We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have been visiting this amazing pub for over 20 years now, not as often as we would like but every time we do memories of amazing times come flooding back. If you know this place you will know what I mean. Warm and friendly after a wet windy walk or just warm and friendly after a stroll from your B&B! The landlady Susie is in her thirtieth year as barmaid and then landlady. She has an amazing knack of hiring great staff who help her create a very welcoming hostelry. The XB bitter is our favourite but the range of drinks is far wider than that. Good pub food, big portions so be warned, at a good price. Call in and stay for a while, you will see what I mean!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    288
    70
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely small, relaxing pub”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one drink as it was getting close to last orders but loved the feel inside the place.

Lovely and warm inside with a great cslmjng atmosphere and good selection of ales and other drinks.

Barman was also very polite and well dressed.

Great little local feel, can see why its said to be the best in Bowness.

Helpful?
Thank Jak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lovely old pub and a nice curry”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited in early April and really enjoyed Hole int'wall / New Inn.- Nice range of real ales and an authentic olde worlde pub with the low beamed ceilings, log fire and an enormous collection of bits and pieces hanging from ceiling - refreshingly genuine and not out of the "Courage Country Pub Kit 1A" if you know what I mean. We opted for the curry a couple of times - good value, really tasty and came with some nan and pickle. So - good bear and food, but to add to that was attention to detail, - tables cleared and cleaned quickly once they had been vacated, and everything really clean - no mean feat given the extensive collection of bits and pieces. We asked the landlady about it and they take wash / clean the whole lot on a rotation - must be like painting the forth bridge. Its easy to get to but tucked away behind the church near the lakeside - well worth a visit, and especially so if you are not from UK and want to experience a nice old pub ( about 400 years old ? )

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristolphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrific old pub for lunch brimming with character”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wandering around Bowness we found this and popped in for lunch and a pint. Great pub food and lots of old-building quirks and charms. Many locals and/or tourists were enjoying early spring sunshine at the outside tables. Glad we found this place! And the Dickens connection is fun too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

just had a drink (or two) here and it was very nice, lovely atmosphere and lots to take in.
Nice fires

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing