We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Guest house we've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
warrington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendliest Guest house we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this guest house, mainly down to a very friendly, helpful couple, Christine & Ian. They made sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. Gave us lots of information regarding area and attractions. Fair Rigg is a 20 minute walk to Bowness Pier, but it's nice scenery on the way. Great location to stay, peaceful and quiet.
Would recommend staying here, as the guest house is clean, warm and friendly. Also picturesque from outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
A big thank you, your review is really appreciated, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
144
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked a long weekend away for my husbands birthday recently. What a find this place was! The room was spacious, beautiful, comfortable with lovely views. Ian and Christine,the owners, could not have been more accommodating. They went out of their way to be helpful and booked restaurants on our behalf, printed out details for walks and even gave Jamie a birthday card and chocolates! Breakfast was delicious and included a vegetarian option for dedicated herbivores! Ian served breakfast with a smile, and was very attentive to every detail. In short we were very impressed and will definitely return. Superb!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments on your stay at Fair Rigg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having stayed at numerous B & B establishments in the UK myself and my partner have voted Fair Rigg the outright winner of COMFIEST BED AWARD. The room was nice and light and cosy and a pleasing mix of traditional and modern, with nice ornaments and trinkets not too much not too bare. A nice view from the room with the lovely country sound of sheep and lambs bleating in the distance. The distance from Fair Rigg is 10 - 15 mins into Bowness, as advertised, not a problem, you are visiting the wrong place if you don't like walking. If you want somewhere nearer book somewhere nearer. An ample choice for breakfast only negative was the restricted 8.30 - 8.55a.m window, for commencement of the meal. The hosts Christine and Ian very obliging and nothing too much trouble. Value for money excellent, for the quality of the room i very much doubt you could get cheaper.
All in all a lovely experience the only thing that disappointed me slightly was that Christine did not say goodbye on our departure. We paid our balance and she seemed to disappear into the next room until we left 5 minutes later. Maybe i am old fashioned its just i would have felt more valued as a customer if both hosts had been there. I am sure this was probably unintentional and don't let it put you off as Fair Rigg is one of the nicest bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyrock985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
If I can just explain your negative comment on breakfast time, we ask for your order of tea, coffee etc. by 8.55 we don't expect you to start your meal by then, we want you to enjoy your breakfast experience.
It was unintentional I missed saying goodbye I usually always make a point of asking all our guest if all was ok for them and say goodbye and have a safe journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Thank you Christine and Ian for a lovely weekend, room was very clean and comfortable with the usual tea and coffee facilities, we had room 1 and had lovely views of the lake in the distance, there is a folder in your room with information on where to eat (Ian will even book you a table if you ask), there are also a number of walks to choose from and Ian will print you a copy. Christine cooks a lovely breakfast with a good choice, and Ian is on hand to keep topping up the toast. Hope to see you next year, thanks Mark and Julie.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfwayjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hey, roadl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

What an excellent place to stay one of the best b&b we have been to in a long time,the room was spotless very big comfy double bed tea/coffee facilities as the title says cock on we will back for sure . Plea sent views from the front of the house ample parking and very quiete

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
A great big thank you for your review we really do appreciate your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at this beautiful B&B for valentines weekend with my boyfriend, and we could not have picked a more lovely place to stay! Everything about Fair Rigg was brilliant. The scrambled egg was the nicest scrambled egg I have ever had and the service was excellent. Christine and Ian are wonderful hosts and are so helpful when it comes to finding out information about the area, the best places to eat etc. We only stayed for 2 nights but I wish we had stayed for longer! The room was lovely and clean, and the chocolates on the bed were a lovely touch! I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family members. By far the best hotel I have stayed in!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaOlivia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, Cheshire.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Fair Rigg for two nights in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Ian & Christine were great hosts, very welcoming and very knowledgeable of the local area. The room was spacious & spotlessly clean, although a little on the chilli side after dark. The breakfast was great, good quality and the choice was a refreshing change from the standard B&B offering. Would definitely recommend the Fair Rigg as a place to stay in Bowness,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieT0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Property: Fair Rigg Guest House
Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing