We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The most amazing relaxing place ever. We had the Aphrodite Cabin which was beautiful. Very private and secluded. Hot tub, steam shower and spa bath all fantastic. Food amazing and breakfast in our room on the decking in the sunshine is the best way to start your day followed by a dip back in the hot tub. I cannot fault this place. I will defiantly be returning. A perfect romantic treat.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We are over the moon that you found your stay relaxing and you enjoyed all the facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    92
    33
    34
    20
See reviews for
3
432
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was really nice, but extremely over priced for where it is.
It took us 20 minutes to walk into Bowness and some of the roads had no pavement, so we had to walk on the road.
There were restrictions of when we could use the hot tub and Jacuzzi bath (for other guests benefits, we appreciate this).
But for £240 per night, we won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are pleased that you you enjoyed your stay overall, And as you pointed out the restrictions in times for the use of the Hot tubs and Spa Baths is for the the benefit to all other guests in the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the aphrodites lodge for 2 nights in June and after some trepidation that the place couldn't be as good as the photos suggested, I was thrilled that the pictures didn't do it justice. This place is an amazing retreat, a welcome escape from real life.
We had the Iris suite which was immaculate. I still can't get over how big the bathroom was! The spa bath and outdoor hot tub were a real treat. The staff were very helpful and friendly which always makes a place extra special. Breakfast was fantastic, the prosecco is a nice touch.
All in all a fantastic place and great value for money when compared to other places offering similar facilities. We are already planning our next visit :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review.

We Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was in a lovely location not right in the middle of town but only a short walk from it, the service was very good and there was loads to choose from at breakfast. We stopped in the Bella room, the room itself was lovely it was great having a living room to relax in after a day travelling around seeing the sights. My only advise would be not to book a room with an indoor hot tub as there was no way of avoiding the chemical smell in the room. Other than that the room was a lovely layout, very clean, tidy and facilities in the room were excellent. We would stop again but maybe go for a room with a whirlpool bath this time, it was fab having the hot tub but for us we now realise having the hot tub outside is better... But please don't let this put you off booking this room as everyone has different preferences!

Room Tip: The Bella room is lovely and has a nice layout having a separate living room was fab and the indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are happy that you found your overall stay with us was a great one. We have also taken not of the comments that you have made and are looking at ways to improve on them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just celebrated our 25th anniversary here and we were not disappointed. Having seen the hotel on the internet sometimes you wonder if the rooms will live up to expectation. We stayed in the Edelweiss suite and I can only say it was even better than I could imagine. The hotel was clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Because it is not a massive hotel it has a very calm and relaxed atmosphere. The room, the breakfast and the surroundings were all first class. We chose this hotel to celebrate our special occasion but I will not be waiting for another special occasion before returning again. Every anniversary is going to be special from now on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel.

Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary and we are so delighted that you chose us to celebrate such a milestone.

We are pleased that you have had a great stay and glad that you loved the room and the décor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited here celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary & had a fantastic time. We stayed in the Red Rose Suite & absolutely loved it. I chose the Love package which consisted of rose petals on our bed, chilled Champagne, heart shaped chocolates & a single red rose on arrival.
The room was spacious with the most amazing bathroom with a deep air massage bath with mood lighting & a TV but you can have music on it & a wine holder & glasses. It also has King & Queen basins & a fab shower.
The bed was great & faced a log fire & it was amazing lying in bed with the fire flickering.
The room has patio doors which open out onto the garden with decking that featured our private hot tub.
Breakfast was great with many options & well presented. We didn't use the spa facilities but they looked beautiful.
We would definitely recommend a visit to this boutique hotel & challenge you not to fall in Love with it.

Room Tip: Check the website out & choose one of the rooms you feel suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary.

Thank you for the glowing review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, its great to here the time spent refurbishing all the rooms was time well spent.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After getting married we booked to stay at the Aphrodite's lodge in 'the love shack' for 3 nights.
Upon arriving we were met with a pleasant receptionist who checked us in very swiftly but we were earlier than the 3 o'clock check in time which is a very late time considering £250 a night cost wanting to enjoy the amenities! The room was clean and roomy and leers presented beautifully, however we soon discovered that the logs for our fire were tied down and for display only we had to buy an Eco log for and extra £2.99 to use the fire. There was no hammock as advertised, and when booked the gym facilities were advertised but when we arrived they had got rid of it and we had to use another hotels facilities 15 minutes walk away. When in the hotel there was a lot of unfriendly staff who were put out when asked if they could get us a drink, directions and quite unwelcoming. It felt as if you were getting on their nerves asking help or in fact a drink. All the cleaners, maids were particularly friendly and more than happy to help.
As one of the days was heavily raining we decided to book a full body message- looking at the price list in our room we booked through reception as instructed. The message was great but when asked to pay they wanted cash- no one had told us when booking, before the message or in the book in the room? My husband had to pay for a taxi in to town to withdraw money which added an extra cost and un did the relaxing mood he had paid £60 for! Very inconvenient to say the least and the girls were sat waiting to be paid as if it was life or death which was off putting! Upon checking out at 10:30am (early for 1 night stays) the receptionist had told us we still had an outstanding payment of £20 for the messages as they weren't £60 each they were in fact £70 but the prices in the rooms stated £60 this was embarrassing to say the least and we didn't pay the £20 as they hadn't put the correct price . All in all the hotel is in a great location and very unique but I felt like the hotel are charging top prices for minimal effort and service! Quite disappointing really,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel

We would like to apologise that your stay was not to your satisfaction.

we have taken all your comments on board and we will make improvements where we can to improve our service and guest experience in the future.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Property: Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing