We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just had a superb two-night stay at this delightful hotel. Our deal included dinners which were a revelation. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful selection of three courses, plus a further three "amuse bouche" dishes which were all works of art. We had seen such dishes created on TV Masterchef programmes, but had never experienced so many in one sitting. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful and the manager, Sarah, made a point of making us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_g_haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    134
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
118
396
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Thank you to all the staff at Storrs Hall Hotel, large party of 39 people descended upon them, thank you for being so accommodating the hotel is fab, service excellent, location wonderful, and the rooms super comfy.

Once again thank you to you all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

To be honest reading other people's reviews i just think they must be the most nitpicking type of person. We stayed overnight at Storrs Hall and couldn't have been happier. The grounds were stunning. we had beautiful weather which obviously enhanced our stay. The staff at Storrs were very professional and extremely polite. Sometimes you did need to catch their attention but they are people not robots, nothing was too much they were hugely accommodating and extremely pleasant.
Their jewel in the crown for us was the standard of food. We enjoyed a 6 course evening meal which completely tantalised our taste buds, it was of Michelin standard, not an average restaurant or hotel meal. I read in 1 review that the breakfast didnt have beans? ours did, and that it was dry? We had an excellent standard of breakfast to finish off a wonderful stay. There was plenty on the menu to accomodate a huge variety of appetites. We enjoyed our stay so much so that we are hoping to arrange our wedding at Storrs Hall. Unless you're extreme fuss pots you should ignore the previous mediocre reviews. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a special lake view room deal. Before booking we called the hotel to confirm that there was internet in the room and that it was reliable, which we were assured it was. My partner has his own business and needed to do some work whilst we were away. Upon arrival we stood at the reception desk and waited 5 minutes for the receptionist (who was stood with her back to us) to finish her private conversation with another member of staff. Not a great start. There was no apology and she checked us in with not much of a welcome. Our room was very comfy and clean, the only complaint was the TV on a bracket was a bit droopy so wasn't perfect to watch. The internet worked in the room for 15 minutes then cut out. A call to reception we then discovered that it was not reliable in the rooms. We tested it in the lounge area near reception but it was very hit n miss. Basically we were lied to on our initial call before booking. This left a sour taste and tainted our whole trip as we had to mess around finding the internet in the nearby town of bowness. On the first morning a very loud extractor fan from the kitchen two floors below was switched on at 6am and vibrated up the wall... So much for a lie in! This was still going at 10pm but was switched off shortly after. Breakfast was very good with fresh juices and cereals (but no museli) and we ordered a couple of hot dishes. The full English was ok, a little dry (needed baked beans but they are not posh enough) and the bacon was rock hard and chewy. The two male members of staff at breakfast were very professional and excellent. The grounds of the hotel are really nice and great for a short walk. Our second morning at breakfast was not so great and we had to go and find the girl to order some coffee (guess what, she was chatting on reception and did not attend to us even though we walked right past her to go to the dining area). We ordered some toast that arrived cold, but we couldn't be bothered to complain. I was very ill and we didn't order any hot food. Our stay hadn't been the greatest and we just wanted to get home. An IT friend of ours said that the internet situation was ridiculous and all that was needed was an upgrade of the technology and some better boosters around the hotel. We didn't eat an evening meal here, but if breakfast was anything to go by then it was a good swerve. Two AA rosettes? Are you sure!? On a final note, when booking, our credit card was charged for one nights stay straight away, but there was no warning about this. The booking terms stated that we could cancel right up to 4pm on the day of arrival with no charge so it was very unusual to be charged straight away. Most hotels take a credit card on booking but don't charge until check-out. There was no info about this on the confirmation email or on the website anywhere. Why not just spell this out on the confirmation email or at the time of booking. We mentioned this when checking in but I don't expect anything will be done about it. We wouldn't return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meesajarjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I recently had afternoon tea here which was bought for Mother's Day. On arrival at the hotel it has the wow factor a beautiful old hotel in a amazing lakeside location.
We were greeted and shown to our lakeside view table. We had a glass of fizz followed by hot drink. Afternoon tea was served and there was a good choice of sandwiches, cakes and scones. The macaroons were delicious.
Afterwards we had a look round the grounds which are breathtaking. A fantastic place to get married.
Highly recommended and children friendly. We asked for a gluten free meal and this was done no problem
Can't wait to return to stay over

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Here is our resume of our recent stay at The Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere which we booked through Secret Escapes back in February this year.

We had already received details of our package and conformation of payment from ENQIRIES@STORRSHALL.COM.
We had booked for a Champaigne afternoon tea on arrival followed with an overnight stay in a lake view room with breakfast the following day. The Storrs booking receipt itemised all of the above, with the details of payment i.e. transaction number etc, which we took with us as requested on their paperwork.

The booking in procedure at the hotel was straightforward, our room was ready on arrival and we set a time for our table for afternoon tea at 14:30hrs. At the set time we went to the dining room and stood like a pair of lemons! for several minutes whilst the staff passed by without any acknowledgement of us being there. We did not know if we simply sat at any table or not?
We eventually had to button hole a member of the restaurant staff who showed us to a table. As the afternoon tea progressed there was no sign of the champagne arriving, as it was at other tables . Again I spoke to a waiter who said he would check, on his return we were told that the champagne was not part of our 'package' and that we would be charged 'extra' for this . We accepted the champaign and agreed to speak to the hotel'reception' once we had finished our meal. We felt at the time this was not what we would expect from a 4 star establishment who clearly had sent us an 'itemised' printout of what we had ordered and paid for in advance of our stay.

We booked a table reservation for dinner later that evening. Again towards the appointed time we spoke to reception regarding our menu choices, i.e., could we eat in the dinning room if one of us chose the selection from the 'all day dining menu'. We had noticed that this was available in the lounge bar. The receptionist went away and came back and together with another colleague who was standing at the reception desk, clearly about to leave the hotel,we were informed that there would be no problem with this. However, when we came to place our order we were informed that this in deed was not permitted, clearly this indicates some lack of communication/continuity.
Again we went along with this to avoid any further negativity.

Our evening meal was excellent, the presentation and quality of the food was superb.

The following morning we came down to breakfast at 09:00 ( the allocated times being 08:00 till 10:00) we were shown to a table and the order for hot food/coffee/toast was taken. We went to the buffet table set in the centre of the dining room to make our selection. The pastry plate was almost empty, no muesli was available, very little fresh fruit was left ( it all appeared to need replenishment) as we had not come down late, i.e. towards the end of breakfast time , our expectation was that it should not have looked 'picked through'!.,There were several guests who arrived well after we had sat down and we had been informed that the hotel was not busy.

Our room, was fine although perhaps a little 'tired', but we understood via other trip advisor comments, that refurbishment was ongoing ,so we accepted that we were in one of the rooms still to be done.The room facilities were clean and all ok, the bed comfy. A good nights sleep.

I went to reception on our departure morning to pay our 'extras' i.e. the evening dinner and drinks which were not part of the pre-paid package. Again a problem at the reception desk, I was given a bill for £245. I explained to the receptionist that we had already paid for a 'package' I showed her our receipt with details sent from Storrs Hall confirming this. However she would not accept this , she explained that the money had not come out of our credit card account despite me explianing that the transaction id confirmed this to be the case. Rather that create a scene and spoil the occasion I paid the £245 reluctantly and said I would check at home and be in touch.

On arrival home we checked my CC statement of 4/2/2014 and indeed found my payment for the package under 'SECRET ESCAPES' London, whereupon I contacted them.They asked for the transaction id and found my booking and confirmation of payment made within seconds.
They said they would get onto the hotel straight away to sort this out.When they came back to us they had spoken to the receptionist who had dealt with us and who apparently informed them that she was new! No apology was proffered. We are awaiting Storrs Halls speeding re-embursment of their overcharge

We feel that our experiences of Storrs Hall are that of a 'mixed' picture. The food was excellent, the accommodation satisfactory, the service mixed and the administration CHAOTIC!
There does not seem to be a 'joined up' service/customer experience which we would expect from a hotel that advertises its self as 4 stars. Overall a disappointing guest stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlislepraxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I was sorry to read your resume of your recent stay.

We pride ourselves in delivering a high level of quality service at all times and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your evening dining experience with us.
It appears however aside to this positive note that a requirement for some further training was required for the newer members of my team which resulted in a shortfall of our usual standards of service. The points you raise were highlighted with my heads of departments and action has been taken to ensure this occurrence is not repeated.

If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked two nights recently to celebrate my birthday. We paid extra for one of the larger rooms and it was well worth it to have the view of the Lake and the extra space. The package was dinner, bed and breakfast and everything was excellent. The evening meals were very good as was the breakfast. We also had cream teas with the hotel's home made scones and jam. I would certainly go again and enjoyed the hotel, the experience, walking in the grounds and the general sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing