We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find”
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Lasswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A find”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a great little pub tucked away in a back street but with easy access to everywhere in Bowness.

The food was very good and the drink offerings and deals also first class.

Staff very welcoming and efficient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    295
    72
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited this pub as it was recommended by my brother, who is a big fan and loves the beer they sell.
It has a great atmosphere and has a rustic old feel to it. Got all your old farming utensils along with taxidermy animals on the walls and beer mugs hanging from the ceiling. Good selection of drink as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great oldy worldy pub”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went here after reading reviews on tripadvisor, thought we'd give it a go, Nice old pub packed with old things and stuffed animals, small bar area, great little pub

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have been visiting this amazing pub for over 20 years now, not as often as we would like but every time we do memories of amazing times come flooding back. If you know this place you will know what I mean. Warm and friendly after a wet windy walk or just warm and friendly after a stroll from your B&B! The landlady Susie is in her thirtieth year as barmaid and then landlady. She has an amazing knack of hiring great staff who help her create a very welcoming hostelry. The XB bitter is our favourite but the range of drinks is far wider than that. Good pub food, big portions so be warned, at a good price. Call in and stay for a while, you will see what I mean!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely small, relaxing pub”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one drink as it was getting close to last orders but loved the feel inside the place.

Lovely and warm inside with a great cslmjng atmosphere and good selection of ales and other drinks.

Barman was also very polite and well dressed.

Great little local feel, can see why its said to be the best in Bowness.

Helpful?
Thank Jak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing