We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious relaxing trip!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious relaxing trip!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed in the Love Suite which was perfect in every way! The round bed was so comfy and the bathroom was excellent (most probably the best part of the room).... We had a Hottub, Jacuzzi bath in which both had TV's and a shower which turned into a steam shower. It was very clean, plenty of towels and the facilities were spot on in the room. Breakfast was nice and the Prosecco was a nice touch. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only things i would say are-its a tad bit on the expensive side, i think checkin should be earlier and checkout should be later for the amount you pay, they didnt offer hash browns on the full english menu (best part of the breakfast for me thats the only reason it would of been nice to have them on there) and the toast was brung out straight away so was cold by the time the brekfast came out. Overall had a lovely stay and have already recommend to others!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellow2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your short break. The love suite is one of our most popular rooms with the hot tub inside the bathroom alongside the Jacuzzi bath and steam shower unit. We are sorry if you feel the room was expensive, however we feel we are competitively priced for the local area and the prices we charge, we have passed your comment on and thank you for your lovely comments we all work hard to ensure you take away lovely memories. We hope that we do welcome you back to us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    91
    32
    33
    20
See reviews for
3
426
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the Orchid suite and had a wonderful birthday trip, a real chance to 'get away from it all'. On arrival my husband was pleased to find a surprise birthday balloon in the room. We had our own hot tub and spa bath and enjoyed making use of them both. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice, and the bar was good value. We also really enjoyed making use of the pool and had some fab spa treatments each. Our only small gripe was when paying for the spa in cash, the lady did not have change and went to find us a five pound note, but it never materialised, so we did pay slightly more for the treatments than expected! But overall a brilliant visit, well worth the expense! Staff were very friendly and attentive, whilst being unobtrusive, and we really enjoyed travelling into Bowness and Windermere to try some of the restaurants on offer. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Orchid suite is by reception, but is very peaceful and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your relaxing birthday break with us. We are glad you enjoyed all your facilities of your room and your treatments, we will have to find out why you never got your change from the beauticians (they are self employed so are separate to the hotel). We all work hard to ensure you enjoy your break and we do hope to see you again soon, if you sign for our newsletter on the website you will be informed each time we are running special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed in Edelweiss room recently. Absolutely superb, reception staff so friendly and really helpful. Advised us road outside was dangerous to walk and got us a taxi to Windermere/Bowness only £3.50 each way. Got offered prosecco with breakfast and was pleasantly surprised to see it did not appear on the bill. Also breakfast in bed was only £4 per room, not per person. Only gripe was on arrival were told room not ready about 3.20. Receptionist then said 2 minutes later 'I will go see if it's ready and do final sign off' it was and I think probably had been but hadn't been 'signed off' I've read previous response about it being specialist rooms but come on manager, poor excuse, if that's the case hire more staff! Room perfect in every way but first impressions count and that's what lost it a star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garymck111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry if you were delayed getting into your room, we had recorded you coming to us about 2.40 on your registration card just as we were doing our second checks on all the hot tubs prior to people checking in, so we are sorry if you waited. We do hope this would not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room - room 11 - stunning bathroom - lots of towels
Staff lovely and also very helpful
Breakfast was yummy
Hot tub fantastic
Great pool and spa
We will defo visit you again
If we was to nit pick - hair found in the bathroom and also a champagne cork found under the glass table .
Many thanks xx

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buster1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following your short break away. We are glad you liked and used all the facilities and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booked this holiday as a surprise treat for my girlfriend and it exceeded all my hopes and expectations. The location was a bonus as far as I was concerned but it is set in a beautiful bit of forest just above Windermere. The building is unassuming from the outside but as soon as you enter the elegance of the interior becomes clear. The girl on reception when we arrived (didn't get a name) was instantly helpful and willing to assist with anything. We were immediately made to feel welcome. The optional extras and details of the spa were clearly and concisely explained before we were shown to our room.

If I was impressed before I saw the room thats nothing compared to my feelings when we got to open the door. The rooms features were so purely luxurious and the way the room was presented really set it off. The bathroom was probably the most impressive part, true luxury! The local bottled water provided in addition to the advertised and paid for extras really impressed me. If there was one criticism it would be that the rooms were very warm, a little too much for me at times.

The breakfast was fantastic as was the lunch we had on our relaxing day between our two nights. We used this day to relax and test of the pool and spa facilities. The pool was really nice and the changing rooms, steam room and sauna really impressed. The jacuzzi in the corner of the pool seemed to be switched off for part of the time and it was not clear how to change this. We both took advantage of the February spa treatments which were easy to book and we were both very pleased with the experience (one novice and one with some experience).

Yes it was expensive but you get what you pay for, complete luxury and excellent service! Thank you, we both hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Bella was very cosy and the bathroom was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are so glad she enjoyed her surprise! Thank you for your lovely comments, we all work hard to make your time spent with us a relaxed break with special memories to take away. The relaxation corner of the pool is set on a timer and goes on and off automatically. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had been planning to stay here for years but never made it however we will definitely be back very soon . The staff were lovely from arriving and being shown around to leaving . We had the burger for a snack omg was massive and lovely . We had breakfast in our room it arrived on time and was amazingly good it filled us for the day . The room was spotlessly clean . We did not use the spa this time but will definitely try next time . Cant wait to return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 79tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your break away with us and thank you for your lovely comments. Our foods are all locally sourced wherever we can and of course award winning butchers make all the difference. We do hope you don’t wait so long to book your next break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the aphrodites in the love haven room. On arrival,we didnt think it was going to be as amazing as we had thought when booking, but our Oppinion was soon changed when we was shown to our gorgeous room!! Very clean, and a luxurious place to stay! If your looking for a relaxing break then this is the place to come! Staff were also very helpful, only thing I would say that lets it down is the outside, could do with brightening up the building with a lick of paint, apart from this we had a lovely relaxing stay and would recommend!
Not a cheap place to stay, and do think it is slightly over priced but overall I would say a very good place to stay! Thank you'

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averill1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent break away with us. We are glad you liked your room and the facilities, and thank you for your comments; we have passed these on for you. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Property: Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing