We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The first reaction when viewing the outside of the hotel does give one the impression it could do with a facelift , but inside it can be seen the management are trying very hard to bring the interior up to a standard one would expect for a place of this nature. The bathroom having no natural light was a bit dismal as tiles were very dark coloured, but one couldn't fault it otherwise. Beds definitely require replacing but duvet and pillows were comfortable. Dinner was first class, everything cooked and presented to perfection with friendly and attentive staff. All told we spent a very pleasant two night stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

As I walked in I saw the wet rot hidden by a large plant pot, the smell of damp was every where, large patches on the walls ceilings. When I saw the huge crack in the decorative
cornice in the dining room I moved table.
The place was very busy, so money is coming in but not being reinvested. The staff are very good and helpful having only eaten breakfast this was good and plentyful.
Would I go back no to much choice instead of building pools etc they should set up a maintanace programme the place does not look good to the visitor.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We are a couple travelling with a toddler and decided to book this hotel for three nights (despite some bad reviews on trip advisor) which included dinner b&b and a bottle of wine with our meal on each night. We were blown away by the staff at this hotel from the moment we arrived until we left they couldn't have been nicer and really made you feel like you were staying at a real family run hotel and not a modern soulless hotel that seem to be the norm these days.
The hotel is old but well kept and extremely charming. It obviously has a good local name,as many of the local clubs and societies seemed to meet here in the meeting rooms on a nightly basis.
The room was fantastic we had a seating area and television where the baby slept so it was separate from the bedroom part which also had a television. We had a shared balcony overlooking lake windermere which was a lovely view to wake up to in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.
The five course evening meal had a brilliant selection of food and it was very tasty and cooked to our liking. Even when getting the free bottle of house white wine you had a choice of at least 3. Restaurant staff were excellent and the high chair was already set up for us at every sitting.
The pool and jacuzzi were lovely and, as it is a residents only pool, it is very quiet which was great for us getting our son used to the water.
Location was excellent and the reception staff had no shortage of suggestions on things to do in the lake district.
Over all i am delighted we stayed here and would definitely go back. Excellent value for money. And to think we nearly didn't stay in this hotel because of some of the previous reviews. Thank god we did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahstrikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

On the positive side - the bed was extremely comfortable.
Bathroom extremely small with toilet squashed between bath and wall with only inches either side. Remember to remove toilet roll from holder if you need to use it as the holder is behind you and impossible to reach.
Very old portable television in room very few channels.
Wardrobe had 4 plastic hangers
Breakfast is a joke - the first morning we had to wait for bacon - when that arrived there were no eggs. Eventually you have to settle for what is left.
Cereals were of poor quality & only tinned grapefruit & orange available.
Second morning - no eggs - had to wait for 20 minutes by which time the queue had formed yet again and when eggs finally arrived they were taken by first people in queue as there were only ten eggs. The kitchen staff appeared to be bringing out food in very small quantities.

Parking is also an issue if you return late at night and there are coach parties staying - as the coaches occupy such a lot of space.
I didn't notice anywhere on their website where they stated coach parties welcome or we wouldn't have stayed there as generally such parties are offered very cheap rates and other guests suffer!
For a cost of £120 per night B&B this hotel offers very poor service and we were extremely disappointed.
For a cost of £120 per night B&B this hotel is

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband and I booked the Hydro for one night, our enquiry was dealt with efficiently and quickly by Lauren, we booked a special offer which included breakfast and evening meal.
Rooms: - Our room, number 23 was lovely, it had its own balcony, seperate small seating area in the room, large well equipped bathroom and amazing views. Our check in was quick, we arrived early at 12.30 and although check in was at 2.30pm our room was ready early.
Facilities:- The hotel has a pool which we did not use but i'm sure it would keep the younger ones occupied. There was a games room which we did look in...and admittedly this has seen better days. I agree with some comments that the hotel is a little outdated.....however,...this is what gives the hotel its charm, too much change would destroy its character.
Service / Food: - We cannot praise this enough, firstly the staff we met were all extremley helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We booked in for our evening meal, this was fantastic!! The meal far surpassed our expectations..we could find nothing to fault. For our main course I chose lamb and my husband the beef, it was amazing. The restaurant manager and his staff were brilliant. At breakfast the following morning, althought the restaurant was busy, the restaurant manger remembered our table from the previous evening and seated us at the same table.
Overall, if your are looking for good staff, fantastic food, value for money and are prepared to over look that this is not a comtemporary hotel this hotel is a brilliant stay.
Well done Hydro, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

On a coach trip,we had 154 and friends had 155 stay away from these rooms whilst our room was better the bed cover was dirty and we put it out of the way,the bed linen was clean and the room was tidy,but on lifting a chair to move it the arms fell OFF.The room our friends stayed in had a wet patch on the floor which the staff tried to clean,but it was still wet 4 days later,they had only 1 chair that was completely useless some of the other rooms were better. For us the entertainment was bad others may have liked it.
On the plus side the food was good the sevice good staff good,public areas OK but dated.Perhaps the management put coach parties in the poorest rooms but they are the bread and butter for this type of hotel.By the way friends taking the matter further with photos of their nightmare

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boodera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Our room was nice with a comfy bed, plenty of pillows, tea & coffee, toiletries in the bathroom, however our friends room in the attic was rather bijou! Food was good with a variety of choice. Fab desserts and plentiful breakfast which we all enjoyed! The hill up to the hotel is rather steep so not suitable for walking back up from Bowness if you are elderly/unfit or wearing high heels! Staff were helpful and service was good. The bar was quiet but we made our own fun anyway! We didn't have time for a swim but the pool looked inviting. All in all a pleasant stay and a good base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £66 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing