We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest House EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Guest House EVER”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Not only is this guest house located in a convenient part of Bowness giving you quick access to the main town as well as the lake, its aesthetic is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are not only extremely spacious, but are kept very clean and resonate with character. The guest house also provides written guides on various walks one might take around the area to further enjoy the lush landscape near the guest house. The one walk I went on with my family proved not only easy to follow, but lead to us appreciating a spectacular view of the lake.

Yet the main draw of this guest house is not the building, but rather the two wonderful people who run the place. Ian and Christine are incredibly helpful, always ready to make suggestions on how one might make their stay and experience of the Lake Districts even more memorable. Their hospitality is truly of a different standard as they are most willing to go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as humanly possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments they are very much appreciated.
We are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to pass on our knowledge of the Lake District to help you take full advantage of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
145
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Our stay at Fair Rigg was very pleasant. A very nice room with well thought out added little extras. Nice to look out the bedroom window and see the sheep and although on quite a busy corner it did nothing to spoil our stay. Great breakfast. Bit of a walk into the centre of town but a taxi would be cheep enough. We'd definately reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
The comment made regarding distance into town, we are just a 15 minute walk in, but lots of people prefer this as we are away from the nightlife noise in the evenings when you need it quiet to sleep.
Although the road is busy through the day it is quiet in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Lovely spotless accomodation...find it hard to fault although if I was to be critical I felt that photo location was slightly misleading on website and business cards as the photos imply a detatched property which seems to appear closer to lake/hills view. It's an end terrace property and is next to a fairly busy junction and an A road. This however did not cause us any problems as it's only busy during the day and we had a quiet and comfortable sleep...it was only the smell of bacon that woke me which was lovely! Breakfast was plentiful and good choice and Ian helpful with his recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaliaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

stayed at fair rig for two nights we have stayed in bnbs in the lakes but this one beats them all, everything was perfect so clean the room was perfect we didnt want to leave. the breakfast was so good i can recommend the porridge with brown suger and fresh cream . Ian and christine are so nice they really made us feel welcome , ian even cleaned my wellies for me. cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Just got back from our 4th visit to this wonderfull guest house.the standards have never wavered in four years. everything is absolutely spot on. If there is a better guest house in Bowness , I would like to see it. Ian & Christine are the perfect hosts . Nothing is too much trouble for either of them, the rooms are maintained to a very high standard, and the breakfast is superb. Have already booked for next year, Can't wait !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A beautiful, quiet location with wonderful views of Lake Windermere, only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bowness. Christine and Ian provided us with a lovely spacious room, comfortable beds and a wonderful breakfast, all with warmth and friendliness. If you're reading this, please don't book the twin bedded room, as my sister and I intend to go back again, and again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patgreatayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed at Fair Rigg for three nights in September 2010, in a king size room on the first floor. Out of all the B&B's we stayed at (6) in our three week holiday, this was probably the best experience overall.

There was virtually nothing to fault about this B&B. The room was very nicely presented, clean, a good size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine also. The room had a digital TV with a DVD player, and there was a selection of DVDs available for guest borrowing, which came in handy on the nights where there was nothing on TV to watch. Free wifi access was a bonus. Breakfast was also very good, with a range of options to choose from by way of cooked breakfast, and a good selection of cereals and fruit juices.

The owners provided a very high level of service. They made themselves available to speak with the guests, provide assistance or answer questions on many occasions. There is a large selection of pamphlets available about various things to do in the Lake District. The owners have prepared their own 'walking guide' which they provide to the guests, and this guide outlines various walks around the countryside that guests can take, from the guesthouse. We went on one of these and it was great. What's more, when our clothes and shoes became very wet, they offered to wash and dry them for us, at no extra cost to us.

We would strongly recommend this B&B to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian_couple32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Property: Fair Rigg Guest House
Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing