We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning night away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning night away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room - room 11 - stunning bathroom - lots of towels
Staff lovely and also very helpful
Breakfast was yummy
Hot tub fantastic
Great pool and spa
We will defo visit you again
If we was to nit pick - hair found in the bathroom and also a champagne cork found under the glass table .
Many thanks xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buster1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following your short break away. We are glad you liked and used all the facilities and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    86
    29
    31
    19
See reviews for
3
405
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booked this holiday as a surprise treat for my girlfriend and it exceeded all my hopes and expectations. The location was a bonus as far as I was concerned but it is set in a beautiful bit of forest just above Windermere. The building is unassuming from the outside but as soon as you enter the elegance of the interior becomes clear. The girl on reception when we arrived (didn't get a name) was instantly helpful and willing to assist with anything. We were immediately made to feel welcome. The optional extras and details of the spa were clearly and concisely explained before we were shown to our room.

If I was impressed before I saw the room thats nothing compared to my feelings when we got to open the door. The rooms features were so purely luxurious and the way the room was presented really set it off. The bathroom was probably the most impressive part, true luxury! The local bottled water provided in addition to the advertised and paid for extras really impressed me. If there was one criticism it would be that the rooms were very warm, a little too much for me at times.

The breakfast was fantastic as was the lunch we had on our relaxing day between our two nights. We used this day to relax and test of the pool and spa facilities. The pool was really nice and the changing rooms, steam room and sauna really impressed. The jacuzzi in the corner of the pool seemed to be switched off for part of the time and it was not clear how to change this. We both took advantage of the February spa treatments which were easy to book and we were both very pleased with the experience (one novice and one with some experience).

Yes it was expensive but you get what you pay for, complete luxury and excellent service! Thank you, we both hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Bella was very cosy and the bathroom was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so glad she enjoyed her surprise! Thank you for your lovely comments, we all work hard to make your time spent with us a relaxed break with special memories to take away. The relaxation corner of the pool is set on a timer and goes on and off automatically. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had been planning to stay here for years but never made it however we will definitely be back very soon . The staff were lovely from arriving and being shown around to leaving . We had the burger for a snack omg was massive and lovely . We had breakfast in our room it arrived on time and was amazingly good it filled us for the day . The room was spotlessly clean . We did not use the spa this time but will definitely try next time . Cant wait to return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 79tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your break away with us and thank you for your lovely comments. Our foods are all locally sourced wherever we can and of course award winning butchers make all the difference. We do hope you don’t wait so long to book your next break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the aphrodites in the love haven room. On arrival,we didnt think it was going to be as amazing as we had thought when booking, but our Oppinion was soon changed when we was shown to our gorgeous room!! Very clean, and a luxurious place to stay! If your looking for a relaxing break then this is the place to come! Staff were also very helpful, only thing I would say that lets it down is the outside, could do with brightening up the building with a lick of paint, apart from this we had a lovely relaxing stay and would recommend!
Not a cheap place to stay, and do think it is slightly over priced but overall I would say a very good place to stay! Thank you'

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averill1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent break away with us. We are glad you liked your room and the facilities, and thank you for your comments; we have passed these on for you. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my Fiancé stayed in The Edelweiss Suite for one night, the room was very luxurious and couldn't find any faults, except from the WiFi usage that was not unlimited and was a problem for my Fiancé who runs an internet marketing business online. The staff were very nice and helpful, they kept us informed of how long till our room would be ready, as there was a delay in finishing the cleaning, but we did not have to wait too long. The breakfast came to our room on time and was hot, but we were disappointed that there was no beans, hard bacon and only one poached egg, the sausage was greasy and there was one fried toast, which you wouldn't expect to have for breakfast at a luxury B&B. We have had better breakfast else where (Windermere Suites B&B) and after eating the food, I suffered from bad stomach ache all day, because of the grease and fat. Overall the experience was good, but food needs improving.

Room Tip: The Edelweiss Suite is a very lovely room, can't find a fault with it, but WiFi usage is restric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay with us. Everyone gets a 2GB internet allowance which we find very rarely people need any more. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your breakfast as we use award winning suppliers and everything is freshly cooked to order, however we have passed your comments on. We do hope this would not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have to echo the previous users disappointing comments. The current Manager of Aphrodites will no doubt reply with a truculent response as they appear unable to accept even the slightest criticism but we are a genuine, usually polite and optimistic couple who booked this for a valetine's treat.
I make this review based on what Aphrodites is aiming its market at, the upmarket boutique & Spa. For over £200 per night you expect quality not to be surprised by it. Aphrodites tries but the Manager's attitiude is letting this down big style.
Little things at this level make a big difference. Things such as no views from the room can't be helped but things like not having to ask for a second cup of coffee at breakfast, not hearing lots of noise from neighbouring laundry room and outside at 7.30am as well as getting to use the facilities advertised such as the Spa and pool are the basics let the place down.
(We too were told the pool was receiving maintenace & no treatments were available either.) We didn't miss the pool too much as we had the Parisian Room with its own enclosed hot tub but we totally understand the frustration of the couples who stayed who were told they couldn't use the pool nor treatments & then being informed they were "extras" and not really what they were paying for! Good customer service from the Manager!
My partner developed a rash & skin infection during our stay. No evidence that the room's outdoor hot tub caused it but I decided to let the Management know as others may be using the hot tub after us and we'd hate to think we said nothing and someone else had a similar reaction.
Instead of a sympathetic response & thanks for letting them know, we received a defensive and curt response from Manager Mr Howarth stating the tubs were refilled once per week and pass all Health & Safety standards and we were challenged to an independent examination!! What difference does that make? We weren't fishing for a freebie, we were concerned someone else may pick up the infection! The rooms & hot tubs are hot and can be a breeding ground for infections therefore we informed the team for the health of the next people to stay!!! Why would the management be so defensive and downright cold to recent & potential future customers?
The room was lovely & clean as it should be for £200 a night. The staff we met at reception and throughout at this small hotel boutique are lovely and are being let down by the arrogant attitude of the management. This is a customer driven market, we do Spa nights regularly and we'll vote with our feet & so will my friends/colleagues as of now. Big mistake Aphrodites yet I'm sure the verbose manager sees it differently!!

Room Tip: Parisian room was lovely decor & quality but no Lake District views and is next to the laundry r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ste236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Owner at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We were very sorry to hear that an otherwise perfect stay was tainted by the fact that your partner contracted a rash after staying with us. We were very thankful that you informed us by email after your departure that this had occurred and our reply was clearly misread, we meant in no way to be rude or argumentative. Our opening line was that we were very sorry to hear of your partners discomfort, we simply tried to put your mind at rest saying we had strict procedures in place to test and check our hot tubs and swimming pool. We have a qualified technician who looks after the hot tubs and swimming pool (we have 16 hot tubs over the two hotels). We have had hot tubs over ten years and have very rarely had any complaints or problems following guests’ stays, they have always been very happy. We do have signage on the hot tubs as you are not to use hot tubs if you have certain medical conditions or medication etc, it is just us asking if you did read the advice prior to use.
We had a burst on one of the inlet pipes to the swimming pool and had to have emergency repairs to which we had no notice to inform anyone. Guests do get use of the facilities in the village as well as the onsite pool and spa while staying with us which was offered and a sign was on our pool desk for guests wishing to use this.
The treatments are very popular and guests are advised to book prior to arrival as we cannot guarantee availability on the day.
We are ever so sorry if you were not asked for a top up of tea or coffee at breakfast, this is something that comes as second nature to us to ask when clearing plates, so we are very sorry if you were missed.
The laundry is not actually near the Parisian suite; there is a linen cupboard, but no noisy washer or tumble drier (the hotel laundry is in the grounds so as to not disturb anyone).
We are sorry you felt disappointed and that your stay was tainted, however we would be very happy if you did return at some future date to give us chance to prove to you that this was a one off occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked a night at Aphrodites lodge for our 10th anniversary. The weather was looking bad so we had good look online for somewhere with a nice pool and spa area so we wouldn't need to leave the hotel. The Aphrodite pool looked great on the website so we booked it.
We rang to try and book some treatments but there were none available (fair enough, we did leave it a little late).
We arrived 3 o clock but our room wasn't ready yet! So we went for a walk and returned, got into our bathrobes and headed down to the pool. We were then told that the pool and spa were closed for maintenance. We weren't very happy and the girl on the desk apologised but said we could have a late check out in the morning to use the pool.
In the morning we got a phone call to say that we still couldn't use the pool.
On checking out we complained, only to be told that we should've used the facilities at the Macdonald spa in Bowness with whom the hotel had an agreement. 20 hrs too late!!!
The manager said that we didn't pay for the pool and spa when we booked the hotel, we just paid for the room and the spa is free, which is pretty ludicrous. When you book a spa hotel you expect to be able to use he facilities and for £180 I'm sure we could have got a much better room only deal elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Strtech610keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Owner at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment. We had a burst on one of the inlet pipes to the pool and had to have emergency repairs to which we had no notice to inform anyone. Guests do get use of the facilities in the village as well as the onsite pool and spa while staying with us. We are as we were at the time very apologetic, the pool and spa usage is inclusive whilst you stay with us as is breakfast etc. The maintenance team did take the pool off the morning after the burst to check and make further repairs to the pool pipes to which we are very sorry but the lady at breakfast had not been informed of this. We did have a sign on the desk advising people they could use the facilities in the village and that were sorry for any inconvenience. The spa treatments do get booked up quite quickly as they are so popular and we do advise guests to book prior to arrival. The room you had had Jacuzzi and its own personal hot tub, which we feel is very reasonably priced at £180 in comparison to other local hotels with personal hot tubs; however we are sorry you do not agree. We do hope that this would not deter you from visiting us again at some point in the future to allow us to prove to you that this was a one off experience for which we are very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Property: Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing