We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Elim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elim House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Elim House.

The owners were so friendly and attentive and made us feel really welcome from the moment we got there. The breakfast was lovely - you chose what you wanted from the menu the night before so it saved a lot of hassle in the morning.

The only slight negative, (and only if I was being really picky), was that the shower in our room wasn't that great and could do with updating. However, this would definitely not stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hop_N_Broads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Owners (and trainee owners) were all very friendly and helpful (even tumble drying my 'very wet coat') The stay we had was made so much better by the friendly team who ran the B&B. We as a party of 4 would recomend the Guest House as being very central, having a place to park the car, clean and tidy rooms and friendly owners. Thank you for making our stay such a good one.

Room Tip: If you are tall, don't stay in rooms 5,6 or 7 as they are in the attic space so had sloping celi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marg58NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Fab fab fab place to stay. The couple that run the hotel are soo friendly and helpful.

Clean room with clean bedding and towels. Tv, tea and coffee ameneties, free wifi.

No parking on site and is very limited on the street.

Its in a very good location. Cinema and shops a two minute walk away and the lake is a ten minute walk. Lovely place to stay and would recommend to anybody wanting to visit windermere.

Breakfast was nice.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely B&B. Stayed for a weekend earlier this year. Very convenient location for both Windermere and Bowness on Windermere, both in walking distance from the B&B. Guest parking available. Lovely large breakfast, with a number of options available. Friendly staff. The only improvements for me would be updating the decor, maybe removing one of the tables from the dining room to create a bit more space and the room we stayed in was in an outbuilding with a view of a wall (but the room itself was very clean, comfortable and quiet). We had a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This B&B is in a quiet location only a short walk from lake windermere,shops,restaurants and pubs,if you book a stay here you will receive a warm welcome a clean room and a good selection for breakfast which you can choose from each day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This B&B is in a beautiful garden setting close to the main street and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice, though a little on the small side. There is only a small amount of guest parking and we had to find a parking spot several streets away.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are a problem ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 755denisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

when we first arrived we were allocated room 7 at the top of the house, very nice room but it had a sloping ceiling and i banged my head twice in the space of an hour. I went to see the owner and she gladly showed us another room which was absolutely lovely room 10. It was very spacious with a kingsize bed lovely sized bathroom with overhead shower. The breakfast was beautiful couldnt fault anything would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: room 10 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieSouthElmsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Elim Lodge
Elim Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bowness-on-Windermere
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim House

Address: Elim House Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly & peaceful home from home with award winning garden, set in the heart of the English Lake district. Mark and Grace provide a warm welcome to all. We have garaging for Motor Cycle. Minimum 2 nights weekends, 3 nights Bank Holidays. All rooms are en-suite, some with 4 four poster beds and two with super-kingsize beds. Strictly adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Elim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Elim House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing