We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent 2 evenings here over New Year in a Junior Suite-Room 5. Everything was superb, especially the staff who were so welcoming, courteous and did everything to make our stay so enjoyable. The food was wonderful. We highly recommend Storrs Hall for location, comfort and a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and New Years Eve celebrations with us.

We hope that you will return again to Storrs Hall during a future trip from Australia.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    120
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
105
367
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Travelling from Australia, we stayed for two nights in the middle of December this year. We were absolutely delighted with both the surroundings and the great staff. We dined in the bar both nights, as their menu was more to our taste than the restaurant, and the food was lovely,very nicely cooked and very reasonable. Very interesting history to the hotel, and we enjoyed the open fires and enormous xmas trees. The maître d' was just amazing( I think he was from Cardiff),with attention to detail and made our stay feel special. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and made for an overall great atmosphere. The hotel is on the shore of lake Windermere which makes for some lovely walks, but you are also close to the attractions in town. Highly recommended! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our all day dining menu to your liking, as you note, purposefully designed to offer an alternative for residents and non residents alike wishing a more casual dining option.

We hope that we can welcome you back again to Storrs Hall on a return trip to the UK.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arranged two nights dinner, bed & breakfast with three other couples in November. All rooms were most comforable - great beds & bedding; ensuite facilities were excellent. The hotel has a few little maintenance matters to deals with but this did not detract in any way from the pleasure of staying at tis hotel. The accolades for the restaurant are well deserved and the service top notch provided by unbtrusive but attentive, well-trained staff.
The location is perfect for walking with some of the best lakeside views we've encountered in the Lake District. Would be ideal for any type of "get away from it all" stay for small groups or couples. We'll be going there again - as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: All rooms have lakeside views so any room allocated will be super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you recent stay with us and note your comments on your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to Storrs Hall where you will be able to witness phase one of our refurbishment project!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a 2 day/night break in Windermere Hotel was perfect in always , exactly what we needed for a peacefull break
The reception fro the staff was very good and were expecting our arrival, all information regarding the hotel was clear and precise,
Room was perfect and clean,
We had a resturant meal on one night and Room service on the 2nd night both were very good and enjoyable
Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice, The porridge was best ever !!!
A Large thank you to Sarah and all the Team for making our stay perfect, Looking forward to returning in the new year and using our prize from the Xmas Cracker draw

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your short break along with your dining experiences during the stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the new year and hope that you enjoy your 'Qwistmas Qwacker' treat!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Elegant old-world charm. Beautifully furnished. Great location. Excellent food - unusual menu based on flavours rather than food description - lovely amuse bouches. Attentive staff. A welcome lack of dining room musak! A very relaxing environment. Nice walks in the hotel grounds. All in all to be highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Armitage6785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us and look forward to welcoming you back again to Storrs Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Prime, possibly the best, location on Windermere with south facing grounds sweeping down to the lake edge. Lovely C18th building with many original features in the comfortable and country house style public rooms. Relaxed ambiance, with welcoming and attentive staff. We arrived late for our three night stay and they happily produced tasty bar meals for us. We also ate in the (full!) restaurant on the Saturday night thoroughly enjoying the elegant food, which while a three course menu, also included two mini courses (amuses bouche). The portion sizes well judged so could enjoy all the subtle flavours and have room for the desserts. The menu offered interesting and surprising flavour combinations, beautifully presented which worked superbly. Also appreciated the chef is aware of the requirements of vegetarians, rather than being an afterthought token gesture. Yes, as others have commented, some of the décor in the bedrooms is a little faded - our bay windows being somewhat tatty, but the view over the grounds and lake more than made up for it. We note from the Manager's comments to other reviews they are planning refurbishment in 2014, which in our book would definitely make their review 5 star. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I take great heart in reading your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed our idyllic location and your overall experience within the hotel.
It is indeed very exciting times for Storrs Hall ahead with our planned refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back in due course.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berks UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

It has all been said, location great, tired hotel, good staff, breakfast was very good....very tasty bacon! Just one additional comment not made, we stayed for 4 nights and ate out every night... The dining room was as quiet as a morgue and seemed like only a set menu which was too much for me. Only discovered later that bar snacks available but even then something in between would be better...these days most people only eat 3 courses for celebration, even in holiday and a decent main in enough.
By the way the restaurant manager is very good, makes you very welcome.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DougReading_BerksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

As you mention, our refurbishment plans are afoot.
I was sorry to hear that you felt the need to dine out every evening. We are indeed very flexible with our food offering and if there was something specific that you would have liked, then our chefs would have happily created this for you, with notice.
Our main dining room is often very busy, but notably we are in the few weeks prior to Christmas and that bit quieter during the midweek. We do offer all day dining which is also reflected in our room service offering and allows an alternative to the formal option we choose to serve in our restaurant. It is a shame that you were not aware of this until perhaps too late.

Perhaps you might return in the future and witness our alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing