We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a hidden gem of a hotel! It looks like a normal hotel from the outside, however when you step through the door you will be pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the Bella suite and it was fabulous, like no other hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was on two levels with the bedroom down a small set of steps to a very elegantly decorated room with a large comfy bed. The bathroom was to die for with its own hot tub. The staff were friendly and willing to help in any way they could. Absolutely superb! Will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, its great to here that after our recent refurbishment the room was to your liking. we have also passed on your lovely comments to the staff which was greatly received.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just got back from 4 nights at Aphrodities Lodge. We booked the Amaryllis Suite over a month ago deciding on the lake district for a well deserved break. I have never stayed at a hotel quite like this, the staff, the room, the food, were all absolutely flawless. When we first arrived we were given a tour of the hotel and it's fantastic facilities, which really helped us settle in and feel welcome. When shown to our room we were speechless as we found it was even better than it looked in the photo's (which is not usually the case with most hotels!) The room we had booked was one of the cheapest in the hotel and we had lowered our expectations however we were thrilled with the service we received and amazed by the attention to detail. All of the staff are incredibly hard working; reception, breakfast and housekeeping. They are always 100 percent focused, polite and always happy to help.The staff, fantastic food, gorgeous room and the excellent pool/spa facilities made our stay one of the most enjoyable we have ever had. Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesMatthewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Aphrodite's Lodge.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have passed on all your wonderful comments about the staff to them and they were all very pleased that their service was appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Aphrodite's again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not to be recommended on a number of levels. The lodge while pleasant enough was smaller than their exceedingly clever photographer had portrayed. Bathroom was fabulous.The wifi in our lodge wouldn't work. Breakfast was unimaginative, 4 days the same, the fruit salad very boring. While the staff were really very helpful, the arrogance of management was apparent. I am a smoker and accept no smoking, but looking back to their website could not find any reference to a total nonsmoking policy, a small outdoor smoking area would have been pleasant and not to have had to stand by the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roshanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Firstly we would like to apologise that your stay was not what you expected.

We were glad that you found the bathroom facilities to your liking, all the rooms and bathrooms in the hotel have been recently refurbished to a high standard.
We would also like to apologise for the WiFi not working during your stay we have since found out that they are installing high speed broadband in the area which was effecting all local WiFi connections but I'm happy to report that all is running well at present.
We do offer a varied selection on our breakfast menu but we are now looking at improving it.

We have also taken the comments on board regarding the smoking area and happy to say we now have a smoking area on the grounds under cover.

Once again we apologise that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Myself and partner recently visited Aphrodites Lodge and got engaged during our stay. Obviously I had planned this and wanted a luxurious hotel with great facilities, and I wasn't disappointed. I booked the Love Nest Cabin which was lovely and secluded at the rear of the garden. The cabin had a private hot tub outside and an amazing bathroom with double bath (with tv) and also steam enclosure. We had breakfast in bed the first day (extra £4pp) which was really nice. The breakfast was a great start to the day and the Prosecco was very nice as well. We visited the pool and had some treatments during our stay, both of which were nice. We also had a few drinks at the bar which were very reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard.

Overall we couldn't fault the hotel, its facilities or the staff we encountered. Yes it is expensive, but I certainly feel you get what you pay for, after all the rooms would not be cheap to furnish as they are!

We shall hopefully be returning next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Firstly Congratulations on your engagement !

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would also like to wish you all the best in the future together and look forward to welcoming you back to Aphrodite's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Upon arrival we had to wait in a queue before we could check in. Check in is not until 1500 so you have everyone arriving for the same time to make most of the rooms so we were left waiting with other couples. While you are waiting we were handed the terms and conditions of our stay which didn't really get our visit off to a very good start. We were eventually shown to our room where once again we were handed a crib sheet of dos and donts, opening closing times etc. We also had to ask for the WiFi details which had to be brought to our room separately, again this was not available the following morning as it appeared to have been turned off.

I booked the Parisian suite as a surprise birthday treat for my wife. At the time of booking I pre ordered the French House champagne and chocolates to be in the room on our arrival. This was where the disappointment started as I was given a bottle of 'Aldi' own brand champagne and paid £32 for the privilege, that same weekend the same champagne was on offer for £11!!! As per Aldis advert on TV. We then went to reception to complain where the very rude receptionist stated that it was French Champagne and we could have ordered other and that all the House Champagne is Aldi !!!!!! We would not expect a Boutique Hotel to serve you anything from Aldi, my wife then enquired on check out if this was standard procedure and was told it was advertised as French House Champagne and that the Aldi Champagne is served at both the Aphrodite's and the sister hotel which is the Windermere Boutique. We were also told that they purchase from local suppliers but when as Aldi been local. Oh and by the way the Prosecco served with breakfast is also Aldi!!!! It's like being served Lambrini at The Hilton......... We were told very arrogantly that if we didn't like it to send an email!!!!!! Great Customer Service.

We were very disappointed by these finer details and we feel that we should share with other travellers that when you purchase French House Champagne please note where it's coming from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JpaulR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We would like to apologise that you were disappointed with your stay at Aphrodite's Lodge.

We are sorry that you were left waiting at reception on your arrival this is a rare occurrence as we try our utmost to give a warm and welcoming welcome to all guests arriving at the hotel.

Regarding the WiFi we have recently found out that the they were installing high fibre broadband in the area which has effected a lot of the local connections but we are happy to report that this is now rectified and we are all running as normal.

We would like to apologise if our House Champagne is not to your liking, regarding its origin we purchase this from a local supplier.

We try our best to respond to all complements and complaints quickly and find that the best way for us to assure that this happens efficiently is to have guests send them to the hotel in writing either by mail or by e mail so that each one is is dealt with promptly and efficiently.

Once again we would like to apologise that your stay was not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My partner booked a night away here for my birthday, but unfortunately we were not 100% impressed! Having read that the rooms had sky sports my partner and I planned on watching the football in the jacquzzi but there was only sky sports on the main TV in the lounge area so don't be fooled! The spa is nothing more than a basic pool and steam room, and the changing rooms have no privacy at all can't understand why there is no cubicles to change! Rather awkward changing into swimwear with 6 ladies in one small open area. The room was nice and very clean although the hottub water was extremely dirty. The bed was comfy and overall the room was ok but the same can't be said about the whole stay. While we were relaxing in the jacquzzi we were alarmed by the fire alarm so we quickly got dressed and rushed downstairs to which the staff did not ease us,infact they just ignored the guests stood in the corridor wondering what was going on..they could of told us there was no fire and to return to our rooms but they just stood trying to turn the alarm off and left us all worried! The alarm went off a further two times after this but we tried to ignore it, finding it hard to relax. We then had a knock on the door from the receptionist at 10.30pm asking us to turn our jacquzzi jets off as they disturb others! We payed over £200 pound for 1 night to relax and wasn't able to use the jacquzzi after 10.30 which is very disappointing especially with check in being so late and check out being a little early you definitely don't get your money's worth! Some of the staff were very good..One lady on the reception was very friendly and helpful and another man who seemed to be doing maintenance work showed us the best places to go and great directions!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robyngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We would like to apologise that your experience at Aphrodite's lodge was not pleasant one.

We would like to apologise for the misunderstanding regarding the Sky Sports all our rooms do have Sky Sports but we do not advertise the fact that it is available in the bathrooms.

We are sorry that our pool and spa area did not meet your expectation but they are of a high standard and are reflected well in the photographs on our website, regarding the cubical s in the changing rooms these comments have been taken on board and are being reviewed.

The Hot tubs in the rooms are checked on a daily basis by a qualified technician and water quality and temp are checked and recorded daily.

regarding the fire alarm being sounded we can only apologise, this was set off by a guest misusing the facilities and does rarely happen and all staff have been re-evaluated on their fire procedures.

The reason for guest being asked not to use the Hot tubs and spa baths after 10:30 pm is out of respect for other guests as the noise can disturb other guests around them.

We have passed on your positive comments to the relevant staff and they were delighted and very grateful.

once again our deepest apologise that you stay was not to you expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Me and my husband visted the Aphrodiate Lodge between 12th -14th April. We were here for a mini honeymoon and it couldnt of been better. It was nice and quiet & relaxing which wad great for us. We stopped in 2differrnt lodges The Aphrodiate lodge and The Love Nest. Personally I preferred the Aprodiate Lodge simply for the layout however the facilities within both lodges were excellent. We had a few issues with the Love nest as the surround sound wasnt working and this wasnt able to be fixed until next day but we were checking out so we were offered a late check out which we accepted.

The Spa was lovely and we used this both days we were there and also the breakfast was very nice. Overal we enjoyed our honeymoon and would recommend here to friends and family. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank united14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Firstly congratulations on your marriage!
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I must apologise for the problem you had with the sound bar I'm afraid that the sound bar was a faulty unit and has been replaced thank you again for reporting the problem and sorry it couldn't have been sorted for you before your departure and we look forward to welcoming yourselves back to Aphrodite's Lodge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £171 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing