulders, which isn't exactly the makings of a romantic getaway. The water in the bathroom never really heated up, so we had tepid showers.

On the bright side. The room was spacious and very clean, the breakfasts were awesome and the views and location were just perfect!

It certainly has the potential to be one of the best hotels in Windermere, because of the location and views alone. I hope someone pumps some money into refurbishing the rooms properly and upgrading the water heating system, just to bring it into the 21st century.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Flewbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Hubby and I have just had a 2 night break at this hotel and found it marvellous. Location is perfect - only 3 minutes walk into Bowness with plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes and pubs. Shops are great, the Lake just another 2 minute walk - what more could you want! We booked this break at short notice and did not expect lake view rooms but we were given a lovely twin bedded room in an annexe part of the hotel and had a good view of Windermere and a side window with a view to the east. The room itself was wonderful - big enough to hold a dance in and beautifully furnished. The staff in the hotel were very courteous and helpful and the lounge, bar and ground floor rooms were again beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Cleanliness throughout the hotel couldn't be improved. The food served in the dining room was first rate. The buffet style breakfast was of an excellent quality and the 5 course evening meal (very varied menu) for £25 per head plus wine was superb value for money. The hotel is located on quite a steep (but short) hill. This couId present a minor problem to people with mobiity problems. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities and we were unable to dine on the Saturday evening due to two large funtions being held. Guests might be advised to check restaurant availability out on arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

I stayed in the Hydro for 2 nights.
I choose it after a browse of google maps to find a hotel nicely located near the lake, with car parking.

I thought it was a fine hotel, what you'd expect from the external photos of it on the web. I paid a little extra for a lake room view.
The hotel is on a hill, about a 5 min walk from the lake.

The staff were friendly... the room was fine.
Not modern as such, it had a few items of wooden furniture like desks and drawers which were okay and functional.
Don't get me wrong, the room was spotlessly clean and in keeping with your impressions of it from the outside. The room had a small portable TV too. The ensuite bathroom was windowless, and a bit dark, but again clean and functional.

The food was fine, and the guests could help themselves to the full english breakfast in a sort of buffet area.
The 3 course dinner was fine too.

So, no real complaints.... the car park is quite hidden from view below the front of the hotel, but Windermere doesn't look like the place to worry about car crime.

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank OMcGovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

quite a nice hotel , breakfast was lovely , we looked at a few b and b's and hotels in the area and this was one of the better ones, bathroom a bit small but lovely views. lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby , we had a lovely meal at the village inn.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2006

we stayed in this hotel for 1 night on 13th May 2006 and found it to be disappointing for the price we paid. Undoubtedly the hotel is in a wonderful location near the lake and also near plenty of good restaurants and shops. However the rooms were filthy and there was a huge amount of noise surrounding us.We were celebrating our anniversaryso I requested some anniversary ballons to be left in our room as a surprise for my girlfriend. I paid £10 for this and we got 1 half blown up anniversary balloon left in the room. I have to say for £10 I expected a lot more. The timing for breakfast is very narrow, only served between 8AM and 9.30AM and checkout is 10.30AM whichI have to say is the earliest I have ever had to check out of any hotel. Some of us like to lie in for a bit on a Sunday Morning!
Overall an expensive disappointment in a hotel that desperately needs to get its act together. Needless to say we will not be returningto this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

The Hydro has an antique patina with it's high-ceilinged hallways and crystal chandeliers. It must have been quite genteel and posh many moons ago. It still is perfectly adequate but don't expect a really first rate hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and the beds provided good rest. The bath was nice though one had to wrestle the shower door to get it to open. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was enjoyable and served in the "nouvelle" style that all British hotels seem to have adopted, and the breakfast was generous and good tasting. The access on the computer in the common area was free to guests if you can wait for other guests to finish writing lengthy epistles to their grandchildren. All in all a nice place to sleep,but don't expect a first-class venue here.

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank gardeneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing