We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”
Review of Elim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elim House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Elim House which is in a great location. I had stayed there before and once again this time the twin bed room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. The cooked breakfast was very good and Judith was very welcoming. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The dubious honour of my first ever negative review on any site goes to Elim House, where a great location was marred by an inhospitable host and a tired interior.

Despite having been clear of an arrival time of 9pm and agreed earlier in the day on the phone to call ahead should we be running a little late, I was dismayed when upon calling as a courtesy to say we may be around five minutes late was met with the rather staccato response from Elim House's Judith along the lines of "well get here as soon as you can, I'm tired and have had a long day". Upon just double-checking my emails to confirm it was me that was paying for a service rather than the other way round, I had already had my fears confirmed that despite other favourable reviews on here, those that had pointed out a similar attitude in the past were closer to the mark on this occasion.

Upon arrival, payment was insisted upon before being shown to our room, a significant portion of which was taken up by part of the building's roof-work. Whilst this in itself was not an issue, the tired furniture, hard bed and a toilet roll dispenser that would be more at home at a service station than a bed and breakfast meant that spirits were dampened even before we had set foot into a rainy Bowness.

Breakfast was a mediocre affair at best though at least the odour of cooked fish that my friend had noticed the previous night had been replaced by bacon. The coffee was instant and bitter and a lacklustre sausage seemed to some up my first and only stay here. Credit, however, to the gentleman waiting our table who was friendly and attentive. Some light relief was also derived from a thank you card from a former guest that read "thank you for your hostage". Perhaps, along with the concept of good friendly customer service at Elim House, something was lost in translation.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LDMmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Elim House is a great, very traditional B&B in a perfect location on a quiet side street but just yards from Lake Road. The proprietor is very welcoming and attentive. Our room had all we needed and was immaculately clean. The full English breakfast was generous and well prepared. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are cooler in the hot weather (admittedly rare in the Lake District).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Hay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location just 2 minutes walk from shops, restaurants and 5 minutes walk to the lake. We arrived earlier then check in time and were able to check in and access our room, large four poster at front of b&b over looking the garden. Room was clean with everything you need for a short break. Breakfast nice and because you but your order the night before arrives quickly. Would stay again if visiting Bowness and planning on staying over. Parking was fine as we had no problems getting in the 4 space car park located at the rear of the guest house also had parking on front on road with no restrictions if car park is full.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Arrived and greeted with a smile, everything explained and ample parking at rear, good size rooms and good breakfast, rooms average size and very clean, easy 2 minute walking to the main street, ample places to have a meal. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorneliusM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We only booked for one night - an escape from the decorating during a week off in Easter. We were able to park at the back in a private car park which is a must for my other half - (men and cars!).

Our room was large and comfortable and overlooked the front garden which was lovely and the four poster bed was a bonus. It was lovely to be able to control our own heating in the room as we both don't like it overwarm and have suffered in B&B's in the past of over-zealous or under-zealous heating. The only, very small, downside was that there was a lack of pressure in the shower - but not sufficient to worry us.

Elim house had character and atmosphere - it felt very homely and personal unlike the impersonal touch of the larger hotel/chains. Breakfast was lovely and the chance to order the night before meant when we did go down it arrived speedily.

The only 'staff' we encountered during our stay was the owner/landlady - she seemed to be doing everything single-handedly and she was welcoming and friendly.

Finally the location was spot on. A walk to the lake and near a variety of restaurants and cafes. We ate at the Italian nearest - very reasonable (very busy!!!) but the food and service was great.

All in all this is a proper traditional English Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay - if we return to Windermere we'll be staying again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked after looking at the ratings on tripadvisor. But as soon as we reached we realized it was much over hyped. The host was an old lady who was rude from the very beginning, she was rude to the extent that she even pointed out that we should not even go up and down from our rooms. You would not be able to speak even in your own rooms as the landlady would come and complaint. Horrible services. Please never visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shahs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennispick1, Owner at Elim House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Please see the review entitled nice 4 day stay as I think this explains what really happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
0 mi away
Elim Lodge
Elim Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bowness-on-Windermere
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Belair
Claremont Belair
#34 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
81 reviews
0 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#20 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim House

Address: Elim House Biskey Howe Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £63 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, friendly & peaceful home from home with award winning garden, set in the heart of the English Lake district. Mark and Grace provide a warm welcome to all. We have garaging for Motor Cycle. Minimum 2 nights weekends, 3 nights Bank Holidays. All rooms are en-suite, some with 4 four poster beds and two with super-kingsize beds. Strictly adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Elim House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing