We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit, lovely hotel, will be back!”
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd visit, lovely hotel, will be back!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before, and we were planning to come back to bowness with some friends so wanted to stay here, as the location is fantastic and the views from the rooms are lovely. We managed to book in about a week in advance as it is the quiet season now, On arriving to the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff, who showed us the sititng room, dining room etc, then up to our room (room 3) which was lovely, we didnt have a lake view but it really didnt bother us as we didnt go to just sit in the room and stare out the window all weekend! our friends were in room 7 which was equally as nice. rooms and bathrooms lovely and spacious. the decor in the room was lovely. when we stayed previously we were on the ground floor and the rooms and bathrooms are quite a bit smaller, so its worth paying the extra money for a better room.

it is in a great location just off the main road, so you dont need your car to get around, just a 5 mintue stroll past the shops and your at the lake.

Had a great nights sleep, lovely and quiet apart from when other guests return through the night but thats expected in any hotel.

Breakfast was gorgeous, lots of options for people-even the fussiest of eaters should be able to find something on this menu and the views from the dining room of the lake were lovely to see while having breakfast.

you can also access the leisure facilites at the hotel further up the road.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, i find it hard to see how people could find any faults with this hotel, our friends who we introuduced to it also loved it and thanked us for taking them there and say they would be returning in the future.

thank you for another enjoyable stay!

Hayley & Lee

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    75
    44
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great location ideal access to bowness shops and ferries; rooms comfy; good breakfast and service. can't really fault anything - parking is tight to get around the back of the guest house ensure you're reversing skills are up to scratch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed in a beautiful traditional room with the most amazing views across the lake. The location was perfect and only a 2 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.
The breakfast was tasty and we liked the toffees in the lounge as we always stopped to have a coffee before going o our room.
The room was nice and opening the curtains to a view like that each morning made it feel special.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Yes room 5 had a cracked window pane!! in the bottom sash window that moves!!!!! but this did not detract from the excellent hospitality given by Karen, Dan and their team. They certainly made sure we had everything we needed. The room was serviced every day to a very high standard, the breakfast was quality every day and Karen and her team made sure every aspect of our stay was 100%. Swimming, sauna (out of order at the time), jacuzzi and fitness equipment is available at the Windermere Hydro which is 150yds up the hill, no problem!! Car parking adequate if you can negotiate the steep hill. Well worth a trip.

Room Tip: Room 5 gets alot of the days sunshine so can be very warm if the window is shut. Some rooms have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BengalTiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 4 nights in Oakbank.We booked with Karon room no 6,approx two weeks previously,and were shocked to be told on arrival that this room was not available the first night even though we had booked it.We were shown a much smaller room with a window cracked(Karon said it had been done by a guest that day,yet on leaving on the 4th day it still had not been repaired).We refused to accept this room and were then shown a much better room(no 3 ) for the first night
We would question the 5 star rating given by AA,and the Cert of Excellence 2013 awarded by Trip Advisor,based on the following observations-
-.Plastic throw away cups in the bathroom,
-Only one small bar of soap given to us for the 4 days,on the 4th day we had to ask for a 2nd bar.
-One hand towel provided,
-Shower in the bathroom leaked onto the floor,
-Windows in room no 6 were stuck and could not be opened from the top.
-Ensuite in room no 6 was very small and tight,
-Room no 3 had no bedside lights to accomodate guests who might like to read in bed,just ceiling lights,
-From the outside the premises needs repainting and all windows improved/repaired
-No real apology given for the non availablility of room no 6,just a suggestion from Karon that we could "slap her wrist" for it-not what we wanted to hear or expected.
-Dining room whilst very clean and bright has very small tables and hard to fit a breakfeast on

To counter act any perceived negativity in the review we would consider the establishment to be well run, efficient,and quiet at night.We do not however consider it merits a 5 star rating,or a Certificate of Excellence,and if in Bowness again we would look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMM733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Danny & the rest of his family were lovely, bending over backwards to make our stay enjoyable, Danny even getting my wife's favourite champagne ready in our room for our arrival. Breakfast is excellent. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsandal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of days at the hotel on a tour of the lakes, really nice place to stay staff very friendly and accommodating, room was very good and breakfast was excellent really set me up for the day, I would definitely come back.

It is in a excellent location and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

I highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheUrbanWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Property: Oakbank House
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing