We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, will be coming back”
Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Spent a weekend at the lodge with my wife and had a great time despite the grey weather.

Location at top of the hill provides great views of windermere although walk up at night is hard work (only 5 mins max but steep). Bowness itself is fantastic - lots of good restaurants and pubs (Hole Int Wall is particularly good - live musico n Friday night is a must).

Full English breakfast to set you up was spot on - not too much and well cooked. Ample parking out front - very important as Bowness seems to have big parking problems in high season.

Very friendly hosts and all in all, good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thanks for a lovely write-up. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back to us.

Being at the top of a hill, the views would certainly have been stunning from your room, with its huge triple floor to ceiling bay windows looking over to the north of Lake Windermere and the hills beyond as far as the eye can see. Despite the uncertain weather, we are so pleased that you were still able to see and appreciate the wonderful views from your room, The Fairfield.

It is a 5-minute walk to our guest house from the centre of Bowness, but what a difference it makes to the feeling of getting away from it all! The quality of air and atmosphere at the top of the hill, devoid of the busy traffic and frenetic crowds, make it a tranquil place of escape! Walk on a minute more into the woods and fields behind our house, and enjoy the open views and natural surroundings - it is wonderful indeed to be in the countryside just 5 minutes' walk from the main road in town! With the amenities of town so close by, it is just the best of both worlds!

Our breakfast menu offers a variety of choices, including an English breakfast using fresh local Cumbrian produce, cooked to order for our guests. We are glad that you thought the portions were just right, as there is nothing worse than to waste good food, especially as we are all concerned about saving the environment. We only use quality handmade sausage and bacon, and grill them instead of frying them, so it is not fatty. We do appreciate it when people enjoy their breakfast and tell us so - so, thank you.

Glad that you found the parking useful too. It is difficult to park in Bowness and there are traffic wardens around, so it is best to park and walk if you can. We are glad that you were able to make use of the amenities we had to offer. Did you know that we also offer three FREE fishing permits on a first come first served basis? We can also help to arrange golfing and fishing tuition, and even hands on sailing with tuition and lunch on a luxury yacht! For that special occasion, or just to treat yourselves, we can also organise a 4-course dinner cruise package or sunset cruise with cheese and wine. Of course, there is always FREE country club membership as well for our guests to take advantage of, especially on a rainy day!

We do try hard to offer value for money, and this year we did not increase the price of some rooms. However, we do continue to use quality products, such as luxury Dorma linen, thick bathsheets and hand towels, handmade and freshly delivered local produce, etc. Rooms are decorated with Laura Ashley colours and excellent quality soft furnishings and high quality carpets have 80% wool content. We also love antique furniture, and put them in our rooms for guests to use and appreciate, including stunning Louis XV beds and four posters.

It's really nice when we have people returning to us, and we really enjoy welcoming people back to stay. During the weekend you were here, we had a guest, who was with us the third time, twice just this year with a relative. It is lovely to meet people again and to see how they are getting on, and also to enjoy a little chat!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Blenheim Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Blenheim Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

blenheim lodge is a beautifully located place , the view of the lake is stunning, there is a lovely walk uphill from here , besides ofcourse the close proximity to the city centre. it is very quiet and peaceful all the time.
janz and robert make excellent hosts ,they serve breakfast in style . the place is very clean , it sparkles. it is done up beautifully and worth spending time here
preeti

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preetic54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2009

Thank you Preeti, for your kind review. After speaking with you and your husband on the phone transcontinentally, it was really lovely to meet you both at last! We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us. The room you had, The Attic, is probably one of the highest points on Brantfell Road, so the Lake and mountain views would indeed have been stunning! Due to our hilltop location, Blenheim Lodge is indeed quiet and peaceful, being located off the main road away from the noise of crowds and traffic, but just a short 2-5 minute walk into the town centre, where all the amenities are. The woodlands, fields and walks behind the house make those of us who work here feel special, because we are so blessed to be so close to tranquil countryside, but yet so near to all the shops, restaurants and other businesses that we might require.

We are glad that you found our place beautifully done up. We had a Laura Ashley designer in to help us with ideas for decorating the house, so that it would be in line with the age and style of this 1868 Lakeland stone former gentleman's residence. Each room has been painted in Laura Ashley colours, with matching high wool content carpet and quality underlay. Our policy is to have a lovely place that people would feel comfortable in and would want to come back to again.

We do hope that you and Brig will be able to come over to the Lake District again one day, and that we may have the pleasure of having you both with us then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The views from this hotel are spectacular. This must be what you pay for as the rest of the hotel was average. For the money we expected a little more attention to detail. Some examples are hairdryer in room, rack in shower to put shampoo etc. on, towel rails in the bathroom (although the bathroom was so small there wasn’t space), biscuits with the tea making facilities, a reasonable amount of milk with tea making facilities, I could go on. Our stay at Blenheim Lodge was fine, it just wasn’t anything special which we expected as we were paying more than we usually do for a B&B in the Lakes. We were also not given much information when we arrived. For example, we didn’t know where to go for breakfast, what to do if we wanted to use the leisure facilities described on the website – it seems that the owners would prefer us not to use these as they don’t ever mention them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cewYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2009

We are so glad that these guests enjoyed the views from her room. It is a wonderful room, where, from huge triple floor to ceiling bay windows, and another single bay window, guests may enjoy one of the best views to be had of Lake Windermere and the mountains beyond. Despite what these guests may think, attention to detail is important to us; and we have actually put much thought into furnishing this room, which is called The Langdale. For instance, there is a magnificent King George IV four-poster bed with a 5' kingsize luxury pocket-sprung mattress, which is really comfortable. Yards of raw silks were handpicked for a seamstress to make up the handmade silk drapes for the bed, which shimmer delicately in the light. Silk and wool cushions sit on the bed and make it look inviting. Crisp 100% cotton sheets are used, and beautiful quality bedding by Dorma grace the bed. Towels are thick and luxurious bath sheets and hand towels, which are checked and changed as required when we go to clean and make the rooms up on a daily basis. (Of course, guests may also opt for us not to go in to clean their rooms when they are staying on.)

For more instances of attention to detail in the way in which we furnish our rooms, within this bedroom, which was probably originally used as a drawing room in the old days, are some lovely pieces of antique furniture which match the style of the bed and room. We love old furniture with all its character, especially as the furniture would also compliment the age of the house. There is a lovely set of serpentine drawers, wardrobe, carver chairs with turned legs, and bedside tables, as well as a little (more modern) coffee table. (All our drawers and shelves are lined.) There are rugs on the floor, which match the curtain and blind colours, which we had made to measure by Laura Ashley. In the room, there is a flat screen TV sitting on a serpentine leg side table, with an A4 size information book about things to see and do in the Lake District. Tea and coffee making facilities are also in the room, and there are always biscuits and milk set out for guests to use, which are replenished each day.

Hairdryers, iron and ironing board are available for guests to use: they only need to ask. Meanwhile, in the entrance hall, there are leaflets and further information about things to see and do in this area, plus another A4 size information book in the lounge, which guests are welcome to use at any time. It is a pity that we were not given the opportunity to offer these guests a more 'active' stay, as we did not received any requests from them for country club passes or other activities we could have helped to organise. Although we are not experts, we would have liked to have helped them as much as possible had they asked for our help, by giving them as much information as we could have done if the written information available in the bedroom and lounge, and leaflets in the entrance hall had not been adequate for them to take advantage of all that this area of Lakeland has to offer.

The reviewer has mentioned one of the facilities we offer at Blenheim Lodge i.e. free membership of a nearby country club. Guests are told about this facility when they email or phone, and also on our website and advertising. However, not everyone wants to use this facility as there is already so much to see and do in this area and most people do not have the time to take advantage of this offer. Guests who want to use this facility would ask us how to access the club, when we would issue a pass to them. It is a pity that this couple did not ask for a pass if they had wanted to use the facility as we would have gladly given them one. We pay yearly membership to the club so that our guests can have free membership of it. At the club are facilities such as a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room, racquet sports, table tennis, lounge bar with pool and snooker tables, gym, solarium and massage and beauty treatments available. Some of the facilities can be accessed free of charge but some attract a nominal cost charged by the club.

With respect to the shower en-suite in The Langdale room, we did describe the shower as being a small shower en-suite when replying to the guest's initial query and again prior to booking the room. To explain, Blenheim Lodge is an old Lakeland stone house built in 1868. As such, we have to work with the layout of the house and the reviewer was told prior to booking that the shower en-suite is small. However, there is everything that one should need in the en-suite: matching quality Bristan towel rail; towel hooks, three-tier shelves, toilet roll holder, toilet, sink and taps, and a regular sized shower cubicle with a strong shower. Toiletries and a full-sized bar of soap are provided. A new bath mat was hung on the towel rail for the guests to use prior to their arrival. On the next day, another clean bath mat was hung on the towel rail as the previous one had been soiled and placed on the floor. We are bewildered regarding this guest's comment about the lack of towel rail as it was and is definitely in the shower room, and we have never had any complaints regarding the lack of a towel rail in this shower room.

In reply to the guest's comment our 'hotel', could we state please that Blenheim Lodge is not a hotel, but a guest house, so we have tried to make it as homely as possible for our guests, both in the sense of its atmosphere and physically. We tell everyone when they arrive where the dining room is, but we do not have a sign that says 'Dining Room', as a sign would make this home seem more like a hotel or larger establishment. There are only two possible doors that could lead to the dining room, as all other doors have room numbers, except for the lounge, which has a glass door. The dining room opens at 8:30 am, which guests know is the time that breakfast starts as this information is given on the breakfast sheet and also explained to guests when they arrive; so someone coming for breakfast should have no reason not to find the dining room, as the door would be wide open then. I am glad to say, however, that this reviewer did find our dining room to partake of breakfast, which we hope they enjoyed as we only use quality handmade local produce in our traditional breakfasts - another instance of our attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

A clean, tidy and beautifully presented friendly B & B. Janz is a star and made us so welcome. She also recommended Sail n Dine which was a perfect evening in every way and well worth doing. We stayed in the Langdale Suite which had stunning views across the lake and a beautiful period decor. Definitely worth every penny and would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baileys_QueenEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2009

Thank you for such a wonderful vote of confidence! We really enjoyed having you both with us and were looking forward to welcoming you both on your anniversary treat! I am so glad that you enjoyed the dinner cruise, as we like to try to help our guests get the most out of their stay. This dinner cruise is one way of making a special stay just that little bit different, but we can also arrange dinners in Michelin star restaurants close by, or a couple of buffet cruises with hands on sailing thrown in for those guests with three days or more to stay with us midweek. We are even able to offer tailor made vouchers for people to give to their loved ones for a break away. We do look forward to welcoming you both again to what we hope will become your 'home from home' in the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

lovely place to stay made to feel very welcome and the place was very clean and comfortable, would recommend this place to everyone.
Very close to the town, 3 minutes walk into Bowness, and lots to do around the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This is an excellent place to stay when visiting the lake district.
I took my father to celebrate his 83rd birthday and suffice to say he loved every moment.
Robert and Janz could not have done more to make us welcome.
The location of the lodge is within walking distance of the town, with great views across the lake itself.
A great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stebbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Very nice B&B hotel on the top of a hill with a beautiful view on the lake.
5min walk way from the city center, therefore no street noise to sleep well :)
Typical british breakfast which can be adapted to ones taste.
Robert and Janz are very nice and charming owners.
A very good choice to stay

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surpise, manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2009

Thank you so much for choosing our guest house to visit with us during the busy bank holiday weekend. We enjoyed meeting you, and are so glad that you enjoyed the views from your room, which are panoramic and absolutely stunning! Our guest house is like a little hidden gem: it feels far away from all the hustle and bustle, but is only 5 minutes' walk, as you say, to the heart of the village. Coming back to Blenheim Lodge after a busy day's enjoyment is like walking back into an oasis of calm, to rest and sleep well, with no noise from the traffic and crowds.

We are looking forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#31 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#26 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#10 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#9 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £87 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing