We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm Character & Tantalise your tast taste buds”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charm Character & Tantalise your tast taste buds”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Wife & I have just started to celebrate our 5Oth birthday year with a visit to this hotel,and we wasnt dissapointed. Allthough there is some refurbishment going on there was no real issue with it, and will return later in the year to see the changes. As soon as you enter this hotel its like going back in time as most hotels these days are ultra modern, but this place as bags of history which can be found on the walls all around the place we spent ages looking round at most of the artwork and found it very intresting. Check in was very efficient and quick. Our room was up to flights of stairs there are no lifts this was not a problem for us and Hamish on receptionwas willing to carry them for us. Our room a lake view,was very spacey clean and a big bathroom,nice view just the job. Now the food im a steak and chips man like my food but was the first time id really ate food of these quality and presentation, we were blown away with the experience and absolutely loved the taste and texture of what we ate lovelly excellent food in my opion. The staff are a big plus also, with everyone we came across were very pleasent,professional and only to willing to go the extra mile,especialy Fred (Otenio) Jambo asante rafiki yangu nzuri.he a lovely fella cant do enough for you. No complaints at all very enjoyable weekend other than the weather but cant have everything. well worth a visit glad we went. Oh and thanks for the two glasses of champers for our birthday nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear of your enjoyment during your recent celebratory stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year where you will indeed see our alterations which are now well under away!

Enjoy your continued 50th year of celebrations and we will see you very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    135
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
123
397
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel in a superb location. Rooms are beautifully appointed and very well equipped with all amenities (TV, coffee machine etc.). Staff are very polite and attentive. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the coffee was particularly good! (apparently they use 'Cafe du Monde' ). Would love to stay again; highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DamianTersigni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for posting your comments here on Trip Advisor.

Your kind words have been delightfully received- thank you, and the team always take great heart in hearing from our guests about their experiences with us here at Storrs Hall.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic sums it up.
We were here over new year in a junior suite and the staff, the food, the building, the grounds, were all superb. I have stayed in many great places over the years but this is among the very very best. Thanks to all at Storrs Hall for making it great. I will 100% be back very soon.

One small request the bath could do with a grab handle to assist the less mobile folk like me to shower. NOT an issue just a suggestion.

Cheers and all the best John H

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 38quitelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall again very soon and have made note of your helpful suggestion!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Since our wedding reception was held at Storrs in 2011, we have stayed at Storrs on a number of occasions and have always been impressed.

This visit was no different. There is just something about Storrs that has captured my wife & I.

Shabby Chic, this hotel has a real elegance to it which we both absolutely adore. We received an upgrade to a suite with fantastic views of Lake Windermere. which was a wonderful surprise especially as it was our anniversary.

The staff are courteous, and attentive especially Fred who is an absolutely charming fellow, who goes out of his way to cater for your every need.

The restaurant at Storrs has definitely upped its game since the change in ownership as we dined there on Friday evening. We were treated to a fabulous 5 course meal that easily surpassed our visit to Michelin starred Holbeck Ghyll the followed evening.

Breakfast was excellent. Offering real variety with no silly surcharges for the delicious 'Eggs Benedict' I ordered.

A favourite in our circle of friends. It won't be long before we are back for more.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pnefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
With many thanks for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return anniversary trip to Storrs Hall and note your wonderful remarks regarding the bedroom upgrade, my dedicated team, our elegant hotel and our new reviewed dinner offering.
Many more alterations planned afoot and we hope that you will return again very soon and witness them at first hand!

Kind Regards
Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent 2 evenings here over New Year in a Junior Suite-Room 5. Everything was superb, especially the staff who were so welcoming, courteous and did everything to make our stay so enjoyable. The food was wonderful. We highly recommend Storrs Hall for location, comfort and a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and New Years Eve celebrations with us.

We hope that you will return again to Storrs Hall during a future trip from Australia.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Travelling from Australia, we stayed for two nights in the middle of December this year. We were absolutely delighted with both the surroundings and the great staff. We dined in the bar both nights, as their menu was more to our taste than the restaurant, and the food was lovely,very nicely cooked and very reasonable. Very interesting history to the hotel, and we enjoyed the open fires and enormous xmas trees. The maître d' was just amazing( I think he was from Cardiff),with attention to detail and made our stay feel special. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and made for an overall great atmosphere. The hotel is on the shore of lake Windermere which makes for some lovely walks, but you are also close to the attractions in town. Highly recommended! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our all day dining menu to your liking, as you note, purposefully designed to offer an alternative for residents and non residents alike wishing a more casual dining option.

We hope that we can welcome you back again to Storrs Hall on a return trip to the UK.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arranged two nights dinner, bed & breakfast with three other couples in November. All rooms were most comforable - great beds & bedding; ensuite facilities were excellent. The hotel has a few little maintenance matters to deals with but this did not detract in any way from the pleasure of staying at tis hotel. The accolades for the restaurant are well deserved and the service top notch provided by unbtrusive but attentive, well-trained staff.
The location is perfect for walking with some of the best lakeside views we've encountered in the Lake District. Would be ideal for any type of "get away from it all" stay for small groups or couples. We'll be going there again - as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: All rooms have lakeside views so any room allocated will be super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you recent stay with us and note your comments on your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to Storrs Hall where you will be able to witness phase one of our refurbishment project!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing