We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & value for money”
Review of Elim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elim House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location just 2 minutes walk from shops, restaurants and 5 minutes walk to the lake. We arrived earlier then check in time and were able to check in and access our room, large four poster at front of b&b over looking the garden. Room was clean with everything you need for a short break. Breakfast nice and because you but your order the night before arrives quickly. Would stay again if visiting Bowness and planning on staying over. Parking was fine as we had no problems getting in the 4 space car park located at the rear of the guest house also had parking on front on road with no restrictions if car park is full.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Arrived and greeted with a smile, everything explained and ample parking at rear, good size rooms and good breakfast, rooms average size and very clean, easy 2 minute walking to the main street, ample places to have a meal. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorneliusM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We only booked for one night - an escape from the decorating during a week off in Easter. We were able to park at the back in a private car park which is a must for my other half - (men and cars!).

Our room was large and comfortable and overlooked the front garden which was lovely and the four poster bed was a bonus. It was lovely to be able to control our own heating in the room as we both don't like it overwarm and have suffered in B&B's in the past of over-zealous or under-zealous heating. The only, very small, downside was that there was a lack of pressure in the shower - but not sufficient to worry us.

Elim house had character and atmosphere - it felt very homely and personal unlike the impersonal touch of the larger hotel/chains. Breakfast was lovely and the chance to order the night before meant when we did go down it arrived speedily.

The only 'staff' we encountered during our stay was the owner/landlady - she seemed to be doing everything single-handedly and she was welcoming and friendly.

Finally the location was spot on. A walk to the lake and near a variety of restaurants and cafes. We ate at the Italian nearest - very reasonable (very busy!!!) but the food and service was great.

All in all this is a proper traditional English Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay - if we return to Windermere we'll be staying again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked after looking at the ratings on tripadvisor. But as soon as we reached we realized it was much over hyped. The host was an old lady who was rude from the very beginning, she was rude to the extent that she even pointed out that we should not even go up and down from our rooms. You would not be able to speak even in your own rooms as the landlady would come and complaint. Horrible services. Please never visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shahs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Please see the review entitled nice 4 day stay as I think this explains what really happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

firstly the good points lovely room(10) great location nice host good breakfast lovely first 2 days then the weekend came and a change of guest a group of young people arrived and caused a nuisance of themselves lots of noise doors banging woke us up on the friday night at about 1am was going to speak to the landlady but she approached when we went down for breakfast and asked if we had been disturbed she then spoke to the group and said they would have to leave if they persisted in there behaviour they woke us up on the saturday at about 2am we had a word and they calmed down

this is no way the b&b fault it was just a bunch of young people who have no respect for other guests and think that they can do what they want with no consequences and i am afraid this is the way of the world

we walked past there room as we left there were beer cans and rubbish all over the room i felt sorry for the chambermaid.

dont let it put you off as i think this was a 1 off the room food and location were great

thanks for a great stay it would have 5 stars apart from the disturbances

thanks carl and michelle

Room Tip: room 10 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, and once again apologies for the unruly guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a standard UK B&B. Its clean, reasonable priced, the breakfast is ok, and the furntiure generally a bit outdated, but fine.
The main problem of our room was the mattress. It was obviously very old and completely worn out, one could feel a lot of springs. My partner and me had both back pain every morning. The bathroom smelled of sausages and bacon every morning as its seems the extractor fans was connected to the kitchen.
One more problem that future guest might encounter is the latest check-in time. We were advised only after the booking that this was 9pm. The website does not state that. Arriving after such time (10pm in our case) seemed to cause severe trouble to Judith as she told us she needs her sleep. Simply leaving the keys also appeared to cause discomfort and annoyance (which she did do, but only after beeing grumpy and annoyed).
It seems from some cards in the breakfast rooms, that there a few people coming here every year for the past 5-10 years. Those might have missed out on improvements on facilities in recent years and therefore explain the overrating !

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 2. That is the one with the worn out mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si_and_Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay here. But I would like to clarify a few points with you. Firstly, you booked through Expedia and on the website it does state that our latest check-in is 9pm (It's at the bottom of the page). B & B's do have latest check-in times as they do not have 24 hour receptions as do hotels. I also emailed you to point this out well in advance of your arrival. Secondly, your room was above the kitchen and not connected to the extractor and because we are a B & B we do cook bacon and sausage. If you had a problem, I would have appreciated if you would let me know whilst you were here and not after your departure so that your concerns could have been rectified. As you pointed out, we do have an extremely good repeat business so most people seem to like staying here, but then you can't please everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large old house which offered excellent, though basic, accommodation. Stayed for 2 nights in an attic room and we were more than happy with the facilities. Staff / owner was great and very friendly. What a night's sleep!..the bed was so comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with plenty to offer. The front garden was very nice and enjoyed several coffees there accompanied by a lot of birds fluttering around...very pleasant. Not expensive and have paid a lot more for less. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Elim Lodge
Elim Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bowness-on-Windermere
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#30 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim House

Address: Elim House Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly & peaceful home from home with award winning garden, set in the heart of the English Lake district. Mark and Grace provide a warm welcome to all. We have garaging for Motor Cycle. Minimum 2 nights weekends, 3 nights Bank Holidays. All rooms are en-suite, some with 4 four poster beds and two with super-kingsize beds. Strictly adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Elim House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing