We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon getaway”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My Husband booked this hotel for our 'mini-moon', and it was absolutely perfect! He had booked the Love Nest log cabin, and it was simply stunning. We had our own private hot tub, with decking, hammock, sun loungers, the works. Hot tub was brilliant, even in the small rain shower we had whilst there.
The inside of the log cabin was beautiful, lovely sofa, fantastic king size bed, log burner (although we didn't need this as it was summer). The bathroom was awesome! Huge Jacuzzi bath, complete with TV, shower and steam room, twin sinks.
Hotel was really good, staff lovely and helpful. We ate in the hotel one evening, they only offer 'light snacks', but this was more than enough for us on our quiet night, and was absolutely delicious.
Swimming pool was really good, we were the only ones in it when we used it, so felt like our own private pool.
Was about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Bowness, down hill, and some was without a footpath, but there were very little cars, so not a problem for us. Taxi back cost around £4.
Spa facilities also available at the hotel, I had a massage from one of the ladies, which was wonderful.
All in all a great stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your great review and Congratulations on your marriage.

We are so happy that you chose Aphrodite's to celebrate such a special occasion and that you both had a wonderful time.

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    95
    35
    35
    22
See reviews for
3
441
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have experienced many high quality hotels and log cabins with hot tubs and this one ranks up there with the best. Great setting,plenty of peace and quiet and close to Bowness if you want a short walk or a quick taxi ride. We had lunch in the hotel which was very good but unfortunately one little set back was that they dont offer dinner on an evening, we knew this before we went so this isnt a complaint just pointing something out which if available would have put the Aphrodite right at the top of our future choices. Would be nice if we could have stayed in for one of the two evenings we were there instead of having to go into Bowness as the dining room has a great setting with very tasteful upmarket decor. The log cabin we had was immaculate, the hot tub superb and the batroom was to die for. Breakfast on both mornings was superb just wished now that we had ordered it to the room. All in all a great stay which we would highly recommend and one we will be returning to hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that you found your cabin and its facilities "superb"

Thank you again for you review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and the welcome we received was wonderful. The staff were so friendly, couldn't do enough for you to make sure we were settled and happy.

The rooms are gorgeous, as is the decor of the whole place, very luxurious. The swimming pool was perfect after a long motorcycle journey, although a little odd having an open changing room (gender separated, but still weird). The garden area was beautiful, we had a lovely evening sat outside eating dinner. Food was great, lovely breakfast and nice to have something to eat in the evenings too.

The only slight issue was due to the heat we had to have the windows open, but were then kept awake by the noise of the hot tubs beneath us. Not much to be done about that, just really unfortunate.

Would love to come back again, and stay longer to explore the beautiful area of the Lake District!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (car park side) will be quieter as they are away from the hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintageabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay and the staff are pleased that you had a good time and are grateful for the review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in the Iris suite, which was £220 for the night. The hot tub was the main draw to this hotel, and we were not disappointed. On arrival the staff at Reception were very helpful and welcoming and this continued through our stay. The room itself was very pleasant and the hot tub was lovely. There were no faults with the standard of cleanliness and the room, which was very well presented. The box of chocolates and biscuits on the pillows was a nice touch. The Internet TV and blue ray dvd player were also a nice touch and the whole hotel was finished and presented to a high standard. Although we did not have time to make use of the pool or spa, it did look very nice and relaxing when we were shown round. Breakfast was very nice, we both had the cooked breakfast and all the produce appeared to be that of a high quality.

My critiques would be that the spa bath was incredibly underwhelming, it was not really deep enough and was very uncomfortable to sit in. However, the hot tub and shower/steam room made up for this so it wasn't much of an issue. Slippers would have been a nice addition to the room to accompany the robes that were provided as the decking by the hot tub was very uncomfortable on your feet. The rules about not being able to use the hot tub after 10:30 were a shame, but I understand that this is due to noise and the hot tubs being cleaned, but it would have been nice to sit in it at night. Although the duvet was very comfortable and soft it was far too thick for July and we were both boiling with it on.

Overall we had a lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious feel that this hotel offered. The standard of customer service was very high and all the staff were welcoming and polite and seemed genuinely happy to help. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing (and romantic) weekend away.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 231Sarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel.

We are so pleased that you had a great stay and that you found the room to your liking and enjoyed using the Hot tub.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise for my 50th birthday. We stayed in the "Love Nest Cabin" for 3 nights. It is a beautfigul lodge and very private. The bathroom was absolutely stunning with twin sinks, double jacuzzi bath with tv and shower which doubled up as a steam room - what more could one wish for! The bed was very comfortable and the the room beautifully decorated. The private decking area was well equipped with two sun loungers, swing seat, hammock and a hot tub. It was an amazing and relaxing break. The swimming pool area is also well worth a visit. The staff were very helpful, friendly and extremely polite - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was declicious. An array of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, smoothie, juices, bucks fizz, unlimited toast and a freshly cooked breakfast made to order. A great start to the day. For a special occasion this hotel is a must and I would definitely stay here again. Thank you all for a memorable birthday.

Room Tip: A room with its own outdoor hot tub is a must for that special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122GAILS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found all the facilities great.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and i celebrated our 1 year anniversary at this hotel. on monday evening, the grounds and surroudings are beautiful and the staff are very friendly. the lady who checked us in (sorry i am unsure of her name) was extremely pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her. being a hotel receptionist myself these small points matter and she was amazing at her job.
we loved our room and all the little extras and loved loved loved the outside hot tub, if i had one small issue it would just be that the room which we was in (room 10) was very close to the reception and lacked privacy slightly but this did not affect our stay and i would definately recommend this hotel and staff to all my friends. also alcoholic drinks are very reasonably priced which is always nice for a high standard hotel.

we had a fantastic time and a brilliant one year anniversary so thank you

Room Tip: if you want a gorgeous romantic room choose the love suite room 10 if you dont mind being close to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichola_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are so pleased that you chose us to celebrate you 1st Anniversary and that you loved the room and the facilities.

We have passed on your comments to the staff and she was pleased that she could have been of help to you.

Regarding the room being so close to reception we have fitted this room with a double door on the room so as to make it private and there is no disturbance from the reception area and to make it private for the guests.

Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise for me as a birthday present. On arriving the hotel does not have the wow factor and do not put off by the reception area. It is a beautiful place, very quiet and relaxing. The staff were very helpful and extremely polite and willing to help and assist if you needed them to. We stayed in the "Love Nest" cabin. It had an outdoor hot tub, jacuzzi bath, steam room and shower. It was perfect, very romantic and extremely relaxing. Would highly recommend. The only one recommendation I would make is the use of a fridge in the lodge would be great. We had to go to reception to ask for a bucket of ice, which was no problem but a fridge would solve this. The weather was fantastic so this really made the holiday.

Room Tip: The lodge is definately worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so glad that you found us welcoming and the hotel relaxing, We have passed on your comments to the staff who were delighted to here their hard work was appreciated.

We have also taken on your comments and have passed the on.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Property: Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing