We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on 28th March and only wished we had booked longer. We arrived for a champagne afternoon tea which was served overlooking the lake. We had room 21 which also overlooked the lake and the full length window allowed us to sit and enjoy the view, binoculars were provided but unfortunately it was a drizzly day and there wasn't much happening on the lake. We booked for dinner and sat in the cosy lounge for a couple of drinks before we went into the restaurant. The meal was well presented, delicious and well seasoned that it must have been a first for me not to ask for salt .. The staff were very attentive and very pleasant and eager to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was tastefully decorated and the large bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent sleep. Breakfast in our room was lovely too and there was no extra charge for this service. We would definitely like to come back sometime in the future. The only negative was the Wifi was not great.

Room Tip: Room 21 looks over the lake. Good size room and a very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Storrs Hall and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regarding wifi, we have superspeed broadband being implemented in the local area currently so hope soon to be able to rectify this apparent shortfall.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Storrs Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed overnight for my birthday and had a fantastic time. We had seen the hotel whilst on a boat trip on lake Windermere and said we have to stay there. We went for the ultimate package which included afternoon tea, Dinner and breakfast. We loved the location that we had for all 3 meals overlooking the lake. Afternoon tea was a delight, just enough beautiful goodies to fill us until dinner. If you enjoy fine dinning with excellent service and food this restaurant is a must for dinner, it says 3 courses but we ended up having 7 in all, it's all the other little surprises that make the meal sublime, i.e. the smoke salmon amuse bouche and the pre desert of tarragon and lime panacotta. We had a surprise at the end of the meal by meeting the headchef 'Conor Toomey' who thanked us for our comments and explained some of the courses in more detail which was fascinating to hear, a delightful chef who knows what he wants to deliver and isn't afraid of criticism, a Michelin star won't be far away i'm sure. Breakfast was really nice to.The room we stayed in was beautiful and the view was to die for. All in all 5* service and thankyou to all the staff, as arnie said 'I'll be back'!!

Room Tip: we had room 2 and it has a fantastic view of lake windermere
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969steveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team will be delighted to hear your feedback as each and everyone of them take great pride in their roles here at Storrs Hall.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed two nights in this wonderful place. Expensive, but worth every penny! Room big and comfy, very good bed. Had a three course dinner the first evening, excellent! Nice garden, would love to come back in summer. The staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SonjaEOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the summer months.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a groupon voucher for champagne afternoon tea for 4. It was wonderful. Really lovely setting and lovely waiters. The front desk was unorganised and kept us waiting a long time before and after the tea, but polite and were expecting us. The food was tasty and the tea refreshing. Bit disappointed with the lack of choice of tea, but overall I would recommend afternoon tea here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowFlake132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for posting your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you were able to take advantage of one of our recent special offers via groupon and overall enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We do have a range of varied teas available which you would have been most welcome to request however perhaps it appears an oversight in the lack of our offering on this occasion.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon, we were greeted and seated straight away.
We were given a table in the reception area which was not ideal , the other seating areas would have been better.Service and food was ok but have had better.
The hotel is in a wonderful position , right on the shore of the lake with some enjoyable grounds surrounding it..
Overall a we had a good time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

It would appear that we were rather busy last Sunday resulting in you and your party dining within one of our many optional seating areas.
It is a shame that you feel that you have 'had better' on this occasion as we generally receive much praise for our afternoon tea provision.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked the storrs hall hotel for a midweek break recently.

I have to say that the hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was a first floor overlooking the lake, the view was quite spectacular and the room itself was very spacious, very comfortable and clean. The bed was massive and really comfy, the ensuite exceptional.

The hotel staff were exceedingly polite, very helpful and to be honest they couldn't do enough for you, nothing was too much trouble. Too be honest I have stayed in top notch hotels all over the place and have been met with indifferent attitudes and service, but these guys were on the ball, spot on with everything and always polite and smiling.

Most of the staff were foreign mixed Europeans and a guy from Kenya who was a really nice man and very very polite and friendly, I thought he was without doubt the face of the Hotel I am only embarrassed that I can't remember his name, either way he was great and a bonus for the hotel in general.

The food was very nice, not expensive either and the selection of wines and beers and spirits in the must see bar was a treat. Having a beer and meal in this lovely bar by an open fire was the business. The breakfast, what can I say! For the price absolutely spectacular and lots of it a very good selection all very well prepared and a view to die for at the breakfast table overlooking the lake.

All in all I will certainly be going back, and as I go tongue lakes a lot I will be making this my hotel of first choice. Incidentally there was a wedding taking place the same day that I was leaving, I can only say that nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the they made the whole place look beautiful for the special day and with the view and location it was gem, I only wish that my daughter had seen this place a few years ago for her wedding instead if me forking out an obscene amount of money for the venue that we had and having to organise most of the event too boot! And with miserable staff!

The Storrs Hall Hotel, go on spoil someone and book it, make sure that you get a room overlooking the lake! Spectacular place, spectacular location and this time of the year down by the jetty with the snow on the back mountains and the swans by your feet, lovely absolutely lovely!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake and you are sorted!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Percy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

What an absolute delight to read your feedback, the team will be very pleased to hear that they were part of ensuring you had a memorable stay.

Fred, our restaurant manager is the chap you are describing. He and his colleagues certainly all take great pride in their roles.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again to Storrs Hall very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked 'The Ultimate Escape' package as a birthday treat for my husband (only our fifth weekend away together in almost nineteen years!) and I couldn't have chosen better. The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The food was fantastic - afternoon tea on arrival which was deceptively very filling, a four course evening meal (we stopped after five courses as we couldn't eat another mouthful, therefore didn't get to sample the coffee and petit fours) and breakfast the next morning - freshly made Danish, orange juice and a choice of hot food. The hotel itself was lovely and in good repair, it looked as though the outside was being refurbished. The surroundings were breathtaking - we could see Lake Windermere from our bed! I only wish we lived closer as I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay. The only thing I would do differently would be to book the afternoon tea for the day of departure rather than the day of arrival as even spreading the meals out as much as we were able, we were still too full to really appreciate the evening meal. Top marks from us.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a lake view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and notably the dining elements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Storrs Hall again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £123 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing