We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor for the price ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel at all. It was an extreme rip off for what you get. The pool area is small, the sauna was broke and the steam room smelt funny and was extremely small. Most of the staff were miserable and looked like they didn't want to work there. No decent food to have at night except soggy toasties. It is in the middle of no where, if you wanted to walk it was down very unsafe roads!! My room over looked the hot tub rooms outside! I did NOT want to see that. Honestly, look else where. 100% not worth the money!! The pictures that are on the website are very deceiving. We won't be returning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
22  Thank NL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and we did not meet with your expectations.

To regards to the staff we get much praise from guests at how welcoming and friendly the staff are but are very sorry if this wasn't the case during your stay.

In relation to our location to Bowness town centre we are approx 20 Min walk from the town centre or a short taxi ride into town.

Once again we are sorry that we did not meet with you expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked the love haven room for our first wedding anniversary on 4th and 5th august. I could not fault a thing or couldn't say anything to be changed! We will be returning every august for a special treat. It is a little expensive but it is worth it for a few night of luxury. See you soon x mr and mrs heilds

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joheilds18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Firstly congratulations on your first wedding anniversary!!

We are so thrilled that you chose to celebrate this special time with us and that you found the hotel and its facilitates to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this lodge for one night and it was really good. Hot tub was relaxing but later realised that at the bottom there were dead flies and other horrible bits and bats. The actual room was clean and cosy - managed to get a good night's sleep. Shame the hotel doesnt provide meals only light snacks however town centre is only 5 mins drive and lots of places to eat. Was a bit pricey but would love to go back again. They should be able to allow children as the bedrooms are so big and im sure the children would like to spend time in a private hot tub/jacuzzi

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aftab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Aphrodite's Hotel.

I'm glad you had a great stay overall, and can only apologise for the any dirt in the bottom of the hot tub they are emptied daily and cleaned and refilled and chemical levels checked.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This has been the most wonderful hotel experience we have ever had. Every aspect is perfect. We stayed in the love nest cabin which was very secluded and quiet. We had our own outdoor hot tub and decking area. No expense has been spared with the decor of the room and hotel. We had a fantastic massage in the hotel spa and paid extra for breakfast in bed ( well worth the extra £4pp). We also paid extra for a late check out which meant we could relax a little longer. This hotel is a little bit of heaven and we plan to return for our anniversary each year. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for your great review.

Firstly congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us at Aphrodite's Hotel, we were so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed using the facilities available to yourselves and found them to your liking.

We are so pleased that you have chosen to return for your next Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at aphrodites, we decided on trying another room. On arriving at the hotel we were shown around the hotel and then shown to our room which was literally 2 foot maximum from reception. We stayed in the red rose suite, the room is huge! The bathroom is fabulous a twin sink unit shower and an massive spa bath and television. The room boasts a patio with hot tub. On arriving in the room I expected to open patio doors and the hot tub was there like in the orchid room, how wrong was I?! We opened the patio door to be lead to the communal garden, turn left and round the corner there was our hot tub and patio area. So it was a case of dress in your robe and put it on the floor or hang it from the love swing, maybe having a few little hooks would solve the problem of your robe getting wet as it rained during our stay.
We paid for an Eco log so we could make use of the fire place we had, at £2.95 it's worth it the room was really cosy with it lit, the finishing touches to a well deserved break away.
The room is side on to the hotel kitchen so it can get a little bit noisy from around 0730 with the staff getting ready for breakfast service, if your a heavy sleeper you'll be fine. Breakfast was lovely, hearty food served promptly to your table a small breakfast sets you up for the day. The swimming pool and spa facilities add that extra bit of luxury to your stay. We paid £20 for a late check out of 12 o'clock so we could use the hot tub before left :) all the staff that we spoke too were really friendly and very professional they are a credit to the hotel.
Overall our second stay was lovely. We will be trying other rooms if were fortunate enough to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for your great review.

We are so glad that you have enjoyed another stay with us and found the room and its facilities to your liking. We have passed on your wonderful comments to the staff who were all delighted that you had enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not so distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have stayed here a few times now trying out the different rooms and has always been lovely and relaxing! The staff and the facilities are brilliant! We really enjoyed the added spa which we saw built from the beginning and the spa treatments available really do the trick!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for a lovely review.

We are so glad that you had another great stay with us and find the hotel staff friendly and welcoming.

We look forward to seeing you both very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Gorgeous setting, nice welcome from friendly staff. We were in the Iris Suite which has it's own hot tub outside which is totally private. We had the "Love Package" at £53 which consists of a small box of chocolates (SMALL) a few red rose petals sprinkled on the bed, a real wrapped red rose and "House Champagne". This was nice to see on arrival in the room, with two large towels folded into the shape of kissing swans at the end of the bed with the rose petals sprinkled over. There were also two small heart shaped boxes on the pillows, one with some ginger biscuits (not very nice tbh!) and another with heart shaped chocolates inside. The bathroom was very luxurious, large jacuzzi bath with different settings and a TV in the wall. Unfortunately the tv crashed and froze so we couldn't change channel or turn it off but we weren't going to use it anyway. We went out for something to eat as they don't have a restaurant service, on return we jumped in the hot tub and enjoyed some champagne! I thought the champagne was ok and ordered another bottle at £32. Room service was fast and friendly. Halfway thro that bottle i was curious where it was from and decided to look it up on my phone incase we could buy it when we got home at a later date. Lo and behold, the champagne we had been given is made specifically for ALDI and only costs £9.99! So we had spent £64 on two bottles that only cost £19.98! I simply can't believe somewhere that is so nice would even consider selling ALDI champagne to it's guests, let alone charge such a mark up. I didn't want to make a fuss at the hotel and ruin our nice night away so i emailed them and the response from the manager was that it was an emergency supply as they couldnt get the one they normally get, even though this review here -

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g190820-d279583-r202131128-Aphrodites_Hotel_with_Pool_and_Spa_Complex-Bowness_on_Windermere_Lake_District_Cu.html

- shows that this "emergency supply" has been going on for a while but i wonder just how long? We also ordered a chilli meal with bread which was nice and again quick friendly service. The next morning we went downstairs into the "breakfast area" and enjoyed a nice cooked breakfast and some toast/cereals. In short, i would recommend this hotel as a place to stay for a romantic getaway BUT if you fancy the house champagne - take your own!!!

Room Tip: All hot tub rooms are very private, however, it may be possible to hear others when you're in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StueyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMTEJ, Manager at Aphrodites Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your break away with us. and found the staff friendly and welcoming and the room and its facilitates to your liking.

Regarding the Champagne we have changed suppliers to try and help to keep up with the demand and we are hoping that we should have enough to supply the demand in the future.

The ginger bread that we use in the rooms is the famous and award winning Grasmere Ginger Bread as we try and use all local suppliers.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,084 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodites Boutique Hotel

Address: Longtail Hill, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JD, England (Formerly Aphrodites Hotel with Pool and Spa Complex)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £173 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodites Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aphrodite's Lodge offers luxurious sumptuous beds, bathrooms with large spa/whirlpool baths Our suites are perfect for a break, or that special occasion in one of the most beautiful parts of England. Many rooms have outside garden areas and luxurious Villeroy & Boch bathrooms, plus elegant decor and stylish furnishings. Our New Love Suite Collection includes The Love Haven, The Love Nest, The Love Shack Cabin, The Love Suite, The Orchid & The Red Rose Suite which offer the ultimate in romance, luxury and indulgence. Spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. All guests can enjoy use of the hotel spa facilities which incorporates an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and pool fountain. We also have 3 beauty and nail treatment areas where we have wide choice of pampering beauty treatments available at extra cost. The Aphrodite's Hotel is ideally situated in a tranquil setting less than a 5 minute drive into Bowness on Windermere where you will find the lake with boating facilities, plenty of restaurants, wine bars, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Aphrodites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodites Lodge
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing