We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but quite a few drawbacks”
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent, but quite a few drawbacks”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A nice hotel, with lovely views of the lake from our room (room 9), but the shower never worked properly during the three nights we stayed - we mentioned this twice, but weren't offered a reduction in price at all. There's only one iron in the hotel, in a very dimly lit corridor, where you can't see what you're doing properly. The kettle in the room takes forever to boil, and isn't big enough to fill the two cups provided! Breakfast, however, was good, and the location of the place is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimP2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback. I am pleased you rated our cleanliness, sleep quality, breakfast and location so highly.
I am sorry your shower did not work at 100% efficiency on the second and third days of your stay. You will no doubt recall I attempted to repair it but was unable to and apologised for the inconvenience caused. I also offered to move you to another room but you declined and said it was OK because the shower still worked. I can assure you the entire shower unit was replaced on the Monday morning when you checked out.
You are right we only have one ironing centre in the guest house. Most of our guests find one iron is all they need however I apologise that we did not provide you with a choice of irons. Our kettles boil in less than three minutes but I will look to see if there is something faster on the market.
Thank you and rest assured we act on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    76
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
11
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We booked up for half term at short notice and took advantage of the "3 nights for the price of 2" offer. The view from our windows overlooking the lake were stunning (room 6). The food was top drawer for quality and quantity with a wide choice of hot meals as well as fresh fruit, juice and cereals etc. There is no bar on site but due to the central location and an ample choice of bars and restaurants nearby this wasn't an issue for us. There are free leisure facilities in the nearby hotel which we never saw or used so cannot comment on. The boss was more than helpful with information about getting out and about both near and further afield.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a Saturday night here at the last minute, and we were delighted with the guesthouse. Our room was beautiful,with a stunning view over the lake. The decoration was modern and inviting. The bed sheets were beautiful,smooth Egyptian cotton with lovely pillows. The bathroom was small,but immaculately clean with nice products. Tea and coffee were provided in the room, with proper mugs :) sitting in bed with a brew overlooking the lake - what a start to the day!
Breakfast was fantastic! Fresh, well cooked food with very attentive staff. Again, immaculately clean and tidy. This guesthouse is in a perfect part of Bowness, just a short walk to the lake and shops. A very warm welcome and we will definitely be going again! Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 77Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Enjoyed my stay here at oakbank house the room (no 3) was very clean and the bed was so comfy. The B&B itself was very quiet and sometimes felt like we was the only people there. However it was right by all the shops and we would recommend the Albert if you're looking for somewhere to drink with a good atmosphere and nice food. If I was to come back to windermere i would like to stay somewhere else where there is more value for the money paid.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChelandJay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed in oakbank house in the october half term for 3 nights. Our room was lovely on the ground floor, lovely decor and very clean. Even though we were next to the breakfast area and main entrance we heard little noise from other customers. The view from our window overlooked the lake and we were on the doorstep of shops and restaurants! :) breakfast was exceptionally good with a wide range of choice and quick, friendly service. We also tried out the pool area in the adjacent hotel which is an added bonus when staying here! Overall an excellent stay, we felt very welcomed and would definitely recommend! ! We will be back again! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TH291x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before, and we were planning to come back to bowness with some friends so wanted to stay here, as the location is fantastic and the views from the rooms are lovely. We managed to book in about a week in advance as it is the quiet season now, On arriving to the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff, who showed us the sititng room, dining room etc, then up to our room (room 3) which was lovely, we didnt have a lake view but it really didnt bother us as we didnt go to just sit in the room and stare out the window all weekend! our friends were in room 7 which was equally as nice. rooms and bathrooms lovely and spacious. the decor in the room was lovely. when we stayed previously we were on the ground floor and the rooms and bathrooms are quite a bit smaller, so its worth paying the extra money for a better room.

it is in a great location just off the main road, so you dont need your car to get around, just a 5 mintue stroll past the shops and your at the lake.

Had a great nights sleep, lovely and quiet apart from when other guests return through the night but thats expected in any hotel.

Breakfast was gorgeous, lots of options for people-even the fussiest of eaters should be able to find something on this menu and the views from the dining room of the lake were lovely to see while having breakfast.

you can also access the leisure facilites at the hotel further up the road.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, i find it hard to see how people could find any faults with this hotel, our friends who we introuduced to it also loved it and thanked us for taking them there and say they would be returning in the future.

thank you for another enjoyable stay!

Hayley & Lee

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great location ideal access to bowness shops and ferries; rooms comfy; good breakfast and service. can't really fault anything - parking is tight to get around the back of the guest house ensure you're reversing skills are up to scratch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Property: Oakbank House
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing