We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakdene Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I confess the hosts are acquaintances through running and meeting them at running events. When they moved to the Lakes to open their B&B we were interested to see how Sarah's exacting standards would translate to their new venture. And so it is well-thought out and a lovely, handy place to stay. The bathrooms are perfect for anyone coming in from a long, wet, muddy ride or walk - big with tiled floors so you can strip off without making a mess of the carpets. Great shower or a beautifully deep bath to soak in. The beds in both rooms, for we have stayed in both now, are comfy and restful, and the rooms are big enough to lounge in comfortably if it's wet and you're waiting for a break in the weather. There is fresh milk available all the time for the tea and coffee - so much nicer than little cartons. There is free wifi for checking the Lake District weather forecasts. Car parking is off road and right outside the house. They can do bike storage as well. We took my mum for her birthday and Sarah had made us an amazing chocolate cake putting plates and napkins ready for us as well.

Chris and Sarah and friendly and welcoming but not intrusive. They have suggestions for Things To Do if you need them. In terms of location it is handy for the Southern Lakes, and the ferry across Windermere is a handy biking distance away meaning Claife Heights and Grizedale are pretty accessible without using the car. We've stopped several times and will be stopping there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainposture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I found it to be excellent, we don't often use B & B's but this was a very worthwhile experience. Clean, off road parking, spacious room, lovely view and 2 minutes from main shopping area.
Charming hosts couldn't do enough for us.
Would thoroughly recommend.
We will definitely be returning when next in the Lakes

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pal2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Me my wife and 4 year old boy stopped there for a long weekend and honestly cant say a bad thing about it Chris and Sarah were great, the location was spot on its a 2 minutes away from the lake and town centre. Will definatly be returning and would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliblake2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Recently furbished and very clean. Large room had a comfortable sofa for relaxing in front of the TV - though you don't usually spend much time in front of the TV in the Lake District. Nice touch was some home baked (not bought) cookies when we arrived. Hosts are very friendly, off road parking area, cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelJones119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

These apartments were charming and comfortable, a home away from home. Lovely all around and we would highly recommend. The owner was enjoyable and charming and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Highly recommended!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We are already planning a return visit. Lovely accommodation, lovely hosts and a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdene Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdene Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oakdene Beechwood Close, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oakdene Bed & Breakfast Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing