We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“value for money”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Great location with lake windomere, and the cruises, a 2 minute walk away and loads of beautiful walks starting close by. Staff were very pleasant and food was amazing and all for a reasonable price. Dinner (with a bottle of vino), bed and breakfast for two all for £110.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    243
    44
    29
    24
See reviews for
107
504
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, of any age. Perfect place to chill out, eat some great food and get lots of rest for the next day walking. Amazing breakfast. The whole experience was great, you can check in, talk a walk around the town and then take a walk or boat trip around windermere. Great. Oh and there are two fireplaces and they sell great ale.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

A really nice cosy B&B. Set in a prominent position just out of Bowness Village centre with a distant view of Lake Windermere from the terraced garden and also the room we stayed in. Friendly and accommodating staff made the stay enjoyable.

The building comprises the main hotel and a seperate gate house, where our particular room was located. On entering the main building there are two rooms either side with plenty of comfy sofas and chairs with open fires in both. Beyond that is the reception with the dining room/restaurant adjacent.

Our room was in the Gatehouse, up a few stairs. This building contained 2, possibly 3 rooms. We stayed in the executive suite which was a fair size, with a seperate area containing a comfy leather chair and sofa with a large flat screen TV.

The room is why I have had to lower the overall score. While it could not really be faulted in most respects, the sleep depravation did not help and personally speaking that is critical to having a decent break. The bed was really comfortable but the spoiler was whatever mechanism being used to heat the Gatehouse must have been installed by Torquemada himself. It was awful, as soon as it woke us up, which it did every night, it was tortuous. It was as if someone was in a basement room with a mini Jack Hammer, it really was that bad. Considering the room was by the side of the road, you would presume noise would have come from there.

A shame really as it spoiled what would have been a perfect stay. The included breakfast was cooked to order and the restaurant provided a really exceptional meal on our last night.

We will definitely return but will opt to stay in the main building next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and found that everything exceeded our expectations. It's in an ideal location and is very good in every way. The public rooms are very comfortable and welcoming (though they do get quite busy with non-residents). We stayed in a standard double and although the rooms are not large, they are perfectly adequate, comfortable and very well equipped. The standard of decor throughout is very tasteful and the place is immaculately clean, Breakfast is excellent and dinner is good. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Having eaten at the Angel Inn on numerous occasions whilst camping in the are, we decided a stay in the winter would be a great way to see us through to camping season.

The family room was superb with s separate childrens room off the main room with its own TV, yet still leaving the main room spacious.

The Inn itself is warm and inviting with open fires and comfy leather chairs and sofas creating a relaxing atmosphere where you can just chill out, read the paper & have a coffee and all the staff are friendly.

We booked in the restaurant for dinner, having previously only eaten lunch and breakfast there. The waiters were friendly, attentive and knew the products they were promoting, but the best bit was the food which was outstanding! It was packed with flavour and beautifully presented. Being in the food industry, our standards are extremely high and we rarely eat out as we are usually disappointed, so it was a rare delight to enjoy such a beautiful meal in lovely surroundings.

We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlowkandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

great place to stay , wonderful food ,ideal location, for walking around bowness.rooms clean and staff friendly and helpful,nice roaring fire in lounge.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Lovely room, spotlessly clean, cosy open fires, night and day- just wish we could have stayed longer!
Had a meal and the food was gorgeous and the service there and at the bar were exceptional.
Only draw back; quite expensive but worth it! Probably a bit expensive for us at weekend prices, but good value at midweek prices.
Hope to re-visit soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing