We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The rooms are fantastic, it is clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It is inbthe perefect place, just on the edge of town so you can easily get into town but its not loud and busy with tourists going by all the time. The breakfasts were amazing, really enjoyed them. I really enjoyed my stay and whenever I go back to the lake district I will most certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eg1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much, your lovely review means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Fair Rigg Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Fair Rigg Guest house is a lovely bed & breakfast on the outskirts of Bowness and as it states on their website takes 10-15 minutes to
walk into the centre. Christine and Ian are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and have little extras in the room like airfreshner in the bathroom which is a nice touch. Breakfast is excellent, there is a good choice from yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit & juices to the full English breakfast. Excellent value for money... Thank you we will be returning later in the year.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We really appreciate the lovely review, thank you so much, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wow what a find, this Guest house is about 15 minutes walk into bowness but lovely walk, lovely views. Spotless clean, Hosts couldnt do enough for you very friendly and alway on hand, and could answer any questions about the area, on where to go etc. Breakfast was spot on. Would definately return and reccommend. Thank you for making our stay in Bowness a nice one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 798sam798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

What a great review, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this guest house, mainly down to a very friendly, helpful couple, Christine & Ian. They made sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. Gave us lots of information regarding area and attractions. Fair Rigg is a 20 minute walk to Bowness Pier, but it's nice scenery on the way. Great location to stay, peaceful and quiet.
Would recommend staying here, as the guest house is clean, warm and friendly. Also picturesque from outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

A big thank you, your review is really appreciated, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked a long weekend away for my husbands birthday recently. What a find this place was! The room was spacious, beautiful, comfortable with lovely views. Ian and Christine,the owners, could not have been more accommodating. They went out of their way to be helpful and booked restaurants on our behalf, printed out details for walks and even gave Jamie a birthday card and chocolates! Breakfast was delicious and included a vegetarian option for dedicated herbivores! Ian served breakfast with a smile, and was very attentive to every detail. In short we were very impressed and will definitely return. Superb!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments on your stay at Fair Rigg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having stayed at numerous B & B establishments in the UK myself and my partner have voted Fair Rigg the outright winner of COMFIEST BED AWARD. The room was nice and light and cosy and a pleasing mix of traditional and modern, with nice ornaments and trinkets not too much not too bare. A nice view from the room with the lovely country sound of sheep and lambs bleating in the distance. The distance from Fair Rigg is 10 - 15 mins into Bowness, as advertised, not a problem, you are visiting the wrong place if you don't like walking. If you want somewhere nearer book somewhere nearer. An ample choice for breakfast only negative was the restricted 8.30 - 8.55a.m window, for commencement of the meal. The hosts Christine and Ian very obliging and nothing too much trouble. Value for money excellent, for the quality of the room i very much doubt you could get cheaper.
All in all a lovely experience the only thing that disappointed me slightly was that Christine did not say goodbye on our departure. We paid our balance and she seemed to disappear into the next room until we left 5 minutes later. Maybe i am old fashioned its just i would have felt more valued as a customer if both hosts had been there. I am sure this was probably unintentional and don't let it put you off as Fair Rigg is one of the nicest bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyrock985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review.
If I can just explain your negative comment on breakfast time, we ask for your order of tea, coffee etc. by 8.55 we don't expect you to start your meal by then, we want you to enjoy your breakfast experience.
It was unintentional I missed saying goodbye I usually always make a point of asking all our guest if all was ok for them and say goodbye and have a safe journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Thank you Christine and Ian for a lovely weekend, room was very clean and comfortable with the usual tea and coffee facilities, we had room 1 and had lovely views of the lake in the distance, there is a folder in your room with information on where to eat (Ian will even book you a table if you ask), there are also a number of walks to choose from and Ian will print you a copy. Christine cooks a lovely breakfast with a good choice, and Ian is on hand to keep topping up the toast. Hope to see you next year, thanks Mark and Julie.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfwayjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £98 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing