We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this b&b for 3 nights for our 24th wedding anniversary we were not disappointed. The rooms were spotless, the food was delicious and Ian and Christine made us feel very welcome, even sent us a card for our anniversary we shall definitely be recommending this to our friends and family and will definitely stay here again. Thank you again to Ian who gave us a lift into bowness much appreciated. Thank you for making our stay very pleasant x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you so very much for writing such a wonderful review on your stay at Fair Rigg, we really do appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights and it was one of the best places I have stayed at. The room was clean and warm and very welcoming. It's just a short walk to Lake Windermere. The breakfast was fantastic too. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Lake District.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iaingmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you so much for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

With a plethora of accommodation options on offer, I selected Fair Rigg off the net. What a find! The attention to detail was excellent. All of our needs were covered and the friendliness of Ian and Christine, the owners was exceptional. Great breakfasts; good choices; clean and cosy room and all at a reasonable rate. Havde stayed in many B and B's throughout the world. This is in our top five. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor and at the front have a great vista of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great review on your stay at Fair Rigg, especially taking time out from your holiday.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My partner and myself went for two nights and had a fab time.we stayed in room 6 which is on the ground floor. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. Lovely decor. Fantastic breakfast. Ian and christine couldnt have been more helpful. It was a pleasure to stay there. It was peaceful and quiet. A 15 min walk into bowness or take a taxi which was only a few pounds. We will certainly be back. Thanks again for a lovely stay. Roz and Trev newcastle.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosamondaflorabunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you so much, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

...AND IT WILL BE HARD TO TOP....Lovely hosts - Ian was great at breakfast and very good with his advice.Very helpful with luggage - amazing how many other hosts disappear from this particularly tiresome chore!
The B&B is charming stylish and spotless with everything you need.Gt WiFi too.
Breakfast was faultless.
This is a true 10/10 in spite of being only 4 stars.
It isn't in the centre of town but the walk down is very pretty and the cab back after dinner is cheap.
Their tariff is excellent value for money. I would recommend this B&B 110%

Room Tip: The downstairs room even though it is by the front door is very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

What a great review, thank you so much. It was an absolute pleasure have you both to stay at Fair Rigg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Well situated for the Windermere area, spotless rooms, super food, great and helpful hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. The facilities include off road parking and (free) fast WiFi; perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you so much for a great review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great Guest House , lovely spotlessly clean rooms and an excellent breakfast .This B&B is a short walk outside Bowness on Windermere and a little difficult to find with your sat nav but is well worth the effort a truly a great location. I would throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejones0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you had a problem finding us with your sat nav, for some reason they always send people the long way round that's why I always email directions along with confirmation, a much easier and straight forward route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
835 reviews
1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#9 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
436 reviews
1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £90 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing