We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent 2 night stay”
Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent 2 night stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Blenheim Lodge whose proprietors couldn't do enough for us, either making us a brew on arrival ( with bourbon biscuits ! ) or offering to fix up a thermos for our walk to Hawkshead in wintry conditions. The room was comfy, clean and warm with a great shower ( just the ticket after our exertions ) with kettle, hair dryer and TV. There was plenty of choice for a tasty breakfast served in a lovely room, we'd recommend trying to get a seat near the window where you can watch the birds tuck in while you do, for those interested we saw green & goldfinches, chaffinches, dunnocks, robins, nuthatch, blue, great & coal tits, we could've watched them for hours. There was ample parking and being only 5-8mins away from the town centre, ideally situated. Would we recommend staying here ? Yes, definitely as we hope to return some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChubbyChud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    81
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
37
210
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On arrival at Blenheim Lodge, we received a warm & friendly welcome with a cuppa and biscuits served in the very pleasant front lounge. Our boots were whisked away to be put somewhere warm to dry and we were made very to feel very much at home. Breakfasts were perfect, the bacon up there with the tastiest I've had anywhere and the food can be customised in quantity and content to whatever you want - great flexibility and minimising waste. The inclusive spa club access is the perfect thing after a tough day on the mountains - a real bonus. We found the Blenheim Lodge very comfortable, well appointed and conveniently located for the town centre with it's wide choice of restaurants & shops. The best thing was the personal touch of Janz who couldn't do enough to help, look after us and make us feel valued. We'll remember our weekend there and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ne-n-Ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Your attention is taken completely by the views you are driving past, but thanks to the arrival time required by the hosts at Blenheim Lodge, they had very kindly called ahead of time to check all was OK and on time and gave directions to us as we were first time visitors.

On arrival we were greeted straight away and picked our breakfast for the morning (quite nice to have the options), with my partner having quite an appetite, they catered for the little extras required as it was his birthday!

Our room, Claiffe Highets, although small was beautiful, great views and comfortable. The shower was very small and cosy and a little weak in pressure but this added to character. The room supplied all we needed for our stay and was well decorated and clean!!

We were given any advise we were in need of; directions, recommendations, walking route's and we were checked in on to ensure we were happy - Janz and her partner are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

We highly recommend this Lodge, it is a lovely getaway for any occasion and perfectly situated to the town and walking distance to anywhere that is required.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the property I believe will have the best views on the Mere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaM2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Victoria
We are so pleased you had a nice stay with us. Our aim is indeed to offer a home from home to our guests, so describing us as ‘homely and welcoming’ is very apt.

We are really pleased that you both enjoyed your breakfast at our Lodge, and that your partner, whom you mention as ‘having quite an appetite’ came away replete from the breakfast table. One always needs all the energy one can get when going out to explore and discover the beautiful Lakes!

The Claife Heights room does have a small shower en-suite which we mention in our blurb about it on our website. However, all the usual amenities required in an en-suite are available within that small space, such as a sink, shelves, hooks, and toilet. And we are glad that you found everything clean!

Thanks for your thumbs up regarding our décor. We had engaged a Laura Ashley designer to help us decorate the whole house, and we think the designer did a great job with all the colours and bespoke soft furnishings. Our Victorian house is full of character, including quirky rooms, and we wanted to furnish and decorate the house in keeping with its age and period features.

The Dales Way Walk is of course right next to our guest house, and as you know, the entrance to the Walk is but a 1-minute stroll from Blenheim Lodge as our guest accommodation is the first one en-route for The Dales Way in Bowness on Windermere. Indeed, we have a bedroom called The Dalesway which overlooks the fell through which The Dales Way Walk meanders. The views from the 4 viewpoints just minutes’ walk from our Bed and Breakfast are absolutely stunning.

The back of our Bed and Breakfast borders acres of National Trust land, with a small hedge quite literally separating our backyard from Brantfell, the fell into which Blenheim Lodge nestles. Having a fell on our doorstep is so wonderful, particularly for guests who arrive after a long journey and who want to stretch their legs on arrival instead of driving elsewhere again in order to enjoy a walk! Of course the centre of Bowness and Lake Windermere are also only a 5-minute walk from our door!

We are really glad that your partner had a lovely birthday treat at our place and that you enjoyed those wonderful views from your room. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future to make more happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Blenheim Lodge for 2 nights in November 2013. The website photographs made the B and B look attractive and welcoming and worth the average of £120 per night. Unfortunately, in reality, the room was sparse, mediocre and felt quite cold and drafty when we arrived. Bearing in mind the cost, we were spared one packet of 2 biscuits and 4 tiny cartons of UHT milk with the tea and coffee making facilities to cover us for the 2 days. Whilst this is not the be all and end all of a B and B, it is the small things that count and make a difference.

My partner had breakfast on one of the 2 mornings but I chose not to. Again, although reading other travellers positive reviews on here, he said the breakfast was quite small (one rasher of bacon, one sausage etc) and very average. The limited window of breakfast being served from 08:30 to 09:15 did not seem very flexible to me.

We have stayed in several B and B’s around Bowness and I think this B and B is fine as an average £60 / £70 per night accommodation but was certainly very poor value for the money that we did pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Kathryn L,

Thank you for writing but I am afraid we cannot place your booking at all. Our double rooms range in price from £88-£138 per night for bed and breakfast based on any 2-night stay in November 2013, depending on the room that is booked. I wonder whether you have mistaken our B&B for someplace else?

One reason for doubting that you have stayed with us is that we do NOT have any rooms at the £120 price bracket you mention in your review, as the price closest to your £120 is £110 for a 4-poster with lake views, before the price goes up to £130 B&B for a room with a woodland view. Since we did not rent out the woodland view room to a couple in November 2013 which is when you said you stayed, then this could not possibly be the room you mentioned. AND, as we do not have any rooms at the £120 price range, we cannot think where you got the £120 price from.

FOR THE BENEFIT OF READERS, HOWEVER, PERHAPS WE CAN SHARE SOME INFORMATION ABOUT OUR ROOMS WITH YOU.

The first thing to note is that we service our bedrooms daily (unless guests request otherwise) as this is required of any AA 4-Star B&B establishment, which we are. When we service the rooms, we do a full service, including the replenishment of any tea/coffee amenities, towels (we only use luxury bath sheets and hand towels), toiletries, toilet rolls, etc. We also clean the rooms every time we service them. We do place a sealed pack of 3 biscuits (not a 2 biscuits a pack as you mention in your review) and 4 milk cartons in our double rooms. Any used items are replenished when we service the rooms. Fresh milk or more milk cartons, extra biscuits, tea bags, coffee, and sugar etc are available to our guests between room services. And if guests prefer us not to service their rooms, they are always more than welcome to request fresh towels, more items for their hospitality trays, etc. And we do have quite a number of guests who prefer for us not to service their rooms during short breaks with us.

We invite guests to ENTER the breakfast room ANY TIME between 8:30-9:15 am at weekends and take their breakfast at their leisure. Guests may linger over their breakfasts as long as they like. Some guests sit and chat with other guests also in the dining room, and quite often they may not leave the dining room until more than an hour later. WE DO NOT RUSH OUR GUESTS AT ALL.

Also, sometimes guests ask whether they can eat earlier, and sometimes they ask if they can eat later. We oblige as best we can. For example, we have a guest staying with us at present who wants breakfast at 8 am tomorrow, and we have no problems doing this at all.

Regarding breakfast, we only use quality local produce -- sausage and bacon, freshly made by our butcher. We check with our guests whether they require anything else at least twice at breakfast time and guests are also welcome to ask for more at anytime, as we like our guests to leave their breakfast tables replete! In fact, for this weekend just past, we packed bacon butties for a couple to take away with them because they wanted a lie-in. At other times, when guests want to go out early but do not want to bother with an early breakfast before going out, we offer them a packed breakfast of croissant and muffin to take away with them.

As a postscript, I would like to say that the photos of the rooms and the views from them on our website were all taken by guests who have stayed with us previously. We do not have any professional photos of the rooms and the views from them on our website, so what one sees is what one gets.

I am sorry that you seem to have mistaken our Bed and Breakfast for another establishment as the tariff you have quoted is not one that we have offered this November 2013, which is when you said you stayed. We have also gone through the bookings we took for November 2013, and WE HAVE NO RECORD OF YOUR BOOKING WITH US. Even with any discounts which we do offer through the year, none of our double rooms would ever be priced exactly at £120 for two people based on a 2-night B&B break. I hope this reply will clarify some issues for you and anyone reading your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We received a warm welcome from Janz, which set the tone for our 2 night stay. The hospitality of Janz and Robert was excellent as was the delicious breakfast. We had wonderful views from our room which was well laid out and very clean and comfortable. Janz was kind enough to give us meal ideas as we traveled back home through Singapore.Which we took full advantage of. Our thanks to them both.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi David
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You were such lovely guests and we are so pleased we had a chance to meet and host you. Thank you for giving a thumb’s up for our breakfasts. The sausage and bacon are handmade and hand cut from our local butcher; and the eggs and milk are all locally sourced and delivered to our door each morning.
We hope you had a nice break in Singapore too and enjoyed eating the delicious foods we discussed. (We Singaporeans do love our food!)
You are both very welcome to our home any time and we truly hope that we will have the privilege of hosting you both again. Thanks again for coming to stay with us at our Bed and Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited this B and B back in March/April 2013. We booked it at the last minute. The owners are so lovely and very welcoming. Upon arrival we were treated to tea and biscuits and a lovely chat. We had never visited the area and Janz gave us great tips about where to go etc. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous, a nice selection of options and cooked a breakfast. The room we stayed in was fairly small but it had the most beautiful four post bed and a wonderful view over the lake. We didn't need a huge room as we spent our time out exploring the area. Overall it was a brilliant start to our road trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi!
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are ever so pleased that you had a nice time here and we like to welcome our guests with tea/coffee and biscuits when they arrive so that they enjoy an opportunity to relax after making the trip to reach our guest house.
The four poster you slept in is indeed beautifully handcrafted and dates from the early 1800s. We then commissioned a third generation bedmakers to handcraft a bespoke mattress for the bed. As for the drapes around the 4-poster, I had great fun choosing raw silks to match the decor of the room and commissioning a seamstress to hand sew the silk curtains for the bed as well as the materials for the shaped canopy over it. It was terribly expensive, but worth it!
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfasts. Near the end of October, we will be changing to another local butcher who delivers 6 days a week, as our current butcher, with whom we have been doing business for 11 years, is retiring. We will buy hand cured and cut bacon from the new butcher as we did from our current one. The new butcher will also be supplying some really tasty handmade sausages to us. (We tried both their pure pork and their sage and mace pork sausages and are going to order the latter. The sausages are just scrumptious and smell really good as they cook too!)
We hope you will come back soon to stay with us and enjoy the new butcher's fare, which will, of course, be quality local produce. As usual, we will continue to order our dairy products and eggs from the local farm, which are delivered each morning fresh to our door in time for breakfast.
All our rooms have a view of either Lake Windermere and the fells, or of fields and woodlands. We are glad you enjoyed the Lake and mountain views from you room. We are looking forward to welcoming you both here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived to an exceedingly warm welcome, with helpful tips offered about the local area and a comforting cup of tea provided in the charming lounge. The room was very clean, beautifully presented and fully stocked as appropriate for a guest house. There were fabulous views and the four poster bed was incredible. Breakfast in the morning was served in a friendly and efficient manner, and requests for minor alterations to breakfast staples (eg, no tomato, extra egg) were graciously accepted and acted upon.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Property: Blenheim Lodge
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing