We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
The Lake District
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Yesterday myself and four other family members enjoyed champagne afternoon tea overlooking the lake in one of Storrs Halls beautiful lounges. The food was outstanding. Lovely finger sandwiches, canapés and decadent luxurious desserts. The afternoon was made extra special by the stunning setting and roaring open fire. The service was extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Champagne afternoon tea with us here at Storrs Hall. The team take great heart in receiving all guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    120
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
106
368
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Storrs hall is a charming old stately home. Full of antiques it's a bit tired in decor but has old world charm and we really enjoyed our walk in the grounds overlooking lake Windermere
One thing noted - there is no proviso ion for disabled guests as no lifts to upper levels
Service was friendly and attentive and rooms we're comfortable and well appointed clean and with lovely views. Our sleep was disturbed however by a barking dog in the room next door
We ate both nights in the restaurant which was slightly chilly. Portions of food were small and quality was variable and we felt you could get better value and quality elsewhere


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgina_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the charm of Storrs Hall and our 17 acres of grounds set on the shores of Lake Windermere. I was sorry to hear that you experienced some disturbance, for which I apologise, on behalf of the dogs owners. Your feedback has been noted regarding other points and raised with the team for review.

We have many plans ahead to refurbish and restore Storrs Hall, we hope that you might return in the future, where you will be able to witness these alterations.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Storrs Hall for 2 nights. We had stayed before some years ago when it was under a different management. This small mansion has one of the best settings for a hotel in the entire Lake District. It is beautiful, with grounds to wander around in and enjoy the views over Lake Windermere. We had a 3 course evening meal on our first night. It was good: £37.50 for 3 courses plus an amuse bouche and a pre dessert.
The breakfast menu was excellent with a wide and imaginative choice. I would have given it an excellent rating but it was let down by a number of things which could easily be rectified with better management of staff. The service was exceptionally slow. It didn't matter for the evening meal as we weren't rushing off anywhere but for breakfast the excellent menu was totally spoilt by the food arriving cold. I can only think it had been awaiting collection in the kitchen for far too long. The head waiter- Frederick- is a great asset to this hotel. He has a wonderful friendly manner with guests and perhaps makes them less cross than they would normally be with poor service! There seemed to be plenty of staff on so I couldn't work out where the problem was. (The table next to us complained about the wait so please don't think I just like to moan!) Also, if a guest books an evening meal, it should be automatic for the member of staff to ask if there are any dietary requirements. Good establishments do and it saves any mishaps for the chef and the guest.
Housekeeping: towels on the floor need replacing not hung back up and toiletries too are needed to be replaced. These aren't major problems to resolve and at the moment they do let the hotel down.
Carpets do need replacing but I'm sure the new management will do that. I know I've put some negative comments; they are honest ones but I would still recommend this hotel as a place to stay. It has a wonderful setting, meals can be enjoyed in the verandah which has views overlooking the lake, the staff are pleasant and it hasn't gone down the "minimalist" line as some older hotels in the Lakes have done. The room we had was a standard one but it was fine (£120 per night inc. breakfast). The better rooms are at the back of the hotel as they have a view of the Lake. Yes, as one reviewer said, there is carpet in the bathroom but our bathroom was modern and clean. Ok, there was a small crack in the sink, but it didn't matter.
It was only let down by the points I mentioned. We still had a good time there. It's just a short distance from Bowness but it has a really peaceful atmosphere. There's a real fire burning in reception and the drawing room is the kind of place you can just "flop" in. Very good place for relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of Windermere but are obviously more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks for taking then time to share your Storrs Hall experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is always so gratifying to learn of our guests' enjoyment of their time and the team will take great heart from your positive feedback. Your comments have been noted and the shortfalls have been raised to avoid such happenings in the future.
There have indeed been many changes in recent months at the hotel, although the ownership is not one of them and remains the same for fifteen years. The management support company is the new addition and we are working hard with our the full support of our owners to improve and upgrade the service and overall product at Storrs in readiness for Spring 2014.

We hope that you might return again in the future where you will be sure to witness our many alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Ignore the negative comments regarding this hotel. I spent 2 nights there last week, had a very warm welcome and a free room upgrade. The room was very nicely furnished in traditional materials and was spotless. Very comfy bed. Lovely breakfast with a good choice and dinner was excellent too.
Very friendly attentive staff, especially Kveta, the Czech receptionist!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theporsche911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Many thanks for taking then time to share your Storrs Hall experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is always so gratifying to learn of our guests' enjoyment of their time with us and the team will take great heart from your positive feedback. Your comments have been noted and the shortfalls have been raised for review to avoid such happenings in the future.
There have indeed been many changes in recent months at the hotel, although the ownership is not one of them and remains the same for fifteen years. The management support company is the new addition and we are working hard with our the full support of our owners to improve and upgrade the service and overall product at Storrs in readiness for Spring 2014.

We hope that you might return again in the future where you will be sure to witness our many alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a tasty afternoon tea at Storrs Hall with my girlfriend as a late Christmas treat from the family. Three-tier platter had sandwiches, cakes and vol au vents and was just enough. Great view over the lake as we ate too. Service very good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattparratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and photos here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea visit to Storrs Hall and hope that we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Arrived 7 October and stayed for 3 nights. Booked through secret escapes as a special treat for 40th birthday. Building and Location very nice but oh dear what a pitty it is set in a time warp inside. Very dated tatty and dirty in places. How often do you see carpets in a bathroom! Restaurant staff really don't know what they are doing, the exception being the kenyan restaurant manager - he was fantastic with customer service exceptional. Breakfasts not brilliant - cold half cooked crumpets and cereals on display all several months past their best before date. Brought this to the attention of the restaurant staff, cereals removed only for exact same ones to be returned 5 minutes later. Ended up going to the apple pie in ambleside for breaky instead - much better food and service. Told staff on leaving that it had been a disappointing stay. They weren't really bothered and said it was closing in Jan for 1 week for a bit of refurbishment. It needs to close for several months to bring it up to a so called 4 star standard. Dont be fooled by the photos only go if you want to stay in a faulty towers type establishment.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the first place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsvv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment here on Trip Advisor.

It is with regret and some concern that I read your comments and am saddened that we did not deliver to you a more memorable experience.

Not withstanding the points you raise, clearly we have fallen short of our own standards in this circumstance and a full investigation has been conducted.
I should like to confirm for your information that the date on the cereals was a 'packing date' and not a 'use before' date. I should also like to confirm that the information given regarding refurbishment is correct and the plans in place for the hotel are indeed significant.

Perhaps you might return in due course to witness our improvements as Storrs Hall moves into a new era to and where we will be able to restore your faith in the services which we provide.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this Storrs Hall hotel through Secret Escapes for 2-nights. Reception and check-in was very efficient and the room (number 35) was everything we expected. However, word of warning, there are no lifts and lots of stairs (approx 40 to top floor) - can be heavy going with suitcase. However the staff were more than willing to assist.
We booked dinner for 8pm and went to the bar for 7.45pm by 8.10pm we had finished our pre-dinner, drinks read the menu and made our selection - no one came for our order (people that entered the bar after us had their orders taken before us!!). We went to the dining room where we told we should wait in the bar we explained what had happened and we were shown to a table (no apology or comment was given by the manager) - over 10-minutes later our order was taken and 20-minutes later (at 8.40pm) our first course arrived - sorry not good enough - this incident soured what was a very good meal and evening. Needless to say we went elsewhere the following night.
Breakfast was like chalk and cheese - we were greeted by restaurant staff and shown to our table - from then on the staff were very efficient and we left with a totally different impression of the restaurants capabilities (but not enough to go back in the evening).
Every other area of the hotel has efficient and competent staff - they are being let down by poor evening restaurant staff who are in my opinion inefficient. Unfortunately this has to be reflected in the service rating which should have been 5.

Room Tip: Must ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment here on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read your comments regarding our teams delivery of service at most times during your stay, however it seems we have fallen short of our own expectations during your dinner experience for which I apologise and investigation has been conducted to ensure this occurrence can be avoided in the future.

We hope that you might return in the future where we can reassure you of our normal high standards of delivery in service.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing