We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a perfect stay”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost a perfect stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stores Hall is perfect for a relaxing break in the lakes. Windermere laps onto the hotel grounds and bowness us just a few minutes away.

The rooms are set in a traditional hall and are of a good size. Renovations have been underway and the finish us good. Real fires downstairs, a charming bar and a high class restaurant.

2 things stopped thus being perfect. No music in the restaurant and bars mean atmosphere was a little difficult. There was also a lengthy wait between courses at dinner. Although offset by the high standard if the food, it did threaten to take the shine off.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Your comments have been noted and will be discussed, aside from this, we are pleased to hear that you will return.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    133
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
118
395
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My then boyfriend, now fiance, booked a surprise weekend stay at Storrs Hall in early December. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the stunning lounge overlooking Lake Windermere and after a short walk around the gardens and lake side I was proposed to in Storrs Temple at the end of the jetty on the Lake!

The staff had been involved having lit candles on the jetty and delivered champagne after they saw I'd said yes! The whole weekend was just perfect, beautiful location, gardens and views over the Lake, very grand bedroom and a delicious gourment dinner and breakfast too. Huge thanks to all the staff. Storrs Hall will remain a very special place to us both, we would defininetly recommend it for a romantic weekend break, and look forward to returning on many anniversaries to come! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
What a lovely message to read following a further weekend full of romance here at Storrs Hall.

We were delighted to be part of such a special moment in your lives and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I had afternoon tea at Storrs Hall with a group of friends to celebrate one of our groups birthday. What a stunning place, with each room having portraits and little touches to make them individual but not out of design step with rest of the house. The staff were lovely, and special thanks to Fred who was most gracious and a true asset to the hotel. Daniel also also very pleasant. The grounds are lovely even on a dark Sunday afternoon in February. The hotel did not have curtains on g/f windows but this did not detract from their splendour! We had a fabulous view onto the lake and felt nice and cosy looking out onto the hailstones that battered the large windows. The champagne afternoon tea was to die for. The dainty sandwiches were delicious (a few more would have been nice), and staff were happy to accommodate a friends dietary requirements. Special mention to the chef for the lemon drizzle cake OMG, it was the best I've ever tasted, the chocolate ganache squares were heavenly and the little fruit glasses were a nice original twist on a classic. We had a couple of pots of tea and our champagne at the end. We retired to the bar were a coal fire was burning, lovely and cosy. We spoke to a couple who were staying for the first time and we envied them. Fred told us about the history of the house and it was nice to learn that the portraits on the walls are relevant to the buildings history and not there just for effect. We could have listened to him all night, what a true gentleman. We had a look at a couple of the rooms as we intend to go back and stay. This place is a hidden gem and well worth a visit. Well done to all at Storrs and good luck with finishing the renovations.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MerseysideClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor regarding your recent experience with us here at Storrs Hall.

We are delighted to here that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and that the team, notably Fred and Daniel were on hand to ensure you were comfortable. The lemon drizzle cake is indeed delicious, I will certainly pass on your comments to our chef!

We have a few finishing touches to our newly refurbished ground floor areas, as you note, curtains are on their way!

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There's a comfortable feeling when you enter this hotel! We were staying overnight and just looking to step off the roundabout of day to day stress for a few hours and Storrs Hall hotel achieved that for us perfectly,
There were so many little touches that made you feel that you were being taken care of throughout your stay. The presentation of everything was always over and above the norm, from the gorgeous homemade duck shaped biscuits presented in a little candy striped bag and sealed with the hotel's corporate logo on your tea and coffee tray in your room to the additional courses proffered at dinner in the restaurant. As for the staff, they were terrific and friendly with professionalism and personality , a rarity nowadays!
We found the room very comfortable and the bed was spacious and so comfortable. We learned that the hotel had been closed during January for renovation and although there were not yet any curtains on the ground floor the decor and furnishings were sympathetic to their surroundings, a bit eclectic but I liked it!
The food at this hotel is First Class! The dinner was just amazing with a mix of fantastic tastes and textures and my huge Thanks go to the chef! The standard and quality of food wasn't just at dinner, we had a boiled egg and omelette and they were absolutely perfect!
The quality of the service throughout our stay was 1st Class! A great location as you can wander down to the water's edge and the grounds look lovely but unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive to spending much time sauntering outdoors!
We will be back :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you achieved what you were seeking and for what we at Storrs Hall aim to provide; a relaxing, warm, welcoming experience with excellent dining opportunities at every step.

We hope to welcome you again and perhaps on a future visit the weather will be more conducive to further exploration within the grounds.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a very warm welcome and excellent service from all staff. We were seated in a wonderful position overlooking the lawns and lake. We sipped a nice glass of champagne while enjoying the view. The tea was delightful, with a excellent selection of dainty sandwiches, tasty savoury, delicate selection of home made cakes and scones, cream and jam and a delicious vanilla posset. Topped off with a superb pot of tea and refill. An excellent offer in wonderful surroundings. We will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
The team and I take great heart in hearing feedback from our guests and will be delighted to receive your comments.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others here on Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you to Storrs Hall again soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The staff here are very helpful and friendly. When we checked in we had a room with shower and no bath - 1 short query at the desk and we were moved to a room with lake view and bath at no extra charge. Only a few guests at that time so quite lucky to be able to. The original room was north facing and quite dark the new one south facing and what a difference much brighter and more welcoming. The bed was large and very comfortable and the room was warm despite the weather being on the chilly side. We treat ourselves to dinner in the restaurant on the first night which was fine dinning just like on the telly, duck pate to die for. The other guests that we met were all very friendly and had been here before and in some cases many times before. Some renovating on the go though I did not see any decorators and certainly not disturbed by it at any time. No curtains on the downstairs function rooms and so felt a little cool 1st night - 2nd night fires were burning more brightly and quite cosy despite the rooms and windows being large. would go again and probably will.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sztzuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. You are indeed right on mentioning our renovations and curtains are to arrive shortly for the areas in which you comment appear missing.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful weekend at Storrs Hall Hotel. The staff were lovely, polite, professional and very attentive. The hotel is in a great location which is quiet and secluded, yet with a short walk into Bowness for bars and restaurants you have the best of both worlds. We would like to extend our thank you to the staff who made our stay very enjoyable and would recommend Storrs Hall Hotel for anyone who is looking for a fantastic get away to The Lakes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team take great heart in receiving guest feedback and will be delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful get away with us here at Storrs Hall.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing